Texas State Library and Archives Commission

Texas State Parks Board:

An Inventory of State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps Drawings at the Texas State Archives, 1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945



Overview

Creator: Texas. State Parks Board
Title: State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings
Dates: 1905-1974, undated
Dates: bulk 1933-1945
Abstract: The Texas State Parks Board was created in 1923 to investigate prospective park sites in the state, to report to the Legislature with recommendations, and to solicit and accept donations of land for state park purposes. It later directed and managed state parks, except the historical parks that were managed by the Texas State Board of Control or several separate commissions. The Parks Board was also charged with locating, designating, and marking historic grounds, battlegrounds, and other historic sites in the state, and erecting markers and monuments at such sites. The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) is a public work relief program intended to employ jobless young men on labor projects related to the conservation and development of natural resources in rural lands owned by federal, state and local governments, as part of President Franklin Roosevelt's "New Deal" program of economic recovery. Records comprise blueprints, maps, drawings, correspondence, and reports that detail the plans for additions, renovations, and construction of parks and park facilities in Texas by the CCC. Dates covered are undated, 1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945. These records document designs intended for 40 sites across Texas that were for the most part developed to be state parks, though materials on several municipality-operated parks are also present. The designs describe a range of park facilities, including common buildings, landscaping, cabins, roads, bridges, water and sewer systems, dams, and site furniture.
Quantity: 28.17 cubic ft. (about 4023 items)
Language: These materials are written in English.
Repository: Texas State Archives

Agency History

The Texas State Parks Board was created in 1923 (Senate Bill 73, 38th Legislature, First Called Session) to investigate prospective park sites in the state, to report to the Legislature with recommendations, and to solicit and accept donations of land for state park purposes. The State Parks Board was initially composed of five members, appointed by the Governor with the approval of the Senate to six-year terms, and they were to be state officers. The number of board members increased to six in 1937 (Senate Bill 484, 45th Legislature, Regular Session). This board was to begin locating sites for the establishment of the state parks system. It later directed and managed state parks, except the historical parks that were managed by the Texas State Board of Control or several separate commissions. The Parks Board was also charged with locating, designating, and marking historic grounds, battlegrounds, and other historic sites in the state, and erecting markers and monuments at such sites. The board also had the authority to create rules and regulations as necessary to carry out its duties. The primary function of the board between 1923 and 1933 was to acquire lands for parks through donations. In 1933 the board received federal aid through several New Deal programs, making possible the development of 31 state parks by 1941.

Most of this work was done by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in conjunction with the National Park Service. The United States Congress created the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in 1933 at the request of President Franklin Roosevelt as an emergency program devoted to the care of natural resources. The CCC was organized as an independent federal organization directly answerable to the president. The program provided jobs and income to young men and served as an instrument for preserving natural resources and developing state park lands. Men were initially recruited by the Labor Department from the lists of families registered at state welfare agencies. They were to be 17 to 25 years of age, with the range later expanding to 16 to 28. Jobless veterans from World War I were soon added to the CCC enrollment and were housed in separate camps. Recruits were enrolled for six-month periods and pay was at least $30, with $25 of that sent back to their families. The average enrollee was 20 years old and served two six-month terms. Black enrollees were usually segregated, especially in the south. Each camp hired "locally experienced men" (LEMs) as skilled craftsmen and instructors. The supervising National Park Service (NPS) also employed professional architects, landscape architects and engineers for each site to design improvements and supervise construction. The War Department fed, clothed, and housed the CCC workers in 200 man Companies assigned to either the Agriculture Department (efforts in forest and soil conservation districts) or the Department of the Interior, which included park development under the subsidiary NPS.

At the close of the program's first six-month enlistment period in 1933, 14 200-man companies were put to work developing Texas parks. At its peak in 1935, 27 companies (5400 men) were committed to park construction, in addition to the 14,000 committed to forest and soil conservation in the state. The U.S. Army assigned a lieutenant and captain, usually called up from the Reserves, to command each company. Each company lived in camps set up at the sites of their projects, and produced a significant amount of their building materials on site. The Texas State Parks Board provided the land for the park (usually donated land) and a park manager.

Plans for the parks were developed by on-site NPS staff and submitted to the NPS and Texas State Parks Board for approval, with final approval for building plans given by the NPS regional office. Building plans had to conform to the master plan for each park. The designers for the NPS wanted the structures built within the parks to adhere as close as possible to the land and blend into the landscape. Structures were built from native materials and finished with simple tools. The design style used in these facilities would become known as "NPS Rustic." Unskilled workers under the direction of design professionals and LEMs quarried their own stone, forged their own steel, and worked their own timber. Woodshops were set up in a few parks, including Bastrop State Park and Palo Duro Canyon State Park, to produce furniture for use in parks throughout the state.

A common park structure in many state parks was the central "refectory" building. This was a group shelter with toilets, a kitchen, a patio and a large fireplace. These were generally one-story structures that often included an observation cupola above the roofline. Other structures built at the parks included concession buildings, pavilions, cabins, boat houses, bath houses, bridges, fences, boat docks and piers, and dams. Native building materials like limestone, sandstone, and timber were used to construct the park structures. Several of the NPS architects modeled their designs after local historic examples, such as European-immigrant architecture at Lockhart State Park or pueblo buildings at Balmorhea State Park.

In addition to facility construction, work at the parks included landscape improvements made to the park lands, such as reclaiming over-cut or burnt-out woodlands with soil erosion prevention measures and extensive tree plantings, building dams to impound scenic lakes and to enhance soil conservation, and plantings of flora and other measures to improve erosion control. Unusual CCC work done at state parks included building the world's largest swimming pool over a natural spring at Balmorhea State Park and reconstructing the ruined mission complex of Mission Nuestra Señora del Espíritu Santo de Zuñiga at Goliad Historic State Park.

The CCC work on state parks in Texas began at Caddo Lake in June 1933 and ended when the final in-state company abandoned its camp at Possum Kingdom State Park in July 1942. The CCC developed 56 parks in Texas, in addition to making significant physical improvements to forest and farmland across the state. Most are still public parks, including 29 still within the state park system. National program enrollment peaked in August 1935 at over 500,000 men stationed in approximately 2,900 camps. Nearly 50,000 of those enrollees were Texans. CCC deployment nationwide declined as the economy partially recovered by 1942, largely due to the diversion of budgets and manpower to World War II. Congress officially ended CCC's operations in 1942, and liquidated its personnel and assets nationwide by 1943.

(Sources include: Steely, James Wright. The Civilian Conservation Corps in Texas State Parks. Austin: Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 2010; Hendrickson, Kenneth E. "Civilian Conservation Corps," The Handbook of Texas Online, accessed February 20, 2015; Smyrl, Vivian Elizabeth. "Texas State Parks Board," The Handbook of Texas Online, accessed February 20, 2015)


Scope and Contents of the Records

The Texas State Parks Board was created in 1923 to investigate prospective park sites in the state, to report to the Legislature with recommendations, and to solicit and accept donations of land for state park purposes. It later directed and managed state parks, except the historical parks that were managed by the Texas State Board of Control or several separate commissions. The Parks Board was also charged with locating, designating, and marking historic grounds, battlegrounds, and other historic sites in the state, and erecting markers and monuments at such sites. The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) is a public work relief program intended to employ jobless young men on labor projects related to the conservation and development of natural resources in rural lands owned by federal, state and local governments, as part of President Franklin Roosevelt's "New Deal" program of economic recovery. Records comprise building plans, blueprints, maps, architectural drawings, correspondence, and reports that detail the plans for additions, renovations, and construction of parks and park facilities in Texas by the CCC. Dates covered are 1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945.

These records document 40 sites across Texas that were for the most part developed to be state parks administered by the Texas State Parks Board, though materials on several municipality-operated parks are also present. The designs describe a range of park facilities, including common buildings, landscaping, cabins, roads, bridges, water and sewer systems, dams, and site furniture. Descriptive information usually found at the bottom right of the sheet includes the names of presiding agencies, architects, architecture firms and state administrators who approved the plans. Park names used in this finding aid were those found on the materials themselves, even when they are no longer applicable. Lake Austin Metropolitan Park (the original name of Emma Long Metropolitan Park), for example, is the name applied to the series and its materials, though the most current name is noted in the agency history.

In some cases, the designs pictured were never constructed or only partially completed, due to unforeseen delays or CCC Company transfers prompted by U.S. entry into World War II. The majority of plans and drawings were prepared by architects, engineers and draftsmen employed by the CCC or its supervisory agency, the National Park Service. Materials created following the disbandment of the CCC in 1942 are commonly prepared by staff of the Texas State Parks Board, or its successor agency, the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD).

CCC Companies designated as (Colored) or (Colored Veterans) were segregated units of jobless African Americans. Some Companies were made up of both white and African American workers, while others transitioned from white to African American composition and vice versa, depending on circumstances.

Images of the drawings can be viewed via the searchable online application Texas Parks Civilian Conservation Corps Drawings Database.

To prepare this inventory, the described materials were cursorily reviewed to delineate series, to confirm the accuracy of contents lists, to provide an estimate of dates covered, and to determine record types.


 

Organization of the Records

These records are organized alphabetically into 40 series according to the contemporary name of the park as listed on the drawings themselves.
Balmorhea State Park, 1911-1946, undated, 0.87 cubic ft.
Bastrop State Park, 1932-1974, undated, 2.95 cubic ft.
Big Spring State Park, 1934-1947, undated, 0.54 cubic ft.
Blanco State Park, 1933-1945, 0.37 cubic ft.
Bonham State Park, 1934-1950, 0.84 cubic ft.
Buescher State Park, 1935-1937, 0.08 cubic ft.
Caddo Lake State Park, 1933-1955, undated, 0.7 cubic ft.
Cleburne State Park, 1934-1946, undated, 1.15 cubic ft.
Daingerfield State Park, 1934-1946, undated, 0.66 cubic ft.
Davis Mountains State Park (and Indian Lodge), 1932-1948, 0.92 cubic ft.
Fort Griffin State Park, 1934-1945, undated, 0.36 cubic ft.
Fort Parker State Park, 1934-1950, undated, 1.63 cubic ft.
Franklin Fields Municipal Park, 1940-1941, undated, 0.11 cubic ft.
Garner State Park, 1931-1945, 1.5 cubic ft.
Goliad State Park, 1934-1945, 0.87 cubic ft.
Goose Island State Park, 1933-1948, 0.4 cubic ft.
Hereford State Park, 1934-1935, 0.04 cubic ft.
Huntsville State Park, 1934-1945, undated, 1.1 cubic ft.
Inks Lake State Park, 1934-1965, 0.32 cubic ft.
Kerrville State Park, 1934-1959, 0.42 cubic ft.
Lake Abilene State Park, 1934-1948, undated, 0.46 cubic ft.
Lake Austin Metropolitan Park, 1940-1941, 0.16 cubic ft.
Lakes Bachman and Whiterock Park, 1940, 0.01 cubic ft.
Lake Brownwood State Park, 1934-1948, undated, 1.66 cubic ft.
Lake Corpus Christi State Park, 1934-1952, undated, 0.64 cubic ft.
Lake Whiterock Park, 1933-1940, 0.06 cubic ft.
Lockhart State Park, 1934-1945, 1 cubic ft.
Longhorn Cavern State Park, 1934-1945, 1.48 cubic ft.
Mackenzie State Park, 1935-1947, undated, 1.58 cubic ft.
Meridian State Park, 1934-1947, undated, 0.83 cubic ft.
Mother Neff State Park, 1934-1958, 0.83 cubic ft.
Palisades State Park, 1934-1935, 0.04 cubic ft.
Palmetto State Park, 1934-1937, undated, 0.54 cubic ft.
Palo Duro Canyon State Park, 1905-1954, undated, 1.3 cubic ft.
Port Isabel Lighthouse State Historic Site, 1950, undated, 0.01 cubic ft.
Possum Kingdom State Park, 1934-1950, 0.48 cubic ft.
San Jacinto State Park, about 1935, 0.01 cubic ft.
Tyler State Park, 1934-1966, 1.22 cubic ft.
Tyrrell Metropolitan Park, 1935, 0.01 cubic ft.
U.S. Army Recreational Area, Houston, 1941, 0.02 cubic ft.

Restrictions

Restrictions on Access

Materials do not circulate, but may be used in the State Archives search room. Materials will be retrieved from and returned to storage areas by staff members.

Restrictions on Use

Most records created by Texas state agencies are not copyrighted. State records also include materials received by, not created by, state agencies. Copyright remains with the creator. The researcher is responsible for complying with U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17 U.S.C.).

Technical Requirements

Most of the drawings and blueprints are too large to photocopy.


Index Terms

The terms listed here were used to catalog the records. The terms can be used to find similar or related records.
Corporate Names:
Civilian Conservation Corps (U.S.)
Texas. Parks and Wildlife Department.
United States. National Park Service.
Subjects:
Parks--Texas.
Parks--Texas--Design and construction.
Parks--Texas--Designs and plans.
Parks--Texas--Furniture.
Historic parks--Texas--Design and construction.
Places:
Abilene State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Bachman Lake (Tex.)--Parks--Design and construction.
Balmorhea State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Bastrop State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Big Bend National Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Blanco State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Bonham State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Buescher State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Caddo Lake State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Cleburne State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Daingerfield State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Davis Mountains State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Emma Long Metropolitan Park (Austin, Tex.)--Design and construction.
Espíritu Santo de Zuñiga Site (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Fort Griffin State Historical Site (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Fort Parker State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Franklin Fields Municipal Park (San Antonio, Tex.)--Design and construction.
Garner State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Goliad State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Goose Island State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Gunpowder Falls State Park (Tex.)--Parks--Design and construction.
Houston (Tex.)--Military Camps
Huntsville State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Inks Lake State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Kerrville-Schreiner State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Lake Brownwood State Recreation Area (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Lake Corpus Christi State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Lakes Bachman and Whiterock Park (Dallas, Tex.)--Design and construction.
Lockhart State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Longhorn Cavern State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Mackenzie State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Mackenzie State Recreation Area (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Meridian State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Mother Neff State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Palmetto State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Palo Duro Canyon State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Port Isabel Lighthouse State Historic Site (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Possum Kingdom State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Town Lake (Austin, Tex.)--Design and construction.
Tyler State Park (Tex.)--Design and construction.
Tyrrell Metropolitan Park (Beaumont, Tex.)--Design and construction.
Veterans' Memorial Park (Hereford, Tex.)--Design and construction.
White Rock Lake (Dallas, Tex.)--Parks--Design and construction.
Document Types:
Architectural drawings (visual works)--Texas--Parks--1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945
Blueprints (reprographic copies)--Texas--Parks--1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945
Building plans--Texas--Parks--1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945
Correspondence--Texas--Parks--1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945
Maps (documents)--Texas--Parks--1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945
Reports--Texas--Parks--1905-1974, undated, bulk 1933-1945
Functions:
Management of parks.

Related Material

The following materials are offered as possible sources of further information on the agencies and subjects covered by the records. The listing is not exhaustive.

Texas State Archives
Texas Game and Fish Commission, Game and Fish Commission records, 1896, 1899-1969, 1976, bulk 1928-1963, 21 cubic ft.
Texas Game and Fish Commission, State Parks Board Big Bend National Park files, 1881-1883, 1895, 1897, 1904, 1909-1957, 20.25 cubic ft.
Texas Planning Board, Texas Planning Board records, 1914-1939, undated , bulk 1934-1939, 19.43 cubic feet, 3 scrapbooks, 366 maps, 48 photographs
Texas State Parks Board, records, 1901-1902, 1905, 1908, 1917, 1925-1963, bulk 1933-1949, 28.35 cubic ft.
Don R. Brice Collection, Civilian Conservation Corps, 1933-1935, 294 photographs [photographs of CCC activities at Lampasas and Big Bend]
Texas Governor James V Allred records, 1931-1939, bulk 1935-1938, 54.05 cubic ft.
Texas Governor W. Lee O'Daniel records, 1938-1941, undated, bulk, 1939-1941, 73.79 cubic ft.
Blueprints and drawings collection, 1854-1984, undated, bulk 1936-1938, 41.21 cubic ft.
University of North Texas Libraries, Special Collections
[Connie Ford McCann (1914-1998) joined the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) in May of 1933. He served two six-month tours with the CCC and was discharged in June of 1934. While he worked for the CCC he kept a diary and took photographs which are available in this collection.]
[The UNT Oral History Program conducted interviews with 137 Texan CCC participants. To find interview descriptions, search index for "Civilian Conservation Corps."]
McCann CCC collection, 1933-1934, 2 boxes
UNT Oral History Program collection, 1933-1934, 2 boxes
National Archives and Records Administration
Records of the Civilian Conservation Corps [CCC], 1933-1953, 725 cubic ft.
Publications
Texas state parks and the CCC : the legacy of the Civilian Conservation Corps by Cynthia A. Brandimarte. College Station: Texas A & M University Press, 2013.
The Civilian Conservation Corps in Texas State Parks by James Wright Steely. Austin: Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 2010.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

(Identify the item and cite the series), Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

Accession Information

Accession numbers: 2004/186, 2005/064, 2005/147, 2014/112

These records were transferred to the Archives and Information Services Division of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department on June 3 and September 12 and 27, 2005; June 19, 2006; and May 21, 2014.

Processing Information

Processed by Jonathan King, December 2014


Detailed Description of the Records

 

Balmorhea State Park, 1911-1946, undated,
0.87 cubic ft.

Agency History
Balmorhea State Park is a 43.1-acre park in Reeves County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD), whose development began in July 1934 as a federal drought project. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1856 was primarily stationed at Balmorhea from July 1934 to January 1940. CCC-built work includes entry portals, a combination building, lodging, bridges, and a 1.75 acre swimming pool that captures water from nearby San Solomon Springs. Private concessionaires ran the park until the TPWD took over the site in 1968. Features added later include a desert wetland created by the Balmorhea State Park Cienega Project.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 124 blueprints and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Balmorhea State Park, particularly a combination building, bath house, cabins, caretaker's building, pool features, and furniture. Dates covered are 1911-1946, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Balmorhea State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Drawing
SP.47.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.2 Correlation Map, July 19, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.3 Development Plan, July 19, 1937; March 28, 1940
Drawing
SP.47.3a Pool Steps, March 27, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.4 Utility Plan, July 19, 1937; April 27, 1940
Drawing
SP.47.4a General Plan of Spring Area, "Roads Obsolete," June 21, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.5 General Plan of Spring Area, September 10, 1934
Drawing
SP.47.6 Entrance, March 31, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.7 Fence, March 31, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.8 Fencing, December 9, 1934
Drawing
SP.47.9 Parking Area, August 1937; October 25, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.10 thru 11 Vehicle Bridge, June 25, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.12 Foot Bridges, undated
Drawing
SP.47.13 Walks, October 14, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.14 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.15 Drainage Conduit, January 10, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.16 Drainage Conduit: Plan, Section, December 10, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.17 Drainage Conduit Details, December 10, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.18 Bank Sloping and Boulder Walls, July 26, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.19 Water Control, January 8, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.20 Water Control Plan; Elevation of Flow Control, March 13, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.21 Sewage Disposal, September 14, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.22 Disposal Plant, May 15, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.23 Septic Tank Disposal Bed, November 14, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.24 Latrines, August 21, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.25 Pipe Line; General Plan; Foundation Detail, August 18, 1937; August 1, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.26 Pipe Line Combination Building, April 10, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.27 Pump and Pump House, May 28, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.28 Sprinkler System, November 27, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.29 Water Lines Shallow Pool, 1935, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.30 Pool Development, January 14, 1938; January 26, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.31 Spring Improvement, August 15, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.32 Sand Beach, January 4, 1939; January 28, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.32.2 Utility Plan, July 19, 1937; October 2, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.33 End Wall, June 22, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.34 Shelter, June 28, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.35 Pool Lighting, November 20, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.36 Pool Shelters: Plan, Elevations, Sections, Estimate, July 9, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.37 Pool Shelters: Sections; Elevations, July 22, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.38 Diving Tower, March 29, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.39 Pool Steps, March 29, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.40 Water Improvement, October 12, 1934
Drawing
SP.47.41 Cattle Guard; Pool Drainage and Sodding, July 8, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.42 Plot Plan for Projects 106 and 108, November 14, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.43 Proposed Alterations and Additions, Combination Building, August 7, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.44 Alterations and Additions to Combination Buildings, August 19, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.45 Alterations and Additions, Combination Building; Sections; Details, October 6, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.46 Counter Enclosure Combination Building., December 15, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.47 Combination Building: Kitchen; Plan, Elevations, November 13, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.48 Combination Building: Kitchen; Plan, Elevations, 1935-1938
Drawing
SP.47.49 Pergolas, July 10, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.50 Bath House (Men), November 14, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.51 Bath House (Women), November 14, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.52 Bath Houses, Compartment Doors, June 1, 1937; June 18, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.53 Temporary Bath House, August 6, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.54 Preliminary Sketches Cabin, September 4, 1937; September 22, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.55 Cabins, undated
Drawing
SP.47.56 Concession Building Cabin Group, December 31, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.57 thru 58 Concession Building, December 31, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.59 Cabins; General Plans, January 12, 1938; January 31, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.60 Cabins; Plans, Elevations, Sections, January 12, 1938; January 31, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.61 Cabins; Floor Plans, Elevations, January 12, 1938; January 31, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.62 Cabins; Wall, Window and Door Details, January 12, 1938; January 31, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.63 Cabins; Mechanical Layout, January 24, 1938; January 31, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.64 Cabins, Group 2, Layout, July 13, 1938; July 25, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.65 Cabins Unit 2; Elevations, Sections, June 25, 1938; July 15, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.66 Cabins Unit 2; Wall and Window Details, June 25, 1938; July 15, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.67 Cabins Unit 2; Water Plan, June 25, 1938; July 15, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.68 Cabins-Unit No. 2; Wiring Diagram, June 25, 1938; July 15, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.69 Proposed Third Unit Cabin, 1935; 1938
Drawing
SP.47.70 Caretaker's Building: Plans, Details, October 21, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.71 Caretaker's Building: Elevations, October 21, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.72 Caretaker's Building: Fireplaces, October 21, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.73 Garage and Service Yard Wall, November 11, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.74 Garages, Plan, Elevations - Estimate, February 28, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.75 Garage, Elevations, Sections, Plot Plan, March 13, 1937; March 24, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.76 Office and Tool Room, Garage, Blacksmith Shop, September 12, 1934
Drawing
SP.47.77 Fisherman Cabins, September 21, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.78 Boat House, August 23, 1934
Drawing
SP.47.79 Road Parking Grading and Sodding, July 7, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.80 Fine Grading, October 15, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.81 Planting, November 19, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.82 Sodding Plan, October 15, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.83 Preliminary Sketch Cabin Landscaping, April 15, 1935; April 15, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.84 Planting, February 13, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.85 Landscaping Cabin Group, October 14, 1936; October 26, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.86 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs Material List; Plan, August 16, 1939; September 1, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.87 Moving and Plant Residence; South Shelter; Plant List, October 7, 1937; October 14, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.88 Base Map, January 28, 1937; May 18, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.89 Base Map, January 28, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.90 Easement Through Balmorhea State Park, September 9, 1946; October 6, 1946
Drawing
SP.47.91 Furniture for Indian Village; for Balmorhea State Park, Chest of Drawers, October 14, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.92 Furniture for Indian Village; "Note: To Be Built in Mill in Bastrop State Park," September 1, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.93 Furniture for Indian Village; Single Bed, Double Bed, September 5, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.94 Furniture for Indian Village; Double Decked Bunks, September 2, 1936
Drawing
SP.47.95 Cabin Furniture Sketches, March 22, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.96 Furniture for Balmorhea State Park, June 19, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.97 Signs and Markers, March 1, 1938
Drawing
SP.47.98 Map of Swenson Land Company's Subdivision in Reeves County TX., undated
Drawing
SP.47.99.1 Additions, etc. to Combination Building, August 24, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.99.2
[Untitled drawing showing section of a pump. No indication of maker, date, title, etc.]
Drawing
SP.47.100 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.100.1 Narrative Report to Accompany the Master Plan
[Typed report.]
Drawing
SP.47.100.2 Master Plan, July 13, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.100.3 Development Plan, July 14, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.100.4 Utility Plan, July 14, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.101 Phantom Lake Canal-Sta. 213 + 80 Foot Bridge, December 28, 1946
Drawing
SP.47.102 Development Plan, July 19, 1937
Drawing
SP.47.103 San Solomon Springs, undated
Drawing
SP.47.104 Servant's Quarters, November 1950
Drawing
SP.47.105 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.106 Basket Room and Water Filtration Unit, December 17, 1952
Drawing
SP.47.107 Subdivision of Land, Proposed Reservoir Inlet Canal, March 19, 1945
Drawing
SP.47.108 Map of Swensen Land Co.'s Subdivision of Land, January 3, 1911
Drawing
SP.47.108.1 Owner's Certificate; Surveyor's Certificate; Proposed Reservoir Inlet Canal, January 3, 1911
Drawing
SP.47.109 Landscaping Cabin Area, August 24, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.110 Sprinkler System, November 27, 1935
Drawing
SP.47.111 Area Map, 1935-1938
Sheet
SP.47.127 Standard Cattle Guard, July 12, 1933
Drawing
SP.47.TSA.1 thru 2 Furniture for Balmorhea, January 19, 1939
Drawing
SP.47.TSA.3 thru 4 Furniture for Balmorhea, February 14, 1941
Drawing
SP.47.TSA.5 Furniture for Balmorhea, February 15, 1941
Drawing
SP.47.TSA.6 Furniture for Balmorhea, February 14, 1941; February 15, 1941



 

Bastrop State Park, 1932-1974, undated,
2.95 cubic ft.

Agency History
Bastrop State Park is a 3,503-acre park in Bastrop County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The park was built in large part by two Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Companies (1805 and 1811) from 1933 until 1939, in conjunction with work done at nearby Buescher State Park. Work done by the CCC includes the entry structures, refectory, cabins, overlook shelters, stone erosion-control and beautification work, and the operation of a wood mill and furniture shop. In 1997, the federal government designated Bastrop State Park a National Historic Landmark. The park features an 18-hole golf course and swimming pool. Bastrop is connected to the nearby Buescher State Park by a four-mile length of road designated Park Road 1.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 420 blueprints and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Bastrop State Park, including plans for a refectory building, bath house, camp cottages, cabins, furniture, and custodian housing. Several of the furniture drawings originate from the National Youth Administration, which operated a furniture factory at Bastrop State Park. Dates covered are 1932-1974, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Bastrop State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.22.1 Sketch - Chair detail, 1936-1937
Sheet
SP.22.2a Possible Future Park Development, December 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.2.2 Details for Filing Cabinet, 1936; 1937
Sheet
SP.22.3 Topography of Ponds for Bastrop Area, July 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.3.2 Recreation Dam, 1936, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.4 Alum Creek Dam Site, January 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.4.2 Master Plan No. 9100: Proposed Addition to Master Plan, April 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.5 Copperas Dam at Deer Pen, December 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.5a Development Plan, July 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.5.2 Suggested Revision of Lookout House No. 1, undated
Sheet
SP.22.6 Copperas Lake and Dam, December 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.6.2 Suggested Revision of Lookout House No. 2, undated
Sheet
SP.22.7 Copperas Lake and Dam, December 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.7a Map, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.8 Copperas Dam at the Glade, May 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.8a Detailed Topography of Lookout Area, August 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.8.2 Latrines, April 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.9 Recreational Dam - Site Plan and Design Data, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.9.2 Powerline, March 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.10 Sour Springs Camp Ground, January 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.10.2 Fire Breaks, March, April 1937
Sheet
SP.22.11 Recreational Dam - Plan, Section, Details, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.11.2 Camp Fireplaces, 1936; 1937
Sheet
SP.22.12 Recreation Dam, 1934; 1940
Sheet
SP.22.12a Key Map, September 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.12.2 Water Line, 1936; 1937
Sheet
SP.22.13 Rock Wall and Equestrian Gate, April 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.13.2 Water Storage Facilities, October 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.14 Fence Layout, October 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.14.2 Mill Building, September 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.14a Map of Site of Recreational Dam, May 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.15 Entrance Gateway, October 30, 1933
Sheet
SP.22.15a Plan and Profile of Recreational Dam, May 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.15.1 Metal and Machine Shop, July 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.16 Plan, Sections, and Details of Recreational Dam, May 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.16.2 Metal and Machine Shop, July 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.17 Map, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.17.2 Master Plan, July 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.18 Park Roads, July 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.18.2 Base Camp, April 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.19 Park Roads, October 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.19.2 Base Camp, January 7, 1937; February 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.20 Park Roads, October 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.20.2 Revision of Bridges, August 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.21 Park Roads, October 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.21.2 Iron Detail of Refectory, February 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.22 Park Roads, March 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.22.2 Electrical Plans, undated
Sheet
SP.22.23 Park Roads, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.23.2 Details of Doors to Lounge and Windows, March 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.24 Master Plan, September 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.24.2 Refectory Windows and Doors, May 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.25 Park Roads, January 27, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.25.2 Shelter/Swimming Pool Area, February 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.26 Map of City Property Adjacent to CCC Camp, April 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.26.2 Combination Building, November 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.27 Parking Areas, July 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.27.2 Hutch from Refectory, June 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.28 Pool and Refectory Park, January 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.28.2 Pool and Refectory Park, June 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.29 Parking Area at Golf Course, November 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.29.2 Bed Plan, June 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.30 Guard Rails, November 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.30.2 Hutch and Mirror, June 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.31 thru 32 Guard Rails, August 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.33 Guard Rails, August 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.33.2 Electric Details for Gatehouse, February 2, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.34 Guard Rails, August 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.34.2 Entrance Area Development Plan, August 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.35 Guard Rails, June 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.35.2 Desk, undated
Sheet
SP.22.36 Filing Cabinet, December 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.36.2 Guard Rails, undated
Sheet
SP.22.37 Concrete Box Culvert, January 26, 1937; March 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.37.2 Gate Plan, undated
Sheet
SP.22.38 Typical Culvert Layout, August 28, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.38.2 12' Boat, May 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.39 Bridge and Culvert Locations, November 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.39.2 Centennial Exhibit, April 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.39.2a Typical Camphouse, May 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.40 Road Profiles at Culvert Locations, November 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.40.2 Public Campground Latrine, June 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.41 Concrete Culvert Box, November 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.41.2 Lookout No. 1, November 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.42 Concrete Culvert Box, November 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.42.2 Refectory Building, December 1, 1933
Sheet
SP.22.43 Box Culvert, July 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.43.2 Bridge and Sour Springs, July 1934
Sheet
SP.22.44 Vehicular Bridge, April 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.44.2 Data on Earth-Filled Dam, 1936; 1937
Sheet
SP.22.45 Foot Bridges, April 7, 1939; April 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.45.2 Road Profiles at Culvert Locations, January 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.46 Foot Bridges, April 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.46.2 Water Line, April 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.47 Foot Bridge at Copperas, April 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.47.2 Water System Layout, October 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.48 Foot Bridge at Copperas, April 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.48.2 Keeper's Lodge, July 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.49 Foot Bridge, June 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.49.2 Full Size Detailed Turnstiles, undated
Sheet
SP.22.50 Foot Bridge - Copperas, November 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.50a Combination Building Map, January 22, 1938; February 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.51 Topographic Map of Bastrop County, Bastrop and Smithville, undated
Sheet
SP.22.53 Recreation Dam, May 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.54 Base Map, January 7, 1937; March 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.55 Sketch-Chair detail January 22, 1938; February 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.56 Combination Building, January 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.57 Pump House, March 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.58 Pump House, March 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.59 Moving Pump House and Connections, February 20, 1937; March 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.60 Master Plan, July 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.61 Master Plan Showing Camp Area Water Line, February 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.62 Garage, February 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.63 Lookout Tower, January 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.64 Pump House, November 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.65 Pump House - Structural Detail, November 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.66 Water Pump, December 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.67 Water System, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.68 Proposed Water Well, August 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.69 Tool House, June 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.70 Power Line, March 15, 1937; March 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.71 Tool House, June 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.72 Latrines, February 19, 1937; March 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.73 Power Line, December 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.75 Power Line Layout, April 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.76 thru 80 Sewer Line, May 5, 1937; June 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.81 thru 85 Plan of Sewer Line, undated
Sheet
SP.22.86 Imhoff Sewage Tank, undated
Sheet
SP.22.87 Sprinkling Filter and Dosing Tank, undated
Sheet
SP.22.88 Hypo-Chlorinator and Standard Sewer Specials, undated
Sheet
SP.22.89 thru 91 Profile of Sewer Lines, undated
Sheet
SP.22.92 Map Showing Layout of Cottages, November 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.93 Disposal Beds, Disposal Tanks and Sewer Lines, October 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.94 Sewage Disposal Unit, November 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.95 Tool Box, November 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.96 thru 97 Proposed Swimming Pool for Bastrop State Park, undated
Sheet
SP.22.98 Foot Bath at Swimming Pool, April 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.99 Full Size - Details Bastrop Turnstiles and Swimming Pool, May 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.100 Swimming Pool Shelter, November 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.101 thru 102 Sketch - Chair detail 1936-1937
Sheet
SP.22.103 thru 104 Bathhouse Addition, April 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.105 General Arrangement Concession Building Area, March 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.106 thru 107 Refectory Building, January 2, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.108a Addition of a New Kitchen for Refectory, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.22.109 thru 111 Refectory Building, January 2, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.112 Refectory Building, February 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.113 Details, March 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.114 Finishing of Refectory Store, April 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.115 Refectory Changes, March 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.116 Refectory: Eave Details, June 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.117 Refectory: Structural Improvements, January 23, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.118 Stone Terrace at Refectory, July 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.119 Stone Service Wall - Bastrop Refectory, June 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.120 Revised Sketch Typical Camp House, July 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.121 Sketch Camp Cottage No. 2, September 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.122 Sketch Camp Cottage No. 3, September 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.123 thru 124 Camp Cottage No. 3, November 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.125 Sketch Camp Cottage No. 4, September 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.126 thru 127 Camp Cottage No. 4, November 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.128 Sketch Camp Cottage No. 5, September 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.129 thru 130 Camp Cottage No. 5, October 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.131 Cabin No. 8, April 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.132 thru 133 Cottage No. 6, June 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.134 thru 135 Cottage No. 7, June 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.136 Cottage No. 8, June 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.137 Cottage No. 8, June 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.138 thru 139 Cottage No. 9, June 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.140 Cottage No. 10, June 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.141 Cottage No. 10, June 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.142 Cottage No. 11, June 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.143 Cottage No. 11, June 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.144 Plumbing Addition to Cottages, March 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.145 Plumbing Addition to Cottages, April 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.146 Layout Plan Cabins, July 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.147 Cabins, July 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.148 Cabins (Type 2), July 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.149 Plot Plan Cottage Area, August 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.150 Custodian's Dwelling, September 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.151 thru 153 Custodian's Dwelling, October 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.154 Hot Water System, Custodian's Lodge, October 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.155 thru 156 Helper's Quarters, August 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.157 Helper's Quarters Master Plan Change, September 24, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.158 Service Building Group, December 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.159 Keeper's Lodge, April 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.160 Hoods and Weather Stripping, September 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.161 Porch Floor - Miscellaneous Structural Improvements, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.162 Garage for Service Group, April 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.163 Garage, October 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.164 Garage, May 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.165 Garages, January 5, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.166 Blacksmith Shop and Tool House, September 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.167 Dry Kiln, September 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.168 Dry Kiln, September 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.169 thru 171 Dry Kiln, August 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.172 Dry Kiln, September 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.173 Dry Kiln, January 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.174 Service Group, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.175 Well Head at Copperas, April 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.176 thru 177 Kitchen Shelter, November 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.178 thru 180 Picnic Shelter, February 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.181 Sketch of Picnic Units, September 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.182 thru 184 Golf Shelter, September 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.185 Golf Shelter, May 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.186 Latrines, August 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.187 Latrines, August 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.188 Camp Ground Latrine, August 29, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.189 Camp Ground Latrine, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.190 Camp Ground Latrine, August 29, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.191 Lookout House No. 2, November 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.192 Entrance Area Planting Plan, February 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.193 Tree Location Highway Parkway and Park Entrance, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.194 Planting Plan at Refectory, February 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.195 Planting Plan for Cottage Area, February 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.196 Planting Plan at Lake, February 1936
Sheet
SP.22.197 Planting Plan for Copperas Dam Area, February 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.198 Planting Plan Refectory and Swimming Pool, February 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.199 Soil Preparation, April 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.200 Soil Preparation Swimming Pool Area, February 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.201 Master Plan, September 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.202 Food and Cover Planting and Seeding, November 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.203 Lake and Pond Development, February 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.204 Sketch - Chair detail, February 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.205 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, March 24, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.206 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, February 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.207 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, November 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.208 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, March 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.209 Master Plan, July 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.210 Playground Area, June 30, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.211 Archery Range, October 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.212 Water Well No. 1, October 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.213 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.214 Base Map, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.216 Bastrop County Sub-Marginal Land Project, October 1955
Sheet
SP.22.217 General Development Plan, August 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.218 thru 219 Development Plan, August 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.220 State Parks Board/Deed Plot, 1934-1940
Sheet
SP.22.221 Utilities Plan, August 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.222 Base Map (Sheet 1 of 2), January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.223 Base Map (Sheet 2 of 2), January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.224 Master Map, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.225 Location Plan of Main Use Roads, September 17, 1946
Sheet
SP.22.226 Reconstruction of Cabin No. 2, April 20, 1959
Sheet
SP.22.227 Guest Cabin, January 10, 1951
Sheet
SP.22.228 Typical Cabin - Electric Plan, January 14, 1948
Sheet
SP.22.229 Bastrop Master Map, May 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.230 Public Picnic and Camp Ground Development Plan, 1932, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.231 Lake Mina, 1932-1940
Sheet
SP.22.232 Reinforcement Steel/Retaining Wall and Spill Setting Plan in Dam, May 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.233 Cattle Guards, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.234 Stilling Well, March 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.235 Stilling Well, February 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.237 Stone Fence (Park Entrance), January 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.238 Fence Layout, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.239 Sketch - Chair detail, 1936-1937
Sheet
SP.22.240 Master Plan, July 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.241 Park Roads, March 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.242 State Roads, December 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.243 Cattle Guard, November 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.244 Park Roads and Culverts, May 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.245 Park Road - Cattle Guard and Culvert Layout, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.246 thru 249 Vehicular Bridge, January 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.250 Vehicular Bridge at Dry Creek, November 1935
Sheet
SP.22.251 Vehicle Bridge, June 28, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.254 Guard Rails, July 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.255 Sketch - Chair detail, 1936-1937
Sheet
SP.22.256 Sewer Line Graphic Scale, September 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.257 Sewage System, July 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.258 Disposal Tank, March 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.259 Sketch - Public Campground Latrine, June 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.260 Plot Plan Combination Building, June 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.261 Rustic Bridge at Copperas Lake, July 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.262 Helper's Quarters Gas Installation, November 6, 1944
Sheet
SP.22.263 Preliminary Layout Butane Gas Setup for Bastrop Cabin Area, September 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.264 Telephone Lines, August 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.265 Pump House Bastrop Park Area, undated
Sheet
SP.22.266 Combination Building, February 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.268 thru 269 Combination Building, November 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.270 Sketch - Chair detail, 1936-1937
Sheet
SP.22.271 Combination Building, January 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.272 Tower, Lookout Area, January 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.273 Tool House, February 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.274 Additions to Keeper's Cottage, February 10, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.275 Plumbing for Keeper's House -- Buescher Area, October 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.276 1934-1945
[Untitled map.]
Sheet
SP.22.277 Power Lines, December 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.278 Overhead Distributing System for Cabins, December 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.279 Buescher State Park Boat Pier and Landscaping, 1930, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.280 Underground Distributing System, November 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.281 Master Plan, September 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.282 Lake and Pond Development, March 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.283 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, March 24, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.284 Rip-Rap Lake Bank Protection, October 1936
Sheet
SP.22.285 Fire Hazard Reduction, March 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.286 thru 287 Swimming Pool Shelter, October 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.288 Refectory Building, January 2, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.289 Shelter, January 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.290 Council Table for Bastrop State Park Guest Cottage, June 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.291 Service Table Group for Bastrop State Park Guest Cottage, October 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.292 Tables for Guest Cottages, February 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.293 Cabin and Refectory Furniture, September 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.294 Cottage Building, January 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.295 Keeper's Dwelling Furniture, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.296 Refectory Furniture, April 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.297 Single Width Double Deck Beds, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.298 Iron Details for Gate House, February 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.299 Furniture for Combination Building, April 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.300 Park Seat, November 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.301 Fountain, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.302 Drinking Fountain, July 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.303 Fountain, March 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.304 Fountain, July 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.305 Guest House Cabinet, July 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.306 thru 307 Sub Marginal Land Project, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.308 Bath House, 1934; 1940
Sheet
SP.22.309 1934-1945
[Untitled topographic map with tree populations.]
Sheet
SP.22.310 Master Map, May 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.311 Camp Fireplaces, November 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.312 Sketch - BBQ Pits, September 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.313 BBQ Pit and Small Fireplaces, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.314 Camp Fireplaces, June 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.315 Park Seat, July 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.316 Sectional Picnic Table, 1933; 1940
Sheet
SP.22.317 Unit Picnic, Bench and Table, November 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.318 Table and Bench Combo, July 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.319 Picnic Unit, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.320 Sign Location for Bastrop State Park, August 18, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.321 Sign Board, November 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.323 Signs, April 15, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.324 Refectory and Golf Shelter Showing Location of Proposed Cable, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.325 Director's Table for State Park Board, March 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.326 Organized Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.328 Refectory Furniture, September 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.329 Organized Camp, January 5, 1950
Sheet
SP.22.330 Kitchen and Dining Hall, January 15, 1950
Sheet
SP.22.331 Keeper's House, April 8, 1949
Sheet
SP.22.332 Organized Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.333 Mechanic's House, June 13, 1974
Sheet
SP.22.334 Organized Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.335 Typical Cabin, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.336 Organized Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.337 Organized Camp, January 4, 1950
Sheet
SP.22.338 Furniture - Dining Table, October 15, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.339 Furniture - Dining Chair, October 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.340 Furniture - Lounge Chair and Settee, October 15, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.343 Power Line Layout, June 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.344 Stool for Concession Counter, January 17, 1941
Sheet
SP.22.345 Reinforcement Steel for Spillway, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.346 Camp Fireplaces, November 5, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.347 Guard Rail, February 5, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.348 Guard Rail, July 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.349 Base Map, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.350 Master Map, May 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.351 Base Map, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.352 Surface Map Showing Insect Traps, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.353 8th Period/Period Plan/Base Map, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.354 Swimming Pool, 1934, 1940
Sheet
SP.22.355 Proposed Metering of Water Lines, April 22, 1960
Sheet
SP.22.356 Construction of 10,000 Gallon Overhead Water Storage Tank, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.22.357 Garage, February 10, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.359 Garage, February 10, 1937
Sheet
SP.22.360 Tool House, April 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.22.361 Bastrop - Refectory Details, May 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.22.362 Suggested Revisions - Job 119 B - Pool Shelter, February 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.363 Proposed Addition to Master Plan No. 9100, April 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.22.364 General Plan Bastrop State Park, October 18, 1933
Sheet
SP.22.365 thru 368 Combination Building, January 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.22.TSA.5 Water System Layout, October 24, 1934



 

Big Spring State Park, 1934-1947, undated,
0.54 cubic ft.

Agency History
Big Spring State Park is a 382-acre state park in Howard County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The park was founded in 1927 as Edwards Monument Park, originating from a land donation from the Big Spring Federation of Women's Clubs to the Texas State Parks Board. It was renamed Big Spring State Park in 1934, the same year Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1857 arrived for park development. The company remained until 1935. CCC-built work includes a park road with boulder curbing, mountaintop pavilion with latrine, concession building, caretaker's house, and other various landscape features. Facilities constructed later include a seasonal interpretive center.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 78 blueprints, maps and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Big Spring State Park, including a concession building, tables and benches, latrines, sewage systems, and an open air pavilion. Dates covered are 1934-1947, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Big Spring State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.45.1 Master Plan, March 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.2 Survey Topographical, March 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.3 Plan of Scenic Mountain Drive, September 30, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.4 May 1, 1935
[Untitled map showing proposed entrance road with field revisions in red. Shows existing highway, contour lines, power lines and section lines.]
Sheet
SP.45.5 Master Plan, March 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.6 Vehicle Bridge, July 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.7 Portal, May 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.8 thru 8.1 Portal No. 2, July 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.9 Cattle Guard, undated
Sheet
SP.45.10 Fence, July 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.11 Walks. Concrete, April 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.12 Plan of Foot Trails, January 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.13 Parking Area No. 1, April 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.14 Parking Area No. 2, April 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.15 Guard Rail, July 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.16 Amphitheatre, undated
Sheet
SP.45.17 Picnic Unit and Grill, December 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.18 Park Road, June 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.19 Pump House and Pump, June 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.20 Table and Bench, June 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.21 Table and Bench Combination, April 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.22 Campstoves, April 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.23 Latrine 2 and 3, April 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.24, 24.1 thru 24.2 Concession Building, June 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.25, 25.1 thru 25.2, 26 thru 26.1 Concession Building, June 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.27 Plan for Pavilion Competition, April 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.28, 28.1 thru 28.2 Open Air Pavilion Texas State, February 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.29 Plans for Open Air Pavilion, November 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.30 Amphitheatre, July 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.31 Garage, May 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.32 Plan for Equipment and Supply House, April 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.33 State Park Emergency Conservation Work, April 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.34 State Park Emergency Conservation Work, July 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.35 Details of Keeper's House Vicinity, July 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.36 Planting Plans, July 1934
Sheet
SP.45.37 Landscape Plan, February 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.38 R.O.W. Easement for County Road, May 19, 1947
Sheet
SP.45.39 Proposed 3 Inch Gas Line, August 26, 1947
Sheet
SP.45.39.1 Proposed 3 Inch Gas Line, August 26, 1947
Sheet
SP.45.40 Concession Building, undated
Sheet
SP.45.41 Plan for Equipment and Supply House, April 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.42 Public Campground Waste Disposal Unit, April 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.43 Pipe and Tile Lines, June 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.44 Keeper's Dwelling, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.45 Tables-Benches, April 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.46 Entrance, February 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.47 Cattle Guard, July 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.48 Plan of Guard Rails, January 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.49 Plan of Boundary Fence, January 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.50 Park Roads, June 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.51 Plan of Vehicle Bridge, December 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.52 Plan for Water Pipe, January 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.53 Plan of Water Supply, January 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.54 Power Line, May 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.55 Sewage Disposal Plant, December 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.56 Plans for Latrine, December 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.57 thru 57.1 Plans for Latrine, April 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.58 Latrine No. 1, May 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.59 thru 60 Plans for Concession House, March 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.61 Plans for Concession House, November 22, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.62 Boundary Traverse, November 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.45.63 Plan of Boundary Fence, January 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.64 Suggestions for Entrance, January 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.TSA.1 Portal, May 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.TSA.2 Sewage Disposal Plant, December 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.45.TSA.3 Public Campground Waste Disposal Plant, March 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.45.TSA.4 Plans for Latrine, February 1, 1935



 

Blanco State Park, 1933-1945,
0.37 cubic ft.

Agency History
Blanco State Park is a 105-acre state park in Blanco County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The park was one of the first New Deal state park projects in Texas; Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 854 arrived in June 1933 and remained until May 1934. CCC-built work includes two dams and low-water crossings, a stone-arch bridge, entry station and keeper's residence, pavilion, and picnic facilities.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 53 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Blanco State Park, including two dams, a concession building, and cabins. Dates covered are 1933-1945.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Blanco State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.7.1 Gateway Concession Sign, February 20, 1941
Sheet
SP.7.2 Physical Map, July 14, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.3, 3.1 thru 3.2 Detail Map of Development, April 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.4 2 Signs for Gateway Concession, February 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.7.5 thru 5.1 Layout for Additional Park Area, December 11, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.6 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing trees, falls, Blanco River, test pits, and exposed rock.]
Sheet
SP.7.7 Detail Map at the Falls, August 2, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.8 Texas State Park No. 7, November 17, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.9 Proposed Addition to Park for Recreation Field, September 16, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.10 Boundary Traverse, November 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.7.11 A Mail Cabinet, February 1, 1941
Sheet
SP.7.12 Survey, March 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.7.13 Physical Map, July 14, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.14 Survey for Callahan Creek Bridge, September 1, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.15 Survey for Proposed Rock Dam at the Wall, July 18, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.16 thru 16.1 Details for Dam, July 13, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.17 Plan and Sections of "Falls" Dam, August 24, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.18 Upper Bridge over Blanco River, August 18, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.19 Bridge over Town Creek, August 23, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.20 Low Water Bridge below Upper Dam, November 8, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.21 Callahan Creek Crossing, September 15, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.22 Proposed Bridge Site at "The Falls," October 11, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.23 Proposed approaches to Town Creek Bridge, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.7.24 Wing Walls for Bridge, May 1934
Sheet
SP.7.25 Stone Culvert Opposite Concession Building, March 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.26 thru 26.1 Topography and Details Blanco Park Entrance, July 20, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.27 Topography at Park Entrance, December 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.28 Concession at Entrance, January 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.29 Topography at Vicinity of Concession House, January 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.30 Profiles Thru Site of Concession House, September 25, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.31 Concession Building, September 27, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.32 thru 34 Concession Building, October 2, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.35 Mechanical Plan Concession Building, October 31, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.36 Terrace Wall Layout, January 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.37 Alterations to Cafe Building, October 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.7.38 Concession at Entrance, January 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.7.39 Screens for Concession House, June 5, 1936
Sheet
SP.7.40 Cabins, September 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.7.41 Cabins, July 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.7.42 Custodian's Cabin, December 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.7.43 Custodian's Cabin, October 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.7.44 thru 44.1 Plot Plan Camp Site Girl Scouts Council, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.7.45 Dining Hall Girl Scouts Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.7.46 Proposed Relocation of Kendalia Road, July 27, 1933
Sheet
SP.7.47 Survey for Bridge below the Falls, August 30, 1933



 

Bonham State Park, 1934-1950,
0.84 cubic ft.

Agency History
Bonham State Park is a 261-acre park in Fannin County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Park construction began in 1933 on a donation of land by the City of Bonham. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 894 arrived in December of that year and remained until November 1936. CCC-built work includes roads, bridges, entry portals, bathhouse, a limestone water tower, lake pavilion, and a dam that created an 65-acre onsite lake. The site's development was due in large part to the interest of U.S. Congressman Sam Rayburn, a key supporter of New Deal policies and resident of Bonham.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 120 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Bonham State Park, including a concession building, organized camp, dam, and waterfront storage building. Dates covered are 1934-1950.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Bonham State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.18.1 Bonham State Park, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.18.1.1 thru 3 Preliminary Boundary Map, January 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.2 General Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.18.3 Dam, January 25, 1940
Sheet
SP.18.4 Dam, February 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.18.5 Dam, March 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.18.6 Guard Rails, December 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.7 Borrow Pits and Dumps, November 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.8 Signs, Markers and Monuments, August 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.9 Fine Grading, Etc., October 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.10 thru 11 Entrance, February 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.12 Park Roads, May 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.13 Beach and Truck Trails, October 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.14 Vehicle Bridge, October 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.15 Walks, November 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.16 Walks, October 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.17 Power Lines, May 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.18 Electrical, October 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.19 Picnic Unit Lighting, July 21, 1943
Sheet
SP.18.21 Drinking Fountains, October 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.22 Profile of Ground Well to Drainage Well, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.18.23 thru 24 Water Purification and Filtration Plant, January 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.25 Well Pump and Pump House, April 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.26 Location Diagram, February 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.27 Sewage Disposal Plants, December 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.28 Concession Group, April 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.29 Concession Building, January 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.30 Concession Building, May 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.31 Concession Building, May 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.32 Concession Building, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.33 Concession Building, June 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.34 thru 37 Concession Building, October 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.38 Concession Building, May 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.39 Concession Building, June 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.40 Concession Building, June 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.41 Concession Building, June 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.42 Concession Building, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.43 Concession Building, June 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.44 Concession Building, June 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.45 Concession Building, May 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.46 Concession Building, June 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.47 Concession Building, June 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.48 Concession Building, July 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.49 thru 52 Concession and Bath House, August 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.53 thru 55 Helper's Quarters, September 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.18.56 Existing Boat House Remodeled Into Helper's Quarters, September 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.18.57 Other Buildings/Waterfront Storage Building, May 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.58 Other Buildings/Waterfront Storage Building, June 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.59 Other Buildings/Waterfront Storage Building, June 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.60 Other Buildings/Waterfront Storage Building, June 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.61 Other Buildings/Waterfront Storage Building, August 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.62 Other Buildings/Waterfront Storage Building, May 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.63 thru 64 Garage and Storage Building, June 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.65 Garage and Storage Building, April 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.66 Keeper's Lodge, December 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.67 Dance Terrace to Shelter, October 9, 1941
Sheet
SP.18.68 Shelter, January 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.69 Shelter, January 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.70 thru 71 Shelter, January 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.72 Shelter, February 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.73 Shelter, February 5, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.74 Shelter, November 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.75 Boat Pier, July 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.18.76 Pier for Boat and Bath House, June 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.77 Landscaping Undifferentiated, July 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.78 Picnic Area Latrine, August 1, 1955
Sheet
SP.18.79 Picnic Shelter and Youth's Boat Shelter, Small Mess Building, Roof Framing Details, Typical Door Details, Small Mess Building, September 1935
Sheet
SP.18.80 Community Building, September 1935
Sheet
SP.18.81 Recreation Area, September 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.82 Recreational Area, Typical Latrine, September 1935
Sheet
SP.18.83 Organized Camp, November 22, 1949
Sheet
SP.18.84 Organized Camp: Preliminary Kitchen and Dining Halls, December 19, 1949
Sheet
SP.18.85 Organized Camp: Staff Headquarters, November 29, 1949; October 2, 1958
Sheet
SP.18.86 Organized Camp, November 29, 1949
Sheet
SP.18.87 Picnic Units, November 22, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.88 Picnic Units, November 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.89 Organized Camp, January 12, 1950
Sheet
SP.18.90 Organized Camp, January 15, 1950
Sheet
SP.18.91 Organized Camp, January 14, 1950
Sheet
SP.18.92 thru 93 Organized Camp, January 15, 1950
Sheet
SP.18.94 Organized Camp, January 10, 1950
Sheet
SP.18.95 Organized Camp, January 14, 1950
Sheet
SP.18.96 Master Plan, April 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.97 Stone Bridge, July 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.98 Stone Foot Bridge, August 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.99 thru 100 Stone Bridge, July 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.101 Progress Chart of Dam, May 9, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.102 Details of Dam, February 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.103 Waste Weir for Bonham Dam, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.18.104 Suggested Design for Concessions and Bath House, June 28, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.105 Spillway, February 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.106 Topography for Proposed Dam, October 31, 1933
Sheet
SP.18.107 Water Well Storage and System, October 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.108 Preliminary Public Camp Ground Building, November 29, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.109 Concession Building, February 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.110 thru 111 Concession Building, January 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.112 Topographic Map, February 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.113 thru 114 Concession Building, February 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.18.TSA.1 Plot Plan, Organized Plans, November 14, 1958
Sheet
SP.18.TSA.2 Water Well Storage and System, October 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.18.TSA.3 Organized Camp, January 12, 1950



 

Buescher State Park, 1935-1937,
0.08 cubic ft.

Agency History
Buescher State Park is a 1,017-acre state park in Bastrop County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Built from land donations by Emil Buescher of Smithville and the city of Smithville, the park was founded as Smithville State Park in 1927. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Companies 1805 and 1811 developed park facilities from 1933 to 1939 in conjunction with nearby Bastrop State Park. CCC-built work was constructed in large part from native stone, and includes the entry bridge and wing walls, group pavilion, residential complex, drainage structures, and the 30-acre Buescher Lake. Buescher is connected to the nearby Bastrop State Park by a four-mile length of road designated Park Road 1.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consists of 11 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail several facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Buescher State Park. Dates covered are 1935-1937.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Buescher State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Drawer
SP.22.2 Master Map Buescher Park Site, January 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.31.2 Vehicle Bridge, July 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.22.52 Bastrop - Buescher Master Map, 1936-1937
Sheet
SP.22.215 Base Map - Buescher Area, January 16, 1937
Drawer
SP.22.236 Location Map for Buescher's Entrance Area, January 31, 1936
Drawer
SP.22.253 Foot Bridges, February 28, 1936
Drawer
SP.22.358 Addition to Manager Residence, August 22, 1952
Sheet
SP.22.TSA.1 Utilities Plan, August 20, 1937
Drawer
SP.22.TSA.2 Location Plan of Pump House Area, August 20, 1937
Drawer
SP.22.TSA.3 Pump House, November 25, 1935
Drawer
SP.22.TSA.4 Waterlines, November 9, 1936



 

Caddo Lake State Park, 1933-1955, undated,
0.7 cubic ft.

Agency History
Caddo Lake State Park is a 484-acre park in Harrison County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The park's origins date from Texas State Parks Board proposals in 1923 to create a network of large parks in Texas. The park was founded in 1933 with land donations from several landowners. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) company 889 arrived in June of that year to begin development. That Company left in November 1933, to be replaced by Company 857, which worked intermittently until March 1937. CCC-built work includes red sandstone entry portals, road and drainage work, latrines, and a pavilion. CCC workers also converted their CCC barracks into a concession building and cabins for guests. The site encompasses in part Caddo Lake, an extensive mix of lake, wetland and swamps. Currently the park is a center for recreational fishing for residents of East Texas.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 101 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Caddo Lake State Park, including a concession building, bridges, cabins, and an administration building. There are also a number of maps describing features of the park property in part or in whole. Dates covered are 1933-1955, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Caddo Lake State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.40.0 Texas Forest Service Management Plot, February 7, 1955
Sheet
SP.40.1 Master Plan of Park with Road Work Schedule, July 1940
Sheet
SP.40.2 Plot Plan - Cabin Area Utility Layout, July 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.3 Plot Plan, September 6, 1933
Sheet
SP.40.4 Plot Plan - Preliminary Study - Organized Camp, March 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.40.5 Base Plan for Proposed Development, September 21, 1946
Sheet
SP.40.6 General Plan, September 1, 1933
Sheet
SP.40.7 Plot Plan for Cabin Group Buildings, Roads, Parking Area, Etc., June 1939
Sheet
SP.40.8 Plot Plan Concession Building - Cabin and Picnic Area, February 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.40.9 CCC Camp Layout, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.40.10 Plot Plan for Cabin Group Buildings - Roads - Parking Area - Etc., June 1939
Sheet
SP.40.11 Project Map, November 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.12 Project Map, May 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.13 Entrance: Elevation and Plan of Portal, April 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.14 Entrance, December 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.15 General Road Plan, April 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.16 Plan of Camp - Road System, October 29, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.17 Main Loop Road, 1932; 1945
Sheet
SP.40.18 Three Bay Vehicle Bridge for Park Scenic Road, July 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.19 Two Bay Vehicle Bridge for Park Scenic Road, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.40.20 Bridges, April 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.21 Bridges, January 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.22 Bridges, November 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.23 Culverts, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.40.24 Guard Rails, April 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.25 Fences, December 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.26 Fences, April 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.27 Power Lines, August 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.28 Details for Power Line Construction, June 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.40.29 Design for Sewage Disposal System, June 1939
Sheet
SP.40.30 Waste Disposal, November 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.31 Well, May 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.32 Water Systems, December 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.33 Alterations and Additions: Cabins-Latrine-Administration Building, February 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.40.34 Alterations and Additions: Cabins-Latrine-Administration Building, February 18, 1938
Sheet
SP.40.35 Alterations and Additions: Cabins-Latrine-Administration Building, February 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.40.36 Concession Building, December 1939; August 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.37 Concession Building, December 1939; August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.38 Concession Building: Window--Door Schedules and Details, August 1, 1940; August 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.39 Concession Building: Elevations, August 1, 1940; August 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.40 Concession Building: Elevations and Details, August 1, 1940; August 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.41 Concession Building: Sections, August 1, 1940; August 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.42 thru 43 Concession Building: Interior Elevations and Details, August 1, 1940; August 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.44 Concession Building: Ice Vault and Kitchen, August 1, 1940; August 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.45 Concession Building: Mechanical Plan, August 1, 1941
Sheet
SP.40.46 Concession House, February 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.47 Preliminary Study for Concession Building, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.40.48 Concession Building: Elevations, December 1939; August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.49 Concession Building: Cross Sections, December 1939; August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.50 Concession Building: Interior Elevations, July 1940; August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.51 Concession Building, July 1940; August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.52 Details of Concession Building, February 26, 1941
Sheet
SP.40.53 Concession Building, October 13, 1933
Sheet
SP.40.54 1932-1945
[Untitled drawing shows existing pipeline, cabin area, tennis courts, and surrounding waters.]
Sheet
SP.40.55 thru 56 Typical Design for 17 Cabins, February 24, 1941; August 8, 1941
Sheet
SP.40.57 Typical Design for 17 Cabins, August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.40.58 Cabins: Details, June 1939
Sheet
SP.40.59 Cabins, June 1939
Sheet
SP.40.60 Cabins: Type "A" and "B", June 1939
Sheet
SP.40.61 Cabins: Type "C" and "D", June 1939; July 1939
Sheet
SP.40.62 Management, May 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.63 Overnight Accommodations, April 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.64 Administrative Building, November 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.65 Overnight Cabins, November 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.66 Proposed Improvements for Existing Army Barracks, November 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.67 Shelter House, April 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.68 Shelter House, February 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.69 Boat House, November 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.70 Boat House, November 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.71 Swimming Pool for Caddo Lake, undated
Sheet
SP.40.72 Floating Boat Dock, undated
Sheet
SP.40.73 Equipment and Supply Storage, October 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.74 Management December 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.75 Latrines, March 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.76 Public Camp Ground Latrines, November 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.40.77 Details of Latrines and Picnic Structures, October 12, 1933
Sheet
SP.40.78 Camp Grills, April 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.79 Caddo Lake State Park Extension, Maximum and Minimum Purchase Area, undated
Sheet
SP.40.80 Caddo Lake State Park Extension, Marion and Harrison Counties Texas Project Progress Map, undated
Sheet
SP.40.81 Plot of State Park Property as Described by Park Deeds, February 26, 1941
Sheet
SP.40.82 Plot of State Park Property as Described by Park Deeds, March 15, 1955
Sheet
SP.40.83 Caddo Lake State Park Extension Property Map, August 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.84 Caddo Lake State Park Extension Property Map, undated
Sheet
SP.40.85 Extension - Soil Map, undated
Sheet
SP.40.86 Auto Registration Map, March 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.87 Transportation Map, April 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.88 Exhibit, undated
Sheet
SP.40.89 Window Detail Caddo Lake Cabins, undated
Sheet
SP.40.90 Soil Tests, undated
Sheet
SP.40.91 Texas Forest Service Management Plot, June 23, 1953
Sheet
SP.40.92 Headquarters Area, December 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.40.93 Proposed Development, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.40.94 Table and Bench Combination, March 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.40.94a Table and Bench Combination, March 30, 1935
[Blueprint copy of SP.40.94.]
Sheet
SP.40.95 Bath House, March 10, 1953
Sheet
SP.40.96 Galvanized Iron Water Tank, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.40.97 Water Tank Tower, September 1955
Sheet
SP.40.98 Galvanized Bolter Storage Tank, June 30, 1959
Sheet
SP.40.99 Concession Building, December 1939



 

Cleburne State Park, , 1934-1946, undated
1.15 cubic ft.

Agency History
Cleburne State Park is a 529-acre state park in Johnson County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Park development was initiated in 1935 by a donation of land by the City of Cleburne. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3804 arrived in mid-1935, and remained there until August 1940. CCC-built work includes a limestone residence and maintenance area, entrance portals, outdoor fireplace units, and a dam that created the spring-fed 116-acre Cedar Lake. Later workers provided by the Work Projects Administration completed a half-built bathhouse and concession building, plus a water and sewer system. Facilities constructed later include group halls and a extensive series of mountain bike trails.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 164 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detailing a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Cleburne State Park, including a dam, parking areas, bridges, sewage disposal facilities, and a bathhouse. Also included are several topographic maps, and two typewritten narrative reports relating general information regarding the park site and layout. Dates covered are 1934-1946, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Cleburne State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.53.1 Master Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.1.1 Master Plan, September 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.2 General Development Plan, September 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.2.1 Layout Plan, July 13, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.3 Fire Plan Control Map, July 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.53.4 Base Map, October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.4.1 Topography on Clear Areas, March 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.5 Topographic Map, November 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.6 Topographic Map, September 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.7 Topographic Map, September 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.8 Dam Spillway, January 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.53.9 Spillway, December 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.10 Dam (Field Change), June 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.53.11 thru 12 Dam (Field Change), December 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.53.13 thru 16 Dam, November 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.17 Dam Spillway, January 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.53.18 thru 23 Dam, November 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.24 Dam, February 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.25 Dam, February 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.26 Dam, October 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.27 Dam, September 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.28 Dam, August 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.29 Preliminary Profile Lower Dam Site, May 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.30 Profile Along Center Line of Proposed Dam, March 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.53.31
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.53.32 Beach Improvement, October 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.53.33 Public Picnic Grounds, July 31, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.34 Fencing Plan Additional Area, October 19, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.35 Fence (Water-gap), July 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.36 Fencing Plan, July 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.37 Portal, November 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.38 Master, September 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.39 Road Slopes, August 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.40 Truck Trail to Caretakers Cottage, June 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.41 Public Camp Ground, June 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.53.42 thru 43 Parking Area, December 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.44 Parking Area, November 30, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.45 Parking Areas, September 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.46 Parking Areas, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.47 Vehicle Bridge No. 1, September 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.48 Vehicle Bridge No. 2, September 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.49 Foot Bridge, July 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.53.50 Guard Rails, July 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.51 Utilities Plan, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.52 Utilities Plan, August 10, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.53 Wall and Pumphouse, October 27, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.54 Water Storage Tank, December 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.55 Drinking Fountains, September 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.56 Well, Pump, and Pump House, February 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.57 Water Lines, September 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.58 Layout Plan, June 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.59 Water Storage Tank, November 8, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.60 Latrines, April 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.53.61 Sewer Line, February 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.62 Sewage Disposal Plant, February 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.63 Sewage Disposal, January 3, 1945
Sheet
SP.53.64 Sewage Disposal, January 5, 1945
Sheet
SP.53.65 Location A, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.66 Location B Upper and Lower Disposal Field Areas, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.67 Profile of Upper B Location Disposal Field, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.68 Location A, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.69 Location A Proposed Disposal Field, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.70 thru 73 Bath House, April 4, 1942
Sheet
SP.53.74 Bath House, March 23, 1943
Sheet
SP.53.75 thru 76 Bath House, April 4, 1942
Sheet
SP.53.77 Bath House, April 1, 1943
Sheet
SP.53.78 Combination Building and Boat Dock, November 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.79 Development Plan Service Group Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.80 Caretaker's Dwelling, October 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.81 Garage, February 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.82 Truck Shed Addition, January 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.53.83 New Truck Shed, October 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.84 Service Group and Garage, July 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.85 Work Shop, January 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.86 Community Club, February 24, 1944
Sheet
SP.53.87 Planting Plan, Concession Building, January 22, 1944
Sheet
SP.53.88 Clearing Plan, Reservoir Site, July 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.89 Clearing Reservoir Site, November 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.90 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, November 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.91 Lake of Pond Site Clearing, October 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.53.92 thru 93 Sodding, March 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.94 Wildlife (Other), November 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.95 Camp Stoves, September 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.96 Camp Stoves or Fireplaces, September 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.97 Lateral Sewer Line Concessions Area, January 7, 1946
Sheet
SP.53.98 Pump House for Septic Tank, November 20, 1945
Sheet
SP.53.99 Dam Site Topography, July 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.100 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing bathing beach, parking area, boat house, lake, concession building, bath house, service yard, entrance drive, contour lines, picnic tables and fireplaces.]
Sheet
SP.53.101 1934-1945
[Untitled showing combination building, bathing beach, proposed sand beach, lake, boat house, parking area, boat ramp, existing park road, topography.]
Sheet
SP.53.102 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography of park.]
Sheet
SP.53.103 Table and Bench Combination, August 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.104 Topography in Clear Areas, March 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.105 Guard Rails, June 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.106 Minor Roads and Parking Area, May 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.107 thru 108 Furniture for Caretakers House, June 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.109 Camp Stoves, October 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.110 Table and Bench Combinations, August 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.111 Signs, Markers, and Monuments, May 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.112 Signs, Markers, and Monuments, April 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.113 Boat Pier, April 23, 1946
Sheet
SP.53.114 Boat Storage House, undated
[Sheet is blank except for administrative description.]
Sheet
SP.53.115 Floating Boat Dock, August 28, 1946
Sheet
SP.53.116 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing profile and plan of area around lake. ]
Sheet
SP.53.117 Entrance Planting, November 20, 1945
Sheet
SP.53.118 Dam, April 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.119 Base Map, October 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.120 Location Plan of Main Use Roads, September 20, 1946
Sheet
SP.53.121 Conduit, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.122 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, December 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.123 Parking Areas, March 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.124 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, January 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.125 Wildlife Other, January 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.126 Parking Areas, June 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.127 Guard Rails, June 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.128 Organized Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.129 Organized Camp, January 12, 1950
Sheet
SP.53.130 Utilities Plan, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.53.131 Boat House and Boat Dock, April 29, 1946
Sheet
SP.53.132 Butane System for Cabin Group, January 4, 1946
Sheet
SP.53.133 Butane Systems Concessions Group, December 7, 1945
Sheet
SP.53.134 Pipeline, February 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.135 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing plan and profile of road. ]
Sheet
SP.53.136 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing plan and profile of road. ]
Sheet
SP.53.137 Cross Section Line B-B, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.138 April 25, 1939
[Untitled drawing showing area around boat house, including parking areas, present park road, lake, water line.]
Sheet
SP.53.139 Table and Bench Combination: Elevations, undated
Sheet
SP.53.140 thru 141 Topographic Map of Beach Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.142 Sixth Period Progress, March 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.143 Master, February 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.53.144 Development of Bath House Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.145 Master Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.53.146 Master Plan, July 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.147 Portal, September 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.148 thru 149 Sewage Disposal, January 3, 1945
Sheet
SP.53.150 Layout Plan, July 13, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.151 Clearing Plan, July 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.53.152 Explanatory Statement to Accompany the Layout Plan Showing Day Use Area, 1934-1945
[Typewritten statement to accompany the layout plan showing day use area, including forestry, circulation system, developed areas, public utilities, sewer system.]
Sheet
SP.53.153 Narrative Report to Accompany the Master Plan, 1934-1945
[Typewritten narrative report intended to accompany the master plans, including general information, land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, public utilities.]
Sheet
SP.53.154 Pergola Details, April 20, 1943
Sheet
SP.53.155 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing typical road section. ]
Sheet
SP.53.156 Minor Roads, August 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.157 Parking Areas, October 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.158 Parking Areas, August 26, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.159 Parking Areas, August 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.160 Fountains - Drinking, September 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.53.161 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography of area. ]



 

Daingerfield State Park, , 1934-1946, undated
0.66 cubic ft.

Agency History
Daingerfield State Park is a 551-acre park in Morris County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 2891 arrived in August 1935 to develop the site, and was replaced by Company 1801 (Colored) in June 1938, which remained through January 1940. CCC-built work was particularly ambitious in comparison to other Texas parks, and included a 500-foot water well, pine reforestation, a pavilion, entry roads, and a dam that created the 80-acre Little Pine Lake (later named Lake Daingerfield). Facilities constructed include an amphitheatre, boat launches, and 2.5 miles of hiking trails.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 94 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings detailing a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Daingerfield State Park, including a dam, combination building, keeper's cottage, and site furniture. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1946, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Daingerfield State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.49.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.2 Master Plan, April 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.3 Base Map, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.4 General Development Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.5 Development Plan, September 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.6 Utilities Plan, September 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.7 Dam Watershed, April 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.8 Dam Spillway Plan and Sections, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.9 Dam Site Topography and Longitudinal Section, May 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.10 Dam Site Borings and Longitudinal Sections, June 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.11 Dam Specimen - Cross Section, May 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.12 Dam Spillway Plan and Sections, May 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.13 Dam Site Topography and Longitudinal Section, May 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.14 Dam Site Borings and Longitudinal Sections, June 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.15 Dam Specimen - Cross Section, May 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.16 Fences, May 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.17 Entrance Sign, August 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.18 Entrance Sign: Plan, Elevations, Sections, Details, undated
Sheet
SP.49.19 Plan and Profile of Proposed New Entrance, December 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.20 Truck Trails (Entrance Revisions), January 23, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.21 Truck Trails, August 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.22 Parking Area - Retaining Wall, November 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.23 Gravel Walks, May 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.24 Foot Trails, November 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.25 Telephone Line, March 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.26 thru 27 Power Line, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.28 Trailer Camp, August 10, 1942
Sheet
SP.49.29 Water Lines, July 12, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.30 Water Pipelines, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.31 Pump House, August 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.32 Reservoir, July 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.33 Water and Sewer Lines to Fishermen's Barracks and Caretaker's Cottage, August 2, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.34 Sewage Disposal, September 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.35 thru 39 Combination Building, December 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.49.40 Combination Building Storage Room, August 26, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.41 Terrace Miscellaneous, February 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.42 Diving Tower, February 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.43 Keeper's Cottage, June 27, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.44 thru 45 Keeper's Cottage, July 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.46 thru 47 Fishermen's Barracks, January 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.48 thru 49 Landing Pier, February 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.50 thru 52 Boat House, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.53 Other Buildings - Office, Storeroom and Garage, June 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.54 Garage Wash and Grease Rack, September 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.55 Floor Plan for Skating Rink, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.56 Combination Building Planting Plan, October 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.57 Landscape Layout Combination Building Area, July 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.58 Landscape Layout, June 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.59 Lake and Pond Development, February 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.60 Wildlife (Other), March 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.61 Wildlife Survey Monuments Food and Cover Planting, September 11, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.62 Base Map, May 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.63 Park Property and Topography Map, May 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.64 Bath House Area and Dimension and Grading Plan, November 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.65 Beach Improvement, January 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.66 Skating Rink, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.67 Guest Cottage, December 21, 1944
Sheet
SP.49.68 Cottage, December 20, 1944
Sheet
SP.49.69 Combination Building Furniture, April 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.70 Combination Building Furniture, March 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.71 Furniture: Lounge Chairs, October 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.72 Furniture: Table and Chairs, January 9, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.73 Fireplace Table and Benches Preliminary Sketches, July 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.74 Portable Picnic Tables, March 9, 1936
Sheet
SP.49.75 Fireplaces, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.49.76 Foundation Plan - Cabins, August 12, 1946
Sheet
SP.49.77 Suggested Changes for Combination Building, October 9, 1936
Sheet
SP.49.78 Base Map, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.49.79 Narrative Report to Accompany the Master Plans for Daingerfield State Park, 1934-1945
[Typewritten narrative report to accompany the master plans for Daingerfield State Park, including general information, land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, public utilities.]
Sheet
SP.49.80 Daingerfield Power Line, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.81 Bath House Hot Water Layout, October 10, 1942
Sheet
SP.49.82 Beach Lights, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.83 Proposed Cabin Location, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.84 Lake Basin Clearing, June 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.49.85 Furniture -- Lounge Chairs, October 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.86 Furniture -- Tables and Chairs, January 9, 1939
Sheet
SP.49.87 1934-1945
[Untitled sketches of an unidentified building.]
Sheet
SP.49.88 1934-1945
[Untitled sketches of an unidentified building.]
Sheet
SP.49.89 1934-1945
[Sketches of vertical siding, windows, doors of unidentified building.]
Sheet
SP.49.90 Roof Truss Stress Diagram, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.91 Brace Between Trusses at Roof Ridge, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.49.TSA.1 Master Plan, January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.TSA.2 Development Plan, January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.49.TSA.3 Utilities Plan, January 26, 1938



 

Davis Mountains State Park (and Indian Lodge), 1932-1948,
0.92 cubic ft.

Agency History
Davis Mountains State Park is a 1,321-acre park in Jeff Davis County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The origins of the park lie in a "State Park Highway" (now SH 118/166) constructed in 1927 by the Texas Highway Department; the park itself was developed from adjoining right-of-way land donated in 1933 and 1937. Two Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Companies (879 and 881) arrived in June 1933, and at least one remained at work there until March 1942. Though stationed at Balmorhea, Company 1857 performed occasional "side camp" work at the site. CCC-built work includes roads, stone erosion structures, a mountaintop pavilion, and the 39-room adobe-walled Indian Lodge (originally named "Indian Village Hotel"). Later improvements include formal campground facilities, added in 1967.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 131 blueprints, maps and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Davis Mountains State Park, including multiple dams, electric power lines, and a recreation of an Indian village. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1932-1948.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Davis Mountains State Park (and Indian Lodge), Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.4T.1 Master Plan, March 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.2 General Plan, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.3 1932-1945
[Block map of Fort Davis.]
Sheet
SP.4T.4 Sketch Proposed Entrance State Park, September 1, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.5 Proposed Park Site, June 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.6 General Map of Project, July 16, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.7 1932-1945
[Untitled contour map of Indian Village and road.]
Sheet
SP.4T.9 Topographic Map of Reservoir on Espy Land Proposed Reconstruction, July 18, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.10 Topographic Map of Reservoir Keesey Canyon Dam Site, July 15, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.11 Keesey Canyon Dam Sites, September 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.12 Contour Map of Proposed Dam Near Indian Village Site, September 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.13 State Park Dams, August 3, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.14 Topographic Map (Merrill Property) Keesey Canyon Dam, April 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.15 Keesey Canyon Dam Site, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.16 Cross Section of Proposed Dam Near Indian Village Site, October 3, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.17 Profile on Center Line Dam in Keesey Canyon, July 15, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.18 thru 19 Keesey Canyon Cross Section and Test Pits Dam Locations B and C, April 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.20 Profile and Alignment Keesey Canyon - Upstream - Location - B, March 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.21 Cross Section Keesey Canyon Dam - Location - B, March 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.22 Profile Keesey Canyon Dam - Location - C, March 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.23 Profile and Alignment Keesey Canyon Upstream - C - Location, March 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.24 Profile on Center Line Proposed Dam in Keesey Canyon Looking Up Stream, July 28, 1933
Sheet
SP.4T.25 Profile Dam Site No. 1 Keesey Canyon, September 4, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.26 Profile Dam Site No. Two, September 4, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.27 Cross Section of Limpia Canyon Proposed Dam Site, April 4, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.28 Lympia Creek Dam, March 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.29 Lympia Creek Dam, March 2, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.30 Lympia Canyon Dam, January 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.31 thru 32 Lympia Canyon Dam Cross-Section, March 9, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.33 Cross Section of Limpia Canyon, April 4, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.34 Proposed Entrance Gate, August 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.35 Fence Around Play Area (Sheet 1 of 2), March 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.4T.36 Fence Around Play Area (Sheet 2 of 2) Gate Details, March 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.4T.37 General Layout Truck Trails, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.38 Guard Rails on Roads, May 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.39 Water Storage Reservoir and Pipeline Indian Village, January 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.40 Water Supply Line, January 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.41 Light Plant, January 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.42 Water Well, June 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.43 Waste Disposal and Septic Tank - Indian Village, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.44 Light Plant, January 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.45 Davis Mountains Side Camp Electric Power Line, September 13, 1937; September 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.4T.46 thru 47 Davis Mountains Side Camp Electric Power Line, September 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.4T.48 Indian Village, January 29, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.49 thru 50 Davis Mountains Side Camp Roof Reconstruction, May 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.4T.51 Plot Plan Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.52 Lower Floor Plan Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.53 Indian Village, January 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.54 Indian Village - Units No. 1 and 2, April 2, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.55 Upper Floor Plan and Roof Plan Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.56 Elevations Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.57 East and Rear Elevations/Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.58 Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.59 Interior Details Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.60 Bedrooms Fireplace Details Indian Village, November 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.61 Window Details Indian Village, October 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.62 Main Floor Framing Plan Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.63 Foundation Plan (Cutoff), 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.64 SEC CC, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.65 Lake Corpus Christi: Signs Markers and Monuments, September 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.66 Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.67 Electrical Plan, Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.68 Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.69 Door Details, Indian Village: Full-size Hinge and Panel Details, January 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.70 Door Details Indian Village, January 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.71 Door Details, January 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.72 Hardware Details, Indian Village: Full Scale, December 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.73 Light Fixtures, Indian Village, January 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.74 Test Hole Data of Range and Fireplace, Indian Village, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.75 Plan of Lookout Stairs, July 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.76 Plan of Foyer Slab and Stair, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.77 Detail Lounge Terrace Steps 1st Flight Down, June 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.78 Cross Section of Stairs, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.79a Screens for Indian Village - Fort Davis, April 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.79b Screens for Indian Village - Fort Davis, March 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.80 Fireplace Chimney Plan, August 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.81 Garage Court Layout, February 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.82 Detail Water Spouts, July 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.83 Detail Lounge Terrace and Parapet, June 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.84 Indian Village, January 29, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.85 1932-1945
[Untitled drawing showing cross section of building.]
Sheet
SP.4T.86 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing cross section of building.]
Sheet
SP.4T.87 thru 88 Indian Village - Unit No. 1, March 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.89 Indian Village - Unit No. 2, March 28, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.90 Indian Village -- Unit No. 2, March 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.91 Indian Village, April 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.92 Indian Village, Details, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.93 Half Plan and Partial Section of Main Patio Pool, December 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.94 Patio Walls Elevations, December 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.95 Shelter Details for Indian Village Patio, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.96 Preliminary Sketches: Lookout House No. 2, September 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.97 Recreation Hall Co. 879, March 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.98 Comfort Station, March 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.99 Planting Plan Indian Village, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.100 Indian Village Murals, 1933-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.101 Davis Mountains Roof and Terrace Repairs Indian Village, July 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.4T.102 Indian Village Repairs, February 19, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.103.1 thru 4 Hot Water System Indian Village, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.104 Davis Mountains Repairs to Septic Tank, Field and Well at Indian Village, March 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.105 Butane System Indian Village Lodge (3), December 5, 1944
Sheet
SP.4T.106 Butane System Indian Village Lodge (1), December 5, 1944; January 3, 1945
Sheet
SP.4T.107 Butane System Indian Village Lodge (2), December 5, 1944; January 3, 1945
Sheet
SP.4T.108 Roof Over Terrace at Indian Lodge, October 7, 1948; October 8, 1948
Sheet
SP.4T.109 Stools for Ft. Davis Park, August 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.110 Legs for Settees and Chairs: Full Size Detail, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.111 Key Rack and Desk for Indian Village Office, November 5, 1936
Sheet
SP.4T.112 Furniture for Indian Village: Dressing Table and Stool, Lounge Chair, Suitcase Stand, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.113 Counter and Back Bar for Fort Davis State Park, August 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.114 Furniture for Fort Davis State Park: Mirror and Towel Rack Combination, Night Stand, July 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.115 Showcase for Fort Davis, September 19, 1938; October 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.116 Lounge Chair and Settee for Fort Davis State Park, September 27, 1938; October 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.117 Writing Desk for Fort Davis State Park, October 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.118 Registry Stand for Fort Davis State Park; Miscellaneous Furniture for Ft. Davis State Park, September 29, 1938; October 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.119 Miscellaneous Furniture, Fort Davis, October 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.4T.120 Test Hole Data of Range and Fireplace, 1932-1945
Sheet
SP.4T.121 Main Floor Plan Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.122 Concrete Details Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.123 Upper Floor Framing Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.124 Roof Framing Plan Indian Village, October 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.4T.125 Davis Mountains State Park Pump House, May 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.4T.126 Davis Mountains Side Camp: Rectification of Wiring and Lighting, July 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.4T.127 Texas State Highway Department Standard Cattle Guard, July 12, 1933



 

Fort Griffin State Park, , 1934-1945, undated
0.36 cubic ft.

Agency History
Fort Griffin State Historic Site is a 506-acre park in Shackelford County administered by the Texas Historical Commission. The original Fort Griffin was a U.S. Army base founded in 1867 and served primarily as part of a screen protecting West Texas settlers from raids by Comanche and Kiowa tribal groups. The site was abandoned in 1881, and remained unoccupied until 1935, when Shackelford County donated the ruins to the Texas State Parks Board for development as a state park. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3803 was stationed at Fort Griffin in January 1940; plans to reconstruct the fort and create recreational grounds were precluded by World War II, and the company was transferred in December 1941. CCC-built work includes park roads, drainage structures, and stone picnic cookers. Fort Griffin is a State Archeological Landmark and the post is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. TPWD operated the site as a state park until 2008, when the 80th Texas Legislature transferred control to the Texas Historical Commission.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 52 blueprints, maps and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Fort Griffin State Park, including roads, parking areas, an amphitheatre, a water supply system, and features of the reconstructed Fort Griffin. Dates covered are 1934-1945, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Fort Griffin State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.63.1 General Development Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.2 Recreational Area Layout Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.3 Military Post Area Layout Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.4 Master Plan, August 7, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.5 Proposed Development Plan, April 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.6 Geology Base Map, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.7 Main Entrance, June 19, 1941
Sheet
SP.63.8 Fences, February 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.9 Park Signs: Details, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.10 Main Park Road, April 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.11 Main Park Road, April 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.12 Main Park Road, November 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.13 Main Park Road, November 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.14 Park Road and Parking Areas, February 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.15 Park Road and Parking Areas, February 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.16 Park Road, Parking Areas, Revision to Culvert, March 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.17 Water Supply System, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.18 Water Supply System, March 1, 1941
Sheet
SP.63.19 Garage and Water Storage Tank, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.20 Garage and Water Storage Tank, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.21 Picnic Area: Layout Plan, January 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.22 Public Picnic Ground Development, March 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.63.23 Latrines: Picnic Area, March 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.24 Picnic Shelter, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.25 Table and Bench Combination - Camp Fireplaces, March 7, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.26 Museum Vicinity: Layout Plan, May 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.27 Amphitheatre Area: Layout, October 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.28 Amphitheatre Area: Layout, March 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.29 Amphitheatre, January 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.30 Amphitheatre, January 10, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.31 Layout Plan for Military Post Area, June 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.32 Ground of Buildings, March 18, 1941
Sheet
SP.63.33 Picnic Area: Layout Plan, undated
Sheet
SP.63.34 Preliminary for Custodian's Quarters, Etc., March 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.63.35 thru 36 Custodian's Quarters, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.37 Miscellaneous Structure and Improvements, February 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.38 Planting, September 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.39 Fire Hazard Reduction, January 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.40 Master Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.41 Reconstruction: Old Bakery, July 6, 1958
Sheet
SP.63.42 Miscellaneous Structure and Improvements, February 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.43 Miscellaneous Structure and Improvements, February 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.63.44 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of cabin details.]
Sheet
SP.63.45 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of rock wall treatments and rock footing.]
Sheet
SP.63.46 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of captain's quarters and elevations of cabins.]
Sheet
SP.63.47 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of stone ruins of alleged officer's quarters, lieutenant's quarters, magazine, and natural rock columns. ]
Sheet
SP.63.48 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of a two-story building with elevations and floor plan/foundation.]
Sheet
SP.63.49 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing treatment of chimney bases, barracks hut, treatment of kitchen ovens, mess hall, kitchen, and soldiers' barracks group.]
Sheet
SP.63.50 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of cabin sketches, including elevations and foundation plan.]
Sheet
SP.63.51 Shackelford County, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.63.52 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing treatment of rock footings and floors and a hospital foundation.]



 

Fort Parker State Park, , 1934-1950, undated
1.63 cubic ft.

Agency History
Fort Parker State Park is a 1,459-acre park in Limestone County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The original Fort Parker was established in 1833 by settler members of the Predestinarian Baptist Church led by Elder John Parker. On May 19, 1836, a large party of Native Americans, including Comanches, Kiowas, Caddos, and Wichitas, attacked Fort Parker and killed or captured its inhabitants, including eight-year-old Cynthia Ann Parker. The ruins of the park and surrounding area were donated to the Texas State Parks Board in 1934 for development. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3807 (Colored) was stationed at Fort Parker in July 1935, remaining there until January 1942. CCC-built work includes a concession building, bathhouse, a replica palisade-wall fort, and a dam that created the 750-acre Lake Fort Parker.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 233 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Fort Parker State Park, including dams, roads, landscape grading, a bathhouse, and various lakeside amenities. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1950, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Fort Parker State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.44.1 Base Map, January 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.2 Map, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.3 Contour Map, November 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.4 Topography Map - Fort Parker Site, February 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.4.1 General Development Plan, August 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.5 Map of East Portion Park, October 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.6 Preparation and Transportation Materials, March 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.7 Revised Development Plan, July 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.8 Development Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.9 Proposed Master Plan Revision, March 13, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.10 Dam Profiles - Spillway Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.11 Dam Profiles - Spillway Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.12 Sluiceway and Revised Crest of Dam, March 11, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.13 Impounding Dam, June 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.14 Impounding Dam, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.15 thru 24 Impounding Dam, October 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.25 Lake and Pond Development, May 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.26 Living Quarters, March 9, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.27 Excavation, Channels, Canals, and Ditches, April 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.28 Boulevard Connecting Fort Parker to Old Fort Parker, January 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.29 Entrance, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.30 Entrance Portal, January 23, 1943
Sheet
SP.44.31 Boundary Fence, June 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.32 Park Roads - Field Change, April 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.33 thru 35 Park Roads, September 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.35.1 Table and Bench Combinations, November 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.36 thru 37 Park Roads, September 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.38 Park Roads, April 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.39 Park Roads, September 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.40 Park Roads, October 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.41 Park Roads, October 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.42 thru 43 Cabin Area Road, June 9, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.44 thru 45 Park Roads, July 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.46 Park Roads - Sections, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.47 Entrance Culvert, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.48 thru 49 Park Roads - Alignment and Profile, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.50 Fort Parker Road Extensions, September 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.51 thru 52 Overlook Parking, June 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.53 thru 54 Overlook Parking, August 12, 1942
Sheet
SP.44.55 Parking Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.56 Parking Area, January 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.57 Foot Trails, November 19, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.58 Vehicle Bridges, September 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.59 Vehicle Bridges, September 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.60 thru 61 Picnic Parking, December 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.62 Guard Rail, October 28, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.63 Signs and Markers, August 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.64 Layout Plan of Picnic Area Development, November 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.65 Picnic Area, August 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.66 Power Lines, April 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.67 Outdoor Lighting, April 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.68 Power Line - Underground Service, August 23, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.68.1 Power Line - Underground Service, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.69 Drinking Fountains, February 21, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.70 Timber Clearing, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.71 Water Supply System, April 23, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.72 thru 73 Proposed Building Site - Topography and Tree Location, August 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.74 Planting Plan - Entrance Portal, January 21, 1944
Sheet
SP.44.75 Planting Plan - Caretaker's Residence, January 25, 1942
Sheet
SP.44.76 Planting Plan - Combination Building Area, January 13, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.77 Sewage and Waste Disposal System, February 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.78 Latrines - for Temporary Use, August 28, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.79 Fireplace Accessories for Combination Building, February 5, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.80 Camp stoves and Fireplaces, February 9, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.81 thru 86 Bath House, January 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.87 Beach Improvement - Retaining Wall, June 23, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.88 Combination Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.88.1 Fire Screen, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.89 Combination Building - Test Hole Data, April 4, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.90 thru 91 Combination Building, May 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.92 thru 96 Combination Building, May 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.97 Addition to Living Quarters of Combination Building, March 20, 1946
Sheet
SP.44.98 Light Fixtures for Combination Building, January 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.99 Light Fixtures for Combination Building, January 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.100 thru 101 Dance Terrace, September 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.102 Topography of Proposed Caretaker's House Site, September 12, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.103 Caretaker's Group - Preliminary, August 24, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.104 thru 105 Custodian's Group, September 20, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.106 Custodian's Group, September 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.107 Plumbing Details for Caretakers Cottage, February 28, 1942
Sheet
SP.44.108 Garage, December 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.109 Equipment Supply Storage Houses, July 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.110 Shed for E.C.W. Trucks, October 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.111 thru 112 Base Map, January 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.113 Development Plan, September 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.114 Period Plan, January 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.115 Utilities Plan, September 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.115.1 Contour Map, November 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.116 Legend of Buckner Equipment, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.117 thru 118 Grading and Walks (Landscaping Undifferentiated), March 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.119 thru 120 Grading and Walks (Landscaping Undifferentiated), October 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.121 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, December 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.122 Selective Cutting for Effect, January 13, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.123 Selective Cutting, April 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.124 Workshop, April 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.125 Staff Headquarters, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.126 Furniture, March 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.127 Details and Elevations of Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.128 Plot Plan for Cabin Area, May 12, 1942
Sheet
SP.44.129 Proposed Cabins, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.130 Proposed Cabin, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.131 thru 132 Log Cabins, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.133 Proposed Cabin Type A, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.134 Illustration, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.135 Shop Drawings, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.136 thru 137 Boat House, August 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.138 thru 139 Floating Boat House and Dock, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.140 Boat House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.141 thru 142 Floating Boat House and Dock, May 31, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.143 Boat House, April 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.144 Proposed Revision, September 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.145 Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.146 Master Plan, August 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.146.1 Narrative Report to Accompany the Master Plans, 1934-1945
[Typewritten report on paper to accompany the master plan, including general information, land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, and public utilities.]
Sheet
SP.44.147 Development Plan, September 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.148 thru 150 Furniture, May 12, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.151 Combination Building - Field Change, April 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.152 thru 153 Keeper's Lodge and Service Group, July 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.154 Humble Pipeline, March 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.155 Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.156 Reconstruction of Fort Parker, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.157 Plot Plan, March 21, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.158 Plans and Details of Fort Parker, March 19, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.159 Plans and Details of Cabins, March 19, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.160 Reconstruction of Fort Parker, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.161 thru 163 Keeper's Lodge and Service Group, July 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.164 Keeper's House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.165 Sketch of Keeper's Lodge, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.166 Caretaker's Residence, September 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.167 Floating Boat House, February 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.168 Floating Boat House, May 23, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.169 Bath House, January 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.170 Master Plan, May 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.171 thru 172 Project Map, September 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.173 Proposed Layout Development Plan, September 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.174 Park Roads, September 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.175 Well, Pump and Pump House, March 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.176 Planting Plan Combination Building Area, January 13, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.177 Park Roads (Field Change), April 19, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.178 Structural Improvement Pipeline Insulation, October 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.179 Beach Improvement, June 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.180 Caretaker's Residence, July 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.181 Steel for North Abutment Wall and Footing for Impounding Dam, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.182 Selective Cutting, April 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.183 9th Period Base Map, January 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.184 Sewage and Waste Disposal, February 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.185 Park Roads (Clearing Only), September 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.44.186 Sewage and Waste Disposal System, December 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.187 Check Dams Temporary, July 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.44.188 Light Fixtures for Combination Building, January 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.189 Bath House, January 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.190 Topography of Dam Site and Borings, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.191 Plan and Test Hole Data of Masonry Dam, May 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.192 Details of Masonry Dam, May 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.44.193 thru 194 Bath House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.195 Map Showing the Original Site on Which Old Fort Parker was Located, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.196 Early Settlers Cabin, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.197 thru 198 Log Cabin for Keeper, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.199 thru 200 Facsimile of the Cynthia Ann Parker Cabin, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.201 Details of Old Fort Parker, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.202 Proposed Layout Development Plan, September 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.203 Boat House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.44.204 Beach Improvement, October 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.205 Picnic Area, November 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.206 Development Plan, July 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.207 Latrines (Relocation), April 21, 1941
Sheet
SP.44.208 Master Plan, May 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.44.209 Development Plan, August 30, 1938
Sheet
SP.44.210 Sewage and Waste Disposal System, undated
Sheet
SP.44.211 Impounding Dam, undated
Sheet
SP.44.212 thru 213 Floating Boat House, undated
Sheet
SP.44.214 Bath House, undated
Sheet
SP.44.215 Proposed Route of Revision, undated
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.1 Water Supply System, May 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.2 Structural Improvement, Pipeline Insulation, October 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.3 Well Pump and Pump House, March 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.4 Sewage Disposal, Custodian's Group, April 15, 1942
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.5 Pipe Sizes and Quantity, Cabin Area Water Lines. undated
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.6 Water Line, undated
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.7 Organized Camp, January 12, 1950
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.8 Organized Camp, January 15, 1950
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.9 Organized Camp, January 14, 1950
Sheet
SP.44.TSA.10 thru 14 Organized Camp, January 15, 1950



 

Franklin Fields Municipal Park, 1940-1941, undated,
0.11 cubic ft.

Agency History
Franklin Fields Municipal Park (later named Olmos Basin Park) is a park operated by the City of San Antonio. The site was a flood basin for the Olmos Creek created by the construction of the Olmos Dam in 1928. Originally named Franklin Fields Metropolitan Park, the site was situated just outside the municipal border of San Antonio and was developed as a cooperative effort between the city and Bexar County. In 1940, the park secured federal support in the form of additional funding as well as Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3822 (Veterans), which developed the site and its facilities until 1942. CCC-built work includes roads, bridle paths, athletic fields and picnic units.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consists of 15 blueprints and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Franklin Fields Municipal Park, including a playfield road and skeet turrets. Dates covered are 1940-1941, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Franklin Fields Municipal Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.4.1 Layout Plan, March 31, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.2 Playing Field Area, January 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.3 General Development Plan, August 28, 1940
Sheet
SP.4.4 Layout Plan, October 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.4.5 thru 6 Skeet Turrets, September 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.4.7 Topography, February 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.8 Water Control, May 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.9 Sewer, October 21, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.10 Playfield Road, April 23, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.11 Playfield Road, April 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.4.12 Development Plan, August 28, 1940
Sheet
SP.4.13 Olmos Park, March 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.4.14 Skeet Turrets, August 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.4.15 Skeet Turrets, undated



 

Garner State Park, 1931-1945,
1.5 cubic ft.

Agency History
Garner State Park is a 1,456-acre park on the Frio River in Uvalde County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The park originated as a 600-acre plot of land along the Frio River purchased by Uvalde County in 1935 for eventual development as a state park. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 879 was stationed at Garner in July 1935, remaining there until April 1941. CCC-built work includes a large stone refectory, elaborate residence and service complex, 16 stone and wood cabins, roads, and numerous stone features throughout. The park's extensive development was due in large part to the patronage of Vice President John Nance Garner, a long-time resident of Uvalde County.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 215 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Garner State Park, including several roads, horse and foot trails, a water supply system, a combination building, overnight cabins, landscape features, and site furniture. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1931-1945.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Garner State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.42.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.2 General Development Plan, July 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.2A, 2.1 Master Plan, July 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.3 Base Map, July 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.4 Utilities Layout Plan: Service and Cabin Area, April 29, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.4.1 Preliminary Report: Proposed Dam, April 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.5 Drinking Fountain, October 19, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.5.1 Preliminary Report: Proposed Dam, April 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.6 Improvement and Repairs, June 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.6.1 Preliminary Report: Proposed Dam, April 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.7 Caretaker's Dwelling and Bath House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.7.1 Entrance Portal (Revised), October 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.8 Entrance Portal: Cattle Guard, July 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.8.1 Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.9 Counter for Concession Building, November 18, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.9.1 Fences, May 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.10 Proposed Roller Skating Rink, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.11 Guard Rail: Trailer Road, May 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.11.1 Fireplace and Barbeque Pit, October 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.12 Picnic Units and Barbeque Pit, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.12.1 Obliteration Roads and Dump Grounds, March 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.13 Picnic Road, March 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.14 Picnic Road, February 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.15 Picnic Road, December 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.16 Profiles Along North Property Line, January 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.17 Cabin Driveways, January 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.18 Profiles Cabin Driveways, January 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.19 thru 20 Trailer Road, July 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.21 Guard Rail, June 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.22 thru 23 Parking Area, January 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.24 Park Roads, May 11, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.25 Park Roads, May 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.26 Bank Sloping, February 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.27 Plan for Outlooks, December 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.28 Plot Plan for Outlooks, December 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.29 Park Roads: (Station 47+50 TO 61+00), October 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.30 Park Roads: Culvert Station 51+28, October 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.31 Topography in Vicinity of Culvert Station 51+28, October 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.32 Park Roads, August 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.33 Park Roads, September 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.34 Park Roads, September 9, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.35 Park Roads: Main Road Station 0+00 TO 3+25, September 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.36 Guard Rail, Barrier, and Drainage Core, February 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.37 Park Roads, June 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.38 Walks, August 31, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.39 Horse and Foot Trails, April 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.40 Horse Trails, May 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.41 Horse and Foot Trails, March 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.42 Layout Plan for Southeast Picnic Area, October 28, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.43 Walks, Gravel and Caliche, October 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.44 Layout Plan for North and South Areas, October 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.45 Picnic Area, July 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.46 Table and Bench Combinations, July 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.47 Proposed Electrical Power Lines To Buildings and To Well, December 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.48 Telephone Line, January 16, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.49 Hot Water, Heating and Gas System, December 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.50 Hot Water Heaters Hydro Gas System, August 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.51 Water Tank Indicator, February 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.52 Water Well and Pump House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.53 Proposed Location Pump House, August 28, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.54 Water Lines, July 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.55 Well Water Report, July 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.56 Well Water and Pump House, August 30, 1931
Sheet
SP.42.57 Digging and Lining Well, February 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.58 Water Lines, June 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.59 Water Lines, September 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.60 Water Lines, April 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.61 Water Lines: Public Camp and Trailer Camp Road, July 31, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.62 thru 63 Water Lines and Storage, July 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.64 Water Lines and Storage, February 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.65 Water Lines and Storage, May 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.66 Sewer Line, October 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.67 Sewer Lines, November 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.68 Disposal Tank and Sewer Lines, November 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.69 Sewage Disposal Plant for Keeper's Lodge, February 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.70 Disposal Tank - Sewer Line, May 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.71 Alterations and Additions to Combination Building, January 13, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.72 Alterations and Additions to Combination Building, July 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.73 thru 74 Alterations and Additions to Combination Building, September 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.75 Terrace, June 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.76 thru 81 Combination Building Bath House Wing, November 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.82 Combination Building, April 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.83 thru 89 Combination Building, May 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.90 Combination Building: Plot Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.91 Combination Building, July 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.92 Combination Building, August 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.93 Combination Building, July 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.94 Combination Building, July 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.95 Combination Building, July 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.96 Combination Building, July 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.97 Combination Building, July 31, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.98 Combination Building, July 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.99 Combination Building, July 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.100 Electrical Fixtures for Combination Building, April 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.101 Combination Building: Tower Entrance Door, April 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.102 thru 103 Combination Building, March 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.104 thru 105 Overnight Cabin: Type E, December 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.106 Overnight Cabin: Type D, Nos. 6-16-19, March 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.107 Overnight Cabin: Type D, Nos. 6-16-19, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.108 thru 109 Plot Plan of Cabin Area, October 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.110 Overnight Cabins - Types A, B, C, July 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.111 thru 112 Overnight Cabin: Type A, July 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.113 Overnight Cabin: Type C, July 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.114 thru 115 Overnight Cabin - Type A, B, C, July 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.116 Overnight Cabins, December 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.117 Overnight Cabin, December 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.118 Overnight Cabins, December 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.119 Dwelling, October 26, 1935
[Field change made to drawing on December 11, 1935.]
Sheet
SP.42.120 Dwelling: Elevations and Floor Plans, June 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.121 Riding Stable Group, January 24, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.122 Plot Plan of CCC Camp and Facilitating Buildings, December 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.123 Help's Quarters - Revision - Storage House, December 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.124 Blacksmith Shop, March 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.125 Latrines, December 2, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.126 Office Building, March 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.127 Service Area Corral, December 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.128 Garage Building, November 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.129 Garages, June 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.130 Equipment and Supply Storage House, May 23, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.131 Service Group, May 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.132 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, Check Dams, February 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.133 Landscape - Undifferentiated, October 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.134 Fire Control Ban, July 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.135 Fire Hazard Reduction, June 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.136 Beach Improvement, March 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.137 thru 138 Landscape - Undifferentiated, March 15, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.139 Cabin Area, Landscape Development, July 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.140 Landscape Undifferentiated, January 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.141 Landscaping Undifferentiated, January 24, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.142 Beach Improvement, January 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.143 Selective Cutting, Weed Eradication, June 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.144 Vegetation Map, January 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.145 Fire Breaks, January 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.146 Selective Cutting, November 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.147 Landscape Development, May 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.148 Landscape Development, May 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.149 Landscape Development, May 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.150 Beach Improvement, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.151 Fire Hazard, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.152 Location of All Trees in the Vicinity of Combination Building and Adjacent to Road Indicated, November 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.153 Cabins (Preliminary Drawings), Illustration, May 24, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.154 Overnight Cabin, November 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.155 Signs and Markers, September 13, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.156 thru 157 Signs and Markers, May 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.158 Large Scale Detail Showing Style of Lettering to be Used, June 17, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.159 Picnic Units, July 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.160 Camp Stoves, March 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.161 Table and Bench Combinations and Fireplaces, March 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.162 Sketches of Furniture for Combination Building, March 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.163 Furniture, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.164 Andirons, January 23, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.165 Base Map, January 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.166 Cabins Driveways, January 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.167 Water Well and Pump House, August 30, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.168 Incinerator, August 26, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.169 Terrace, June 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.170 Utility Layout Plan for Cabins, October 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.171 Combination Building/Dining Terrace, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.172 Power Lines: Plan Showing Proposed Electrical Power Lines to Buildings and Well, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.173 Concession Building, October 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.42.174 Entrance, Portals and Cattle Guard, April 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.175 Additional Property Park Roads, August 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.176 General Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.177 Concession Building, January 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.178 Walks and Portable Picnic Tables, October 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.179 Trailer Road, July 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.180 Hot Water - Heating Gas System, December 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.181 Development Plan, August 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.182 Master Plan, December 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.42.182a Narrative Report to Accompany Master Plan, 1936
[Typewritten report.]
Sheet
SP.42.183 Overnight Cabin: Type B, Cabin No. 1, July 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.184 Overnight Cabin: Type B, Cabin No. 4, July 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.185 Development Plan, August 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.42.186 Bath House and Another House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.187 General Layout Plan, October 10, 1940
Sheet
SP.42.188 Sketches of Furniture for Combination Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.189 Andirons and Fireplace Set, January 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.190 Andirons and Fireplace Set, January 16, 1941
Sheet
SP.42.191 Utilities Layout Plan, April 29, 1943
Sheet
SP.42.192 Garage and Storage Room, February 15, 1947
Sheet
SP.42.193 Cabin, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.194 Butane System for Caretaker's Dwelling, November 25, 1946
Sheet
SP.42.195 Park Road Plan, December 9, 1949
Sheet
SP.42.196 thru 199 Furniture, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.42.200 Furniture, January 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.201 Furniture, December 19, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.202 Furniture, December 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.42.203 Furniture, January 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.42.204 Furniture, December 21, 1938



 

Goliad State Park, 1934-1945,
0.87 cubic ft.

Agency History
Goliad State Park and Historic Site is a 183-acre park in Goliad County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The centerpiece of the park site is the Spanish colonial Mission of Nuestra Señora del Espíritu Santo de Zuñiga (also known as Aranama Mission or Mission La Bahia). The Mission was founded in 1722 as an effort to convert local Karankawa Indians to Christianity, as well as solidify Spanish territorial claims to the surrounding area. The site also includes the ruins of Spanish Mission Rosario, as well as the birthplace of the Texan-Mexican General Ignacio Zaragoza. New Deal-era development of the site began in 1935, when Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3822 (Veterans) was stationed there in August of that year. The company remained there until May 1941. CCC work on the site included restoration of the mission church, granary, school and surrounding walls, as well as the construction of large residence and maintenance complexes. The park site itself was originally administered by the Board of Control and the local park commission, and the majority of the park land was transferred to the Texas State Parks Board in 1949. Features added later include an amphitheater, swimming pool, and a bronze statue of Ignacio Zaragoza.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 124 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Goliad State Park, including an auditorium, custodian's house, site furniture, and the reconstructed cloister, granary, and church of the Mission of Nuestra Señora del Espíritu Santo de Zuñiga. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1934-1945.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Goliad State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.43.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.1a Historical Map of Texas - XVIII Century, May 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.2 Development Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.3 Plot Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.4 Base Map, January 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.5 Master Plan, November 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.6 General Development Plan, January 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.7 Archeological Plan, January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.8 Master Bedroom, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.9 Topographical Map, April 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.10 Base Historical Map, September 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.11 Historical Map Goliad Area, Part of the Master Plan, May 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.12 Archeological Plan for Mission San Rosario, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.13 Fine Grading, February 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.14 Power Line, April 4, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.15 Gas Line, March 20, 1941
Sheet
SP.43.16 Sewage Disposal, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.17 Latrine, January 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.18 Latrine, May 11, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.19 Sewage Disposal, September 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.20 Water Line, February 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.21 Park Roads, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.22 Picnic Area Road, November 6, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.23 Road, February 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.24 La Bahia Road, July 31, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.25 State Park Sign, April 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.26 Fire Control Plan, August 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.28 Residence at Park Entrance, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.29 Picnic Structures, March 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.30 Picnic Structures: Public Units Elevations, Bench Elevations, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.31 Planting Plan, January 11, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.32 Planting Trees and Shrubs, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.33 Experimental Garden Plots, September 23, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.34 Walks, May 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.35 Patio Walks, January 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.36 Landscape Development at Fannin's Grave, March 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.37 Fire Control Plan, August 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.38 Planting Trees and Shrubs, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.39 thru 40 Goliad State Park Section Elevations, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.41 thru 42 Goliad State Park, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.43 Topographic Map of Mission Nuestra Seňora del Rosario, March 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.44 Mission San Rosario, November 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.45 Mission Espíritu Santo Ground Landscape Plan, January 16, 1941
Sheet
SP.43.46 Plan and Profile of Mission Entrance, January 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.47 Mission Road and Parking Area, February 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.48 Mission Entrance Road, May 7, 1930
Sheet
SP.43.49 Mission Granary and Test Hole Data Cloister: North and South Elevations, Unit No. 3 Ground, October 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.50 Mission Granary Elevations and Sections: East and West Elevations, 2 Sections, Unit No. 3 Ground, October 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.51 Mission Granary and Cloister: Floor Plan, Section, East, North, South Elevations, Unit No. 3 Ground, April 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.52 Mission Granary and Cloister: 2 Sections, 4 Elevations (Mission Granary: Floor Plan and Elevations), Unit June 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.53 Mission Granary and Cloister: Floor Plan, Sections (Water Damage) (Mission Granary: Floor Plan and Mason), October 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.54 Rest. Mission Church, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.55 Topographical Map, April 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.56 thru 57 Mission Espíritu Santo Ground (Hospice), 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.58 Mission Entrance, November 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.59 Mission Espíritu Santo, Unit No. 2 ''R," June 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.60, 60a Axonometric of Mission, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.61 Mission Espíritu Santo, January 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.43.62 Rest. Mission Church, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.63 Ground of Mission Church, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.64 thru 65 Rest. Mission Church, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.66 Preliminary Plans for Unit "L M N P" in Northeast Corner of Mission Espíritu Santo, March 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.67 thru 68 Structural Plan and Details, Mission Espíritu Santo, March 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.69 Furniture: Living Room: Occasional Chair, Side Table, Porch; Seat, Bench, May 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.70 Furniture: Dining Room; End Chair, Side Chair Cabinet, Table. Living Room; Table, July 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.71 Furniture: Double Bed, Single Bed, Occasional Chairs (Reed Bottom), Chest for Bedrooms, November 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.72 Museum Cases (10): Perspective, Sections, Front and Rear Elevations, May 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.43.73 Museum Cases: Cases, Elevations, July 10, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.74 thru 75 Museum, July 10, 1940
Sheet
SP.43.76 Custodian's Group, December 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.77 thru 79 Custodian's House, November 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.80 Foundation of Custodian's House, November 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.81 Custodian's Group Truck Shed, July 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.82 thru 83 Custodian's Group Service Building, June 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.84 Custodian's House, July 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.85 Combination Building, November 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.85a Goliad Memorial Auditorium, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.86 Goliad Memorial Auditorium, November 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.87 thru 93 Goliad Memorial Auditorium, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.94 Plan and Elevations of Custodian's Lodge and Service Group, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.95 Plot Plan of Grave of Fannin's Men and Highway Approach, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.97 Plot Plan for Educational Center, January 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.98 Interior Details, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.99 Plot Plan for Educational Center, February 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.100 Mission Espíritu Santo, June 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.102 Table Bench Combination, September 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.103 Utilities Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.104 Master Plan, January 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.105 Table Bench Combination, March 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.43.106 Goliad Memorial Auditorium, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.107 Shed and Kiln, November 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.43.109 Chapel of Presidio La Bahia: Main Entrance Doors, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.110 Details of Bell Hanger, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.111 Wrought Iron Cross for Church Tower, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.112 La Bahia Fort, April 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.43.113 Church: Preliminary Study; Test Hole Data of Altar Rail, Test Hole Data of Pulpit and Stair, Longitudinal Section, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.114 Garages, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.115 Bracket Lights for Chapel: Full Sized Detail of Wrought Iron Bracket Lights in Chapel at La Bahia Mission, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.116 Goliad State Park, February 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.43.117 Lighting Equipment for a Softball Field, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.118 Dining Room looking East, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.119 Restoration of Mission Espíritu Santo, November 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.43.120 Museum Case Legs: Details, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.43.121 Approach to Fannin's Grave, November 1, 1935



 

Goose Island State Park, 1933-1948,
0.4 cubic ft.

Agency History
Goose Island State Park is a 314-acre park in Aransas County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The site is located on an island off of St. Charles and Aransas Bays, north of Corpus Christi. The island was the location of the "Big Tree," a large Southern live oak thought to be over 1000 years old. The 1931 Texas Legislature transferred title of the island from the General Land Office to the Texas State Parks Board. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1801 was stationed at the site for park development in May 1934, remaining until June 1935. CCC-built work includes a concession building, roads, drainage systems and a recreation hall built from oyster shells. Facilities constructed later include a 1,620-foot long fishing pier.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consists of 57 blueprints, maps and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Goose Island State Park, including cabins, a caretaker's dwelling, fencing, and a campground building. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1933-1948.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Goose Island State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.37.1 Map, May 8, 1933
Sheet
SP.37.2 Mighty Oak Development, May 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.3 Table and Bench Combination, June 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.37.4 thru 5 Park Entrance, January 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.6 Fencing, Main Parking Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.7 Fencing, Pipelines, Cattle Guards, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.8 Fencing - Pipelines - Cattle Guards, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.9 Fence - Cattle Guards, April 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.10 Mighty Oak Development, May 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.11 Public Picnic Ground Development, June 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.12 Picnic Structures, August 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.13 Tent Camp Units, February 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.14 Garbage Containers and Camp Stoves, July 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.15 Directional Signs, August 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.16 Bridge, August 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.17 Beach Improvement, March 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.37.18 Details of Steel Forms and Wood Palettes, August 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.19 Water Systems, January 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.20 Pumphouse, Storage Tank, Lookout Tower, January 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.21 Public Camp Ground Waste Disposal, January 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.22 Latrines, January 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.23 Public Camp Ground Building, March 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.24 thru 30 Public Camp Ground Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.31 Service Area Wall for Concession Building, June 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.32 Plot Plan, September 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.33 Caretaker's House and Service Group, July 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.34 Caretaker's Dwelling, September 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.35 Caretaker's Dwelling, September 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.36 Service Group, September 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.37 Service Group - Foundation Plan - Septic Tank Detail, September 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.37.38 Cabin Layout, August 26, 1948
Sheet
SP.37.39 thru 40 Cabins, May 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.37.41 Service Group, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.42 Office and Tool Room, Garage, Blacksmith Shop, May 28, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.43 Shelters, August 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.44 Truck Trails, January 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.45 Cabins, May 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.37.46 Main Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.47 Section F Topography Map, July 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.49 thru 50 Section H Topography Map, July 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.51 Tower, Pavilion, Cottages, and Latrine, July 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.37.52 Sketch Map of Goose Island, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.53 1934-1945
[Untitled blueprint showing overview of park, including open areas, bridle paths, camp units, park roads, large oak, large oaks of interesting character, existing natural flowers, Main St., Front St., Magnolia St., and Palmetto St.]
Sheet
SP.37.54 1934-1945
[Untitled blueprint showing open meadow (play area), Little Museum, open area, Palmetto St., Magnolia St., Front St., large oak, and park roads.]
Sheet
SP.37.55 Key Map of Goose Island, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.56 Plat of Lamar Subdivision, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.37.57 Part of Lamar Subdivision Showing Land Needed for State Park and Road Purposes, 1934-1945



 

Hereford State Park, 1934-1935,
0.04 cubic ft.

Agency History
Veterans Park (previously named Hereford State Park) is a park in the city of Hereford in Deaf Smith County administered by the City of Hereford. Designated for development as part of a drought-relief initiative for the "Dust Bowl" region of Oklahoma and Texas, this site (540 acres of land along Tierra Blanca Creek) was the station for two Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Companies (1862 (Veterans) and 872), who worked sequentially there from July 1934 to December 1935. CCC-built work included signs, a limestone bathhouse, a concession building, and the planting of 10,300 trees. Despite these improvements, the park land was never transferred to the state, and in 1940 the Texas State Parks Board released its claim to the site. In 1947, Deaf Smith County sold its claim to the local chapter of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, who gave it its most recent name.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consists of five drawings that detail several facility designs intended for the Hereford State Park site. Dates covered are 1934-1935.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Hereford State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.H.TSA.1 Bath and Boat House, November 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.H.TSA.2 Septic Tank and Concessions, April 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.H.TSA.3 Concessions Building, December 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.H.TSA.4 Bath and Boat House, November 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.H.TSA.5 Bath and Boat House, November 24, 1934



 

Huntsville State Park, 1934-1945, undated,
1.1 cubic ft.

Agency History
Huntsville State Park is a 2,083-acre state park in Walker County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The Texas State Parks Board purchased a large tract of cutover timberland in the Sam Houston National Forest. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1823 (Colored Veterans) was stationed on the site from October 1937 to April 1942. CCC-built work includes extensive reforestation, road and drainage systems, a stone concession building, lakeside dance terrace, and a dam and spillway combination that created the 210-acre Lake Raven. This original dam failed during a heavy rain in November 1940, but was repaired in 1956 using the funds raised from lumber harvested from parkland trees. The park was fully opened to the public in May of that year. Facilities added later include 21 miles of trails and a nature center.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 159 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Huntsville State Park, including a dam and corresponding spillway, truck trails, a boat house, combination building, and power lines. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates included are 1934-1945, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Huntsville State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.61.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.2 Master Plan, December 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.61.2.1 Huntsville State Park, Abstract No. 54, December 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.61.3
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.4 Layout Plan of Combination Building Area, October 15, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.4.1 Proposed Concession Group, August 26, 1939
Sheet
SP.61.5 Huntsville Utilities Plan, December 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.61.6 Topography of Concession Site, November 2, 1939
Sheet
SP.61.7 thru 8 Topography, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.9 Boat Docks, August 12, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.10
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.11 Saw Mill Site, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.12 Organized Camp Road, November 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.13 Lake and Pond Development, October 19, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.14
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.15 thru 16, 16.1, 17 Dam, January 21, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.18 thru 19 Dam Spillway, March 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.20 Dam Spillway, March 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.21 Dam, November 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.61.22 thru 24 Dam, January 24, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.25 thru 27 Dam Spillway, March 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.28 Master, 1934
Sheet
SP.61.29 Spillway, October 17, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.30, 30.1, 31, 31.1, 32, 32.1, 33 thru 36 Spillway, October 17, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.37, 37.1 Topography of Old Spillway Site, March 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.38 Spillway Core Hole Record, April 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.39 Spillway, April 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.40 thru 46 Spillway, April 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.47 Cross Section Creek Basin, March 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.48 Spillway, May 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.49 Spillway Retaining Wall, May 6, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.50 thru 51 Spillway Retaining Wall, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.52 Spillway Retaining Walls, August 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.53 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing spillway retaining walls, including reinforcing schedule.]
Sheet
SP.61.53.1 Spillway Retaining Walls, August 9, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.54 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing spillway retaining wall features.]
Sheet
SP.61.55 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing machine cores.]
Sheet
SP.61.56 thru 62 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing dam features.]
Sheet
SP.61.63
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.64 Organized Camp Road, November 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.65 Organized Camp Road, January 31, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.66 Organized Camp Road, November 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.67 thru 73 Truck Trails, July 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.74
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.75 thru 77 Parking Area, July 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.78 thru 84 Power Line, May 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.85
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.86 Water System Layout, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.87 Water System Details, November 17, 1941
Sheet
SP.61.88 Sewer System Layout, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.90 Combination Building, June 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.91 Revision: Combination Building, September 19, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.92 thru 96 Combination Building, June 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.97 Dance Terrace Lamp Post Combination Building, January 28, 1942
Sheet
SP.61.98 thru 99 Light Fixture Details Combination Building, January 28, 1942
Sheet
SP.61.100 Terrace Guard Rail Combination Building, January 28, 1942
Sheet
SP.61.101 Dance Terrace Combination Building, February 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.102
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.103, 103.1 Boat House and Landing, October 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.104, 104.1, 105, 105.1 Boat House and Landing, November 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.106 Diving Tower Bath House Area, October 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.107 Pier at Organized Camp, October 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.108 Pier at Organized Camp, October 12, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.109 Boat Dock at Cottage Group, October 27, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.110 thru 112 Equipment and Supply Storage and Shops, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.113 thru 116 Bath House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.117 thru 120
[Drawings are missing.]
Sheet
SP.61.121 Boundary Traverse, March 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.122 Proposed Dam Site, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.123 November 17, 1941
[Untitled drawing showing overview of park, including lake, proposed cabins, roads, custodian's house, water level, boat house, bath house, combination building, parking area, and typical section of roadway. ]
Sheet
SP.61.124 thru 130 Truck Trails, October 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.61.131 Proposed Dam Site, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.61.132 Profile of Truck Trail, March 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.133 Profile of Truck Trail, March 4, 1940
Sheet
SP.61.134 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography, including error of closure.]
Sheet
SP.61.135 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography along creek.]
Sheet
SP.61.TSA.1 Narrative Report to Accompany the Master Plan, undated
[Typed report.]
Box
2014/112-1 Sewage and Waste Disposal System - Septic Tank, undated
Water System Layout, November 17, 1941
Plan and Profile-Cabin Road Layout, undated
Typical 2x2 Box Culvert, January 20, 1941
Typical 4x4 Box Culvert, March 1, 1940
Water System Details, November 17, 1941
Concrete Storage Tank - Water Supply System, 1940
Sewer System Layout, November 17, 1941
Box
2014/112-2 Huntsville Development Plan, January 28, 1938
Light Fixtures for Combination Building/Light Fixture Location Plan, undated
Light Fixtures for Combination Building, undated
Outside Wall Bracket, Type "D" Fixture, Type "F" Fixture, undated



 

Inks Lake State Park, 1934-1946, 1965,
0.32 cubic ft.

Agency History
Inks Lake State Park is a 1,202-acre park along the Colorado River in Burnet County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The park's origins lie with the Lower Colorado River Authority, who created the 803-acre Inks Lake Buchanan Dam to the north and Inks Dam to the south. The lake and surrounding area were transferred to the Texas State Parks Board for development in 1938. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 854 was stationed at Inks Lake from October 1940 to January 1942. CCC-built work includes an elaborate road network, dozens of stone culverts, and a boat house. Remaining construction was completed by the Texas State Parks Board, which opened Inks Lake in 1950. Facilities constructed later include hiking trails and a group pavilion.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 46 blueprints, maps and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Inks Lake State Park, including roads, a boat house and dock, and a concession building. Dates included are 1934-1946, 1965.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Inks Lake State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.64.1 General Development Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.64.2 Property Line Map, May 21, 1942
Sheet
SP.64.3 Layout Plan, November 4, 1940
Sheet
SP.64.4 Park Road, January 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.5 Butane System Concession Building, February 28, 1946
Sheet
SP.64.6 Arnold Dam Topography of River Basin Adjacent to Dam and Reservoir, April 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.64.7
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.64.8 Parking Area Main Building, February 24, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.9 Parking Areas Picnic Loop, March 26, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.10 Camp Fireplaces, March 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.11 Public Picnic Grounds Development, June 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.12 thru 13 Beach Improvement, August 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.14 Park Fence, November 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.64.15 Park Fence, December 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.64.16 Preliminary Boat House and Docks, September 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.64.17 Log of Water Well, April 24, 1943
Sheet
SP.64.18 Development, April 4, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.19 thru 21 Garage and Compound, February 24, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.22 Boat House and Docks, December 5, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.23 thru 24 Boat House and Docks, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.64.25 Boat House and Docks, April 29, 1942
Sheet
SP.64.26 thru 27 Concession Building, October 19, 1942
Sheet
SP.64.28 Boat House and Docks, December 5, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.29 Layout Sketch Property Plot Plan Concession Building, September 30, 1944
Sheet
SP.64.30 Proposed Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.64.31 thru 32 Custodian's Dwelling, August 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.33 Landscape Undifferentiated, December 11, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.34 Planting Plan for Concession Building, January 26, 1944
Sheet
SP.64.35 Planting Plan for Boat House and Dock, September 17, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.36 Planting Plan for Combination Building Parking Loop, December 6, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.37 Plot Plan for Combination Building Area, February 18, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.38 Portable Table and Bench Combinations, January 9, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.38.1 Latrine Perspective, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.64.39 Park Road, May 9, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.40 thru 41 Park Road, January 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.42 Area and Hydrographic Grid Plot Plan for Boat House and Dock, March 1, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.TSA.1 Public Picnic Ground Development, June 11, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.TSA.2 Water Supply System, March 11, 1941
Sheet
SP.64.TSA.3 Septic Field Repairs, March 4, 1965



 

Kerrville State Park, 1933-1948, 1959,
0.42 cubic ft.

Agency History
Kerrville-Schreiner Park (formerly named Kerrville State Park) is a 517-acre park in Kerr County administered by the City of Kerrville. The Schreiner family of Kerrville donated a tract of land along the Guadalupe River to the Texas State Parks Board in 1934 for park development. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1823 (Colored Veterans) was stationed at Kerrville in January 1935, remaining until May 1937. CCC-built work includes the road and drainage system, park residence, water tank, stone terrace work, and riverside picnic units. In 1990 the park's name was changed to Kerrville-Schreiner State Park, and in 2004 the TPWD ceded control of the park to the City of Kerrville. Facilities constructed later include 23 new mini-cabins, a butterfly garden, amphitheater, and recreation hall.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 60 blueprints and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Kerrville State Park, including several dams, a caretaker's building, roads, and storage facilities. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1933-1948, 1959.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Kerrville State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.58.1 Master Plan, August 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.2 Boundary Line Survey, December 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.58.3 Base Map, January 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.58.3.1 Profile and Soundings of Proposed Dam Site on Guadalupe River, April 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.58.4 Masonry Dam, August 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.5 Masonry Dam, August 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.6 Masonry Dam, September 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.7 Check Dams, October 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.8 Check Dams, January 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.9 thru 11 Proposed Amusement Park, August 25, 1933
Sheet
SP.58.12 Portal, April 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.13 Cattle Guard, April 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.14 Fence, December 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.58.15 Park Roads, October 21, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.16 Park Roads, April 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.17 Park Roads Culvert, September 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.18 Horse Trails, September 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.19 Power Unit, March 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.20 Disposal Tank and Sewer Lines, February 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.21 Water Lines, October 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.22 Water Lines, April 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.23 Pump House, September 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.24 Pump and Pump House, March 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.25 Storage Facilities, October 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.26 Storage Facilities, March 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.27 Caretaker's Dwelling, March 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.28 Caretaker's Dwelling, December 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.58.29 Caretaker's Dwelling, December 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.58.30 Caretaker's Dwelling, March 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.31 Caretaker's Dwelling, March 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.32 Caretaker's Dwelling, March 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.33 Millwork, April 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.34 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing section C-C and section B-B of a building.]
Sheet
SP.58.35 thru 36 Equipment, Supply and Storage House Garage, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.58.37 Barn (Stable), September 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.38 Corral, October 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.39 Latrine, April 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.58.39.1 Camp Stoves, Fireplaces, and Table and Bench Combination, April 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.40 Latrine, April 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.41 Equipment Shelter, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.58.42 Campstoves, Fireplaces, Table and Bench Combination, September 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.43 Copy of Plate I/Kerrville Dams, December 21, 1948
Sheet
SP.58.44 Table and Bench Combination, May 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.45 Plat Showing Additional Land Needed for Kerrville State Park, December 1936
Sheet
SP.58.46 Stable/Cabin Arrangement, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.58.47 thru 48 Proposed Dam, August 1938
Sheet
SP.58.49 Sanitary Facilities, May 12, 1959
Sheet
SP.58.50 Proposed Dam, August 1938
Sheet
SP.58.51 Disposal Tank and Sewer Lines, February 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.52 Caretaker's Dwelling, December 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.58.53 Caretaker's Dwelling, December 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.58.54 9th Period Plan, January 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.58.55 Dam Investigation, March 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.58.56 Caretaker's Dwelling, February 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.58.57 Caretaker's Dwelling [Revision], February 6, 1936
[Version of SP.58.56 with a revision in red colored pencil.]
Sheet
SP.58.58 Park Roads, June 18, 1936



 

Lake Abilene State Park, 1933-1948, 1958, undated,
0.46 cubic ft.

Agency History
Abilene State Park (earlier named Lake Abilene State Park) is a 621-acre park in Taylor County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The City of Abilene donated the parkland to the Texas State Parks Board in 1933 for park development. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1823 (Colored, later converted in 1935 to Colored Veterans) was stationed at Lake Abilene from fall 1933 to fall 1934, and June 1935 to fall 1935. CCC-built work includes a concession building, swimming pool, and water tower base. Facilities constructed later include sports fields, a lake house cabin, and a group dining area.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 66 blueprints and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Lake Abilene State Park, including a concession building, a swimming pool, and landscaping details. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1933-1948, 1958.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lake Abilene State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Drawing
SP.26.1 Lake Abilene State Park Master Plan, July 18, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.2 General Plan Lake Abilene, undated
Drawing
SP.26.3 Preliminary Survey of Part of Abilene State Park, December 21, 1933
Drawing
SP.26.4 Tile Lines, Water Lines, July 1, 1933
Drawing
SP.26.5 Storage Facilities, June 25, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.6 Latrines and Toilets, June 28, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.7 Park Road Culvert, October 16, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.8 Guard Rail: Elevation, July 18, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.9 Guard Rail: Plot Plan, June 18, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.10 Swimming Pool Area Guard Rail, June 13, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.11 Sign Markers and Monuments, July 5, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.12 Portals and Cattle Guard, May 24, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.13 Concession Site, January 23, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.14 Concession Building, April 20, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.15 Entrance, April 17, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.16 Entrance Gate, March 1, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.17 Proposed Grilles for Concession Building, undated
Drawing
SP.26.18 Proposed Grilles for Concession Building, August 6, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.18.1 Proposed Grilles for Concession Building, undated
Drawing
SP.26.19 Concession Building: Foundation Plan, January 23, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.20 Concession Building: Floor Plan, February 1934
Drawing
SP.26.21 Concession Building: Elevations, February 1934
Drawing
SP.26.22 Concession Building: Floor Plan, March 4, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.23 Concession Building; Roof Plan, March 1934
Drawing
SP.26.24 Concession Building, March 1934
Drawing
SP.26.25 thru 26 Concession Building, March 1, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.27 Floodlighting, May 10, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.28 Lighting Recommendations, May 16, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.29 General Lighting Plan, May 11, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.30 Construction Details, May 21, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.31 Construction Details, May 1934
Drawing
SP.26.32 Alterations to Present Seat, May 31, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.33 Alterations to Walks, May 31, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.34 Seat, October 17, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.35 Landscape Layout, February 22, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.36 Repair Work State Park, undated
Drawing
SP.26.37 thru 38 Landscaping, July 9, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.39 Planting Plan-Entrance Area, July 9, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.40 Butane System for Manager's House, October 23, 1948
Drawing
SP.26.41 Camping Shelters, 1958
Drawing
SP.26.43 Lighting Recommendations for Bath House, May 8, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.44 Alterations to Walks, May 9, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.45 Camp Stoves and Table and Bench Combo, May 8, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.46 Foot Bridges, July 12, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.47 Stoves, Table and Bench Combinations, July 11, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.48 Alterations to Present Seat, May 16, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.49 Concession Building, March, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.50 Landscape Layout, February 26, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.51 thru 51.1 Concession Building, March 1, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.52 Excavation Plan for Swimming Pool, February 2, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.53 Reinforcing Schedule for Swimming Pool, February 2, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.54 Excavation Plan for Swimming Pool, July 18, 1935
Drawing
SP.26.55 thru 55.1 Proposed Entrance Gate, July 26, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.56 Central Texas Iron Works, October 22, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.57 Tower Stairs and Landing, undated
Drawing
SP.26.58 Sheet B SP-26 Abilene Job, May 23, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.59 Contour Map of Part of Texas State Park Number SP-26-T Abilene, January 23, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.TSA.1 thru 3 Design for Swimming Pool, February 2, 1934
Drawing
SP.26.TSA.4 Plate 3: Abilene State Park, undated



 

Lake Austin Metropolitan Park, 1940-1941,
0.16 cubic ft.

Agency History
Emma Long Metropolitan Park (earlier named City Park and Lake Austin Metropolitan Park) is a 1,142-acre park along Lake Austin in Travis County administered by the City of Austin. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 1805 was deployed to develop the park site for the city from December 1939 to March 1942. The company completed extensive reforestation and soil erosion work, and CCC-built structures include docks, piers, a boathouse, and a concession stand. In 1984, the park was renamed Emma Long Metropolitan Park after a long-time city councilwoman. Facilities constructed later include several sports fields and a large boat dock.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consists of 23 blueprints and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Lake Austin Metropolitan Park, including a sewer system and various lakeside buildings. Dates covered are 1940-1941.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lake Austin Metropolitan Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.3.1 Road Plan and Profile Sheet 1, October 11, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.2 Water Main - for use, February 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.3 Road Plan and Profile Sheet 3, October 11, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.4 Sewer System, August 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.5 Sewer System Plan and Profile, about 1940
Sheet
SP.3.6 thru 8 Sewer System, about 1940
Sheet
SP.3.9 thru 10 Water Main - for use, February 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.11 Swimming Raft, September 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.12 Beach Development/Structural Improvement, April 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.13 Parking and Picnic Area, October 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.14 Exhibit Cases for Big Bend National Park Relief Maps, February 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.15 Park Guard Rails, December 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.16 Park Boat Landing Pier, April 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.17 Preliminary Bath House, March 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.18 Building Elevations, about 1940
Sheet
SP.3.19 Building Plans, about 1940
Sheet
SP.3.20 Preliminary Boat Pavilion and Docks, March 11, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.21 Preliminary Boat Pier and Parking Area, March 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.22 Use Layout Area Plan, March 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.37 Sewer System, about 1940



 

Lakes Bachman and White rock Park, 1940,
0.01 cubic ft.

Agency History
Bachman Lake and White Rock Lake Parks (earlier collectively named Bachman-Whiterock Lake Metropolitan Park) are two parks in Dallas County administered by the City of Dallas. Bachman Lake was created by damming the Bachman Branch of the Trinity River in 1903, and the 1,254-acre White Rock Lake by the damning of White Rock Creek in 1911. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 2896 was assigned to develop facilities at both lakes in August 1935, remaining until March 1942. While the parks at White Rock Lake and Bachman Lake were designated as a joint development by the CCC, they were administered as separate entities by the city from the beginning. Between the two parks, the company completed a sizeable reforestation program and built a shelter house, two combination buildings, three latrines, a lily pond and completed development of the trails, picnic grounds and a campground. In 1943 the government used the barracks at White Rock Lake's Winfrey Point to house German prisoners of war who had served in Rommel's Afrika Corps. Facilities constructed later at Bachman Lake include 5-kilometer hike and bike trail, picnic areas, a pavilion, boating, Bachman Recreation Center and an indoor aquatic center. Facilities constructed later at White Rock Lake Park include the White Rock Lake Museum, the Bath House Cultural Center, and the Dallas Arboretum.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of one drawing of a design for a recreation building intended for municipal parks at Lake Bachman and White Rock lake. Date covered is 1940. Additional drawings solely assigned to the park at White Rock Lake can be found in the series Lake Whiterock State Park.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lakes Bachman and Whiterock Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.3.24 Preliminary Recreation Building, December 9, 1940



 

Lake Brownwood State Park, 1934-1948, undated,
1.66 cubic ft.

Agency History
Lake Brownwood State Park (also known as Brownwood State Park (1934-1935) and Thirty-Sixth Division State Park (1944-1950s)) is a 538-acre park in Brown County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The 7,300-acre Lake Brownwood was created by the construction of floodgates on Pecan Bayou, a branch of the Colorado River, in 1933. The site was designated for park development in the following year. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 872 worked on the site from November 1934 to October 1935, and Company 849 did the same from October 1936 to February 1942. The park itself was opened to the public in 1938. CCC-built work at Lake Brownwood is considered exemplary of park development and includes a native stone refectory, 16 stone cabins, a boat dock stairway with shelter overlook, a "fisherman's lodge," two residences, and a portal ensemble.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 237 blueprints, maps and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Lake Brownwood State Park, including a series of truck trails, a parking area, kitchen and dining unit, a water supply system, power lines, cabins, a concession building, a bath house, and park furniture. Also included is a 13-page typewritten report entitled "Specifications for Established Summer Camp for Heart of Texas Girl Scout Area Council, Inc.," which outlines construction specifications for proposed Girl Scout summer camp facilities. Dates covered are 1934-1948, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lake Brownwood State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.36.1 Preliminary Recreation Building, December 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.2 Base Map, June 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.2.1 Site Map, 1934-1941
Sheet
SP.36.3 Entrance, January 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.3.1 Base Map, January 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.4 Contour Map, undated
Sheet
SP.36.4.1 Park Fences, April 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.5 Park Fences, April 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.5.1 General Development Plan, January 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.6 Utilities Plan, January 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.6.1 Cabin Area Truck Trails, September 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.7 Cabin Area Truck Trails, June 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.8 Cabin Area Truck Trails, June 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.9 Truck Trails Extension No. 4, October 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.10 Truck Trails Extension No. 4, October 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.11 Road Obliteration Plan, July 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.12 Layout of Road From Park Entrance to Club House, July 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.13 thru 14 Truck Trails Extension No. 3, July 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.15 Truck Trails Extension No. 2, August 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.16 thru 17 Truck Trails Extension No. 2, June 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.18.1 Truck Trails Extension No. 1, May 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.19 Truck Trails Extension No. 1, July 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.20 Truck Trails Revision, November 16, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.21 Truck Trails, August 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.22 Truck Trails, August 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.23 Parking Area - Field Changes, July 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.24 Plan of Parking Area, August 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.25 Parking Area, September 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.26 Parking Area, November 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.27 Parking Area, December 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.28 Revision of Bath House Parking Area, March 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.29 Foot Trails, August 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.30 Walks, Concrete for Combination Building, April 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.31 United States Army Recreation Area, September 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.32 Camp Layout Plan, March 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.33 Recreational Office and Storage Tent Frames, November 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.34 Screened Pyramidal Walled Tent Frames, October 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.35 Tent Floors, September 8, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.36 Foot Trails, November 18, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.37 Walks, October 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.38 Boat Docks, February 7, 1942
Sheet
SP.36.39 Lake Brownwood Boats, March 6, 1942
Sheet
SP.36.40 Bath House, January 21, 1942
Sheet
SP.36.41 Pit Latrines, January 5, 1942
Sheet
SP.36.42 Layout Plan for Assembly Area, August 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.43 Layout Plan for Assembly Area, April 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.44 Parking Area, Tent Pitching Area, and Foot Trails for Assembly Area, September 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.45 Parking Area, Tent Pitching Area, and Foot Trails for Assembly Area, 1934-1941
Sheet
SP.36.46 Kitchen and Dining Unit Additions, November 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.47 Kitchen and Dining Unit Addition, July 24, 1941; August 1, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.48 thru 49 Kitchen and Dining Unit for Assembly Area, August 31, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.50 Distribution Lines and Water Storage Layout No. 1, May 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.51 Water Purification Systems and Pumping Plants, May 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.52 Water Supply System (Concrete Storage Tank), May 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.53 Water Supply System, September 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.54 Water Supply System (Retaining Walls), September 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.55 Water Supply System, September 10, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.56 Water Line for Fisherman's Barracks Area, December 18, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.57 Water Supply, April 7, 1937; April 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.58 Parking Area Lighting, April 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.59 Power Lines, October 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.60 Power Lines, November 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.61 Power Lines, November 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.62 Power Lines, April 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.63 Power Lines, October 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.64 Plot Plan Concessionaire's Group, September 10, 1945
Sheet
SP.36.65 Cabin No. 15, June 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.66 Sewer System for North Area of Park (1 of 3), December 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.67 Fisherman's Barracks, April 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.68 Sewerage System for North Area of Park (3 of 3), December 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.69 Grease Rack, March 21, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.70 thru 71 Signs for Texas State Parks Board, March 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.72 Signs and Markers: Plan of Location, October 7, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.73 Signs and Markers: Details, October 7, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.74 thru 75 Floating Boat House and Dock, June 26, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.76 thru 77 Boat Dock Jetty, July 30, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.78 Combination Building Terrace Addition, April 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.79 Combination Building Addition (Terrace Plan), April 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.80 Remodeling of Combination Building (Door Change), January 31, 1938; February 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.81 Remodeling of Combination Building, December 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.82 Remodeling of Combination Building, August 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.83 Remodeling of Combination Building, September 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.84 Remodeling of Combination Building, August 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.85 thru 87 Remodeling of Combination Building, October 11, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.88 Cook's Quarters for Combination Building, October 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.89 Overnight Cabin No. 17, March 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.90 Overnight Cabin No. 17, March 25, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.91 Overnight Cabin No. 16, July 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.92 Overnight Cabin No. 16, July 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.93 Overnight Cabin No. 15, March 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.94 Overnight Cabin No. 13, February 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.95 Overnight Cabin No. 15, February 2, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.96 Overnight Cabin No. 15, February 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.97 Cabin No. 14 Remodeling, December 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.98 Cabin No. 13 Remodeling, January 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.99 Cabin No. 12 Remodeling, January 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.100 Cabin No. 11 Remodeling, December 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.101 Cabin No. 10 Remodeling Door Change, November 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.102 Cabin No. 10 Remodeling, September 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.103 Cabin No. 9 Remodeling, December 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.104 Cabin No. 8 Remodeling, December 6, 1937; December 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.105 Cabin No. 7 Remodeling, November 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.106 Remodeling of Cabins, April 5, 1937; May 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.107 thru 108 Remodeling of Cabins, April 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.109 Bath House Revision Sheet, April 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.110 thru 111 Plot Plan of Bath House, March 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.112 Bath House (1 of 5), March 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.113 Floor Plan Bath House, March 33, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.114 Bath House (Mechanical Plan), March 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.115 thru 116 Bath House, March 20, 1937; March 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.117 Concessionaire's Residence and Garage, March 21, 1941; May 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.118 Concessionaire's Residence and Garage, March 21, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.119 Plot Plan: Concessionaire's Group, January 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.120 Custodian's Group, about 1941
Sheet
SP.36.121 Service Facilities for Game Warden's Cottage, September 1, 1938; September 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.122 Cottage for Game Warden (1 of 2), May 28, 1939; July 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.123 Cottage for Game Warden (2 of 2), May 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.124 Fisherman's Barracks No.1 (1 of 2), June 30, 1938; July 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.125 Fisherman's Barracks No. 1 (2 of 2), June 30, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.126 Guest Cottage (1 of 3), February 11, 1938; March 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.127 Guest Cottage (1 of 3); February 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.128 Guest Cottage (3 of 3), February 8, 1938; March 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.129 Store Building, March 26, 1941; June 9, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.130 Woodworking Shop, January 22, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.131 Garage, October 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.132 Facilitating Buildings, September 15, 1937; September 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.133 Tool and Material Storage Room, March 14, 1937; June 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.134 Latrines, October 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.135 Planting Plan - Caretaker's House, February 10, 1943
Sheet
SP.36.136 thru 137 Sodding, Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, October 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.138 Beach Improvement, August 29, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.139 Eradication of Poison Ivy, July 3, 1941; July 10, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.140 Landscaping Boat Docks and Parking Area, November 7, 1940; November 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.141 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, September 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.142 Soil Preparation, March 19, 1940; May 10, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.143 thru 144 Moving and Planting Tress and Shrubs, January 30, 1940; February 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.145 Landscaping, Undifferentiated, July 1, 1938; July 12, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.146 Landscape Plan for Bath House, October 19, 1937; November 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.147 Beach Improvement (2 of 2), January 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.148 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building (1 of 7), October 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.149 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building (2 of 7), October 8, 1938; December 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.150 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building: Bed, October 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.151 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building: Chest of Night Drawers, Table, and Chiffonier, October 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.152 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building: Chair, August 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.153 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building (7 of 7), October 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.154 Bookcase for State Parks Board, November 20, 1939; November 27, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.155 Table and Bench Combinations, March 18, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.156 Outdoor Chairs and Settees for Cabins, September 21, 1938; September 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.157 Furniture: Lounge Chair and Settee, October 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.158 Furniture: Dining Table, October 15, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.159 Furniture: Work Bench, October 15, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.160 Furniture: Bed, 7 Bed Posts, October 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.161 Furniture: Side Chair, Type "A" and "B," October 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.162 Furniture: Night Stand, Dresser, Shelf and Towel Rack, October 15, 1940; November 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.163 Furniture: Vanity Set With Bench, October 16, 1940; November 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.164 Furniture: Chair, Type "C" "D" and "E," October 16, 1940; November 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.165 Furniture for Combination Building: Small and Large Tables, Settees and Chairs, March 15, 1938; December 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.166 Furniture for Combination Building Addition: Terrace and Tables, June 19, 1941; July 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.167 Furniture for Combination Building Addition: Chairs and Dining Tables, June 6, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.168 Furniture for Office and Recreation Tent, December 8, 1941; December 11, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.169 Furniture for Cabin No. 15, August 1, 1939; August 8, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.170 Cabin Furniture: Chair and Table (2 of 2), July 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.171 thru 172 Furniture for Fisherman's Barracks No. 1: Indoor, April 19, 1939; May 8, 1939
Sheet
SP.36.173 Play Ground Equipment: Indoor and Adult Swing Sets, April 8, 1941; April 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.174 Play Ground Equipment: Slide and Seesaw, April 8, 1941; April 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.175 Master Plan, August 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.176 Development Plan, August 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.177 General Plan, May 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.178 Stair and Pier, April 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.179 Floating Boat Dock, August 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.180 Movable Boat Landing, May 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.181 Lookout House, April 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.182 Pump House, May 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.183 Pump and Pump House, April 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.184 Water Supply System, April 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.185 Water Supply System, May 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.186 Cabin No. 1, undated
Sheet
SP.36.187 Cabin No. 2, January 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.188 Cabin No. 9, July 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.189 Cabin No. 10, undated
Sheet
SP.36.190 Cabin No. 11, undated
Sheet
SP.36.191 Cabin No. 13, August 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.192 Cabin No. 14, August 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.193 thru 194 Cabins, May 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.195 Latrine, April 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.196 Guard Rail, May 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.197 Fireplaces, Benches, Tables, April 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.198 Signs and Markers: Elevations and Life Buoy, June 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.199 Cabin Furniture: Bed and Clothes Cabinet (1 of 2), July 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.200 Preliminary Design Water Supply System, April 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.201 Remodeling of Combination Building, August 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.202 Floor Plan Bath House, November 24, 1948
Sheet
SP.36.203 Furniture for Mother Neff State Park Concession Building: Chair (6 of 7), August 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.36.204 Furniture, March 21, 1941; April 14, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.205, 205.1 thru 13 Specifications for Established Summer Camp for Heart of Texas Girl Scout Area Council, Inc., 1934-1941
[Typewritten report on blueprint outlining construction specifications for Girl Scout summer camp facilities.]
Sheet
SP.36.206 Kitchen and Dining Unit for Assembly Area, June 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.207 Disposal Tank (2 of 2), January 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.208 Kitchen and Dining Unit for Assembly Area, July 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.209 Camp Layout Plan, March 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.36.210 Planting Plan Caretaker's House, February 10, 1943
[ Filed with hand written note, red pencil on lined tablet paper. Note explains red circles on blueprint SP.36.210.]
Sheet
SP.36.211 Planting Notes, March 20, 1943
Sheet
SP.36.212 Plot Plan of Beach Improvement (1 of 2), February 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.213 Planting Plan, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.36.214 Annual Lease Cottage (Sheet 2), August 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.36.215 Remodeling of Combination Building, undated
Sheet
SP.36.TSA.1 thru 2 Furniture, November 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.36.TSA.3 Plot, January 15, 1940



 

Lake Corpus Christi State Park, 1934-1945, 1952, undated,
0.64 cubic ft.

Agency History
Lake Corpus Christi State Park is a 365-acre park in San Patricio County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Originally named Lake Lovenskiold, the lake was created by the damming of the Nueces River in 1929, and renamed Lake Corpus Christi in 1935. The original park site was leased in 1934 from the City of Corpus Christi for 99 years. The park was opened to the public in 1934. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 886 was stationed at the park in April 1934, remaining there until October 1936. CCC-built work at Lake Corpus Christi includes a stone concession building, a dance terrace, the road system and bridges, two boathouses, and a bathhouse. The completion of a new dam in 1958 made Lake Corpus Christi one of the largest artificial bodies of water in Texas, with over 21,000 acres of surface area. Facilities constructed later include screened shelters and two group pavilions.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 92 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Lake Corpus Christi State Park, including road and pipe culverts, a water tower, a refectory, and a boat house. Dates covered are 1934-1945, 1952, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lake Corpus Christi State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.32.1, 1.1 thru 2 Master Plan, April 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.2 Jones Tract, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.3 Park Sign, October 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.32.4 Entrance, July 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.5 Pergola, July 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.6 Fence, January 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.7, 7.1 Sketch Showing Existing Roads, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.8 Plan and Profile of West Entrance and Detail of 125' concrete Dip, May 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.8.1 Plan and Profile of West Entrance and Detail of 125' concrete Dip, May 23, 1935
[Blueprint version of SP.32.8.]
Sheet
SP.32.9 thru 10 Wooden Trestle, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.11 Road and Pipe Culvert, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.12 Road and Culvert, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.13 thru 14 Road and Pipe Culvert, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.15 Pipe Culvert, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.16 Concrete Box Culvert Flow Line, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.17 Pipeline Profile, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.18 Park Roads, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.19 Plan for Wooden Cattle Guard, March 13, 1945
Sheet
SP.32.20 18" Pipe Culvert, October 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.21 2'6" X 3'6" Box Culvert, July 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.22 Roadway Dip, December 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.23 Standard Bridges, September 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.24 Skew Bridge, September 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.25 Foot and Horse Bridges, February 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.26 Guard Rails, July 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.32.27 Disposal Tank, October 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.32.28 Other Waste Disposal - not in Building - Garbage Pits and Camp Stoves (Barbeque Pit), September 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.29 Waste Disposal, July 30, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.30 Log of Well, January 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.32.31 Water Supply System (Pipelines), June 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.32 Well House, May 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.33 Water Storage Facilities, August 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.32.34, 34.1 Public Campground Water System Piping Layout, February 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.35 Water Storage Tank, December 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.36 Changes in Refectory to Provide for A Storage Water Tank, October 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.37 thru 38 Water Tower, August 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.39 Water Tower, August 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.40 thru 44, 40.1 thru 44.1 Refectory, June 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.45 Caliche Stone Pattern, undated
Sheet
SP.32.46 Alterations on Refectory Building, July 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.47 Overlook for Refectory Building Area, April 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.48 Detail of Overlook for Refectory Building Area, April 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.49 Pergola, September 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.50 Refectory Building Area, September 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.51 Boat Landing, August 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.32.52 Boat House Development, November 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.53 thru 55 Boat House, August 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.56 Caretaker's House and Service Group, April 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.57 thru 59 Dwelling - Caretakers Lodge, September 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.60 Camp Cottage, September 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.61 Camp Cottage, September 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.62 Office and Tool Room, Garage, Blacksmith Shop, May 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.62.1 Office and Tool Room, Garage, Blacksmith Shop, May 8, 1934
[Blueprint version of SP.32.62.]
Sheet
SP.32.63 Latrine, September 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.32.64 Latrines, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.65 New Latrine Layout, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.66 Proposed Museum Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.67 Landscape Arrangement for Refectory Building Area, April 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.68 Small Earthen Dam, April 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.69 Camp Stoves and Tables and Benches, April 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.32.69.1 Camp Stoves and Tables and Benches, April 10, 1935
[Blueprint version of SP.32.69.]
Sheet
SP.32.70 Park Sign, October 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.32.71 General Plan, August 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.72 thru 73 Millwork Details for Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.74 Markers for Camp Locations, December 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.75 Septic Tank and Disposal Field, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.76 Lake Corpus Christi, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.32.77 Typical Roadway Sections and Pipe Culvert, December 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.78 Foot Bridge, May 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.78.1 Plan of Pontoon Foot Bridge, May 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.32.79 Latrine and Shower, July 8, 1952
Sheet
SP.32.80 Equipment and Supply Storage, Dwelling, Well and Pump House, Disposal Tank, Sewer Line, 1934-1945



 

Lake Whiterock Park, 1933-1940,
0.06 cubic ft.

Agency History
White Rock Lake Park is a park in Dallas County administered by the City of Dallas. The 1,254-acre White Rock Lake was created by the damming of White Rock Creek, a branch of the Trinity River, in 1911. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 2896 was assigned to develop facilities at the lakes in concert with Bachman Lake in August 1935, remaining until March 1942. While the parks at White Rock Lake and Bachman Lake were designated as a joint development by the CCC, they were administered as separate entities from the beginning. Between the two parks, the company completed a sizeable reforestation program, and built a shelter house, two combination buildings, three latrines, a lily pond and the development of the trails, picnic grounds and a campground. In 1943 the government used the barracks at White Rock Lake's Winfrey Point to house German prisoners of war who had served in Rommel's Afrika Corps. Facilities constructed later include the White Rock Lake Museum, the Bath House Cultural Center, and the Dallas Arboretum.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of nine blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Lake Whiterock Park, including a concession building. Dates covered are 1933-1940. An additional drawing assigned to a dual development at Lake Bachman and White Rock Lake can be found in the series Lakes Bachman and Whiterock State Park.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lake Whiterock Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.3.25 Entrance Door to Recreation Building, December 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.26 Topographical Map of Winfrey Hill, July 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.3.27 Proposed Landscape Development of Winfrey Point, August 1940
Sheet
SP.3.28 thru 31 Concession Building at Stephenville, February 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.3.32 Plans and Sections of Tank, Stephenville, September 18, 1933
Sheet
SP.3.36 Reservation. Eagle Pass, June 9, 1936



 

Lockhart State Park, 1934-1949,
1 cubic ft.

Agency History
Lockhart State Park is a 265-acre park in Caldwell County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The original site was purchased by the Texas State Parks Board by the City of Lockhart in 1933. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3803 was stationed at Lockhart from Henry Masur in December 1934. CCC-built work includes a native stone keeper's residence and maintenance compound, refectory, swimming pool, roads and drainage system. The park was leased to a local country club until 1948 and then opened to the public as a state park. Facilities constructed later include a group recreation hall, a rodeo arena, and a nine-hole golf course.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 143 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Lockhart State Park, including storage facilities, wells, a combination building, a bath house, tree planting, and site furniture. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1949.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Lockhart State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.51.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.1a General Development Plan, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.2 Base Map, October 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.2a Master Plan, August 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.3 Master Plan, July 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.3a Development Plan, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.4 Lockhart State Park, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.4a Development Plan, August 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.5 Drainage Area for Clear Fork Creek, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.5a Utilities Plan, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.6 thru 7 Revision Swimming Pool, August 1944
Sheet
SP.51.8 thru 9 Improvements, April 1944
Sheet
SP.51.10 Lockhart Reservoir, September 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.11 thru 12 Reservoir, November 31, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.13 Reservoir, March 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.14 Master Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.15 Master Plan, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.16 thru 17 Cattle Guard, October 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.18 Cattle Guard, May 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.19 Cattle Guard, October 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.20 Fence, August 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.21 Park Road, March 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.22 Roads and Culverts, January 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.23 Roads (Field Change - Alignment), July 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.24 Roads, May 19, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.25 Plan and Profile of Road Location, December 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.26 Roads and Culverts, August 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.27 Rip-Rap or Paving (Park Road Gutters), May 4, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.28 Bridges, August 27, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.29 Bridges, August 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.30 Low Water Crossing, July 21, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.31 Bridge - Field Change, May 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.32 Low Water Crossing, May 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.33 Arch Bridge, August 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.34 Guard Rails, September 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.35 Guard Rails, May 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.36 Master November 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.37 Parking Area Pool Area, September 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.38 Recreational Parking Area, May 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.39 Parking Areas, January 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.40 Telephone Lines, February 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.41 Bath House Sewage Disposal, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.42 Pipe and Tile Lines, November 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.43 Pipe and Tile Lines, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.44 Pipe and Tile Lines, November 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.45 thru 46 Pipe and Tile Line, November 27, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.47 Sewer Lines, March 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.48 Disposal System, March 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.49 Septic Tank and Disposal Field, April 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.50 Sewer Lines (Other), October 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.51 Power Line (Bath House), July 1939
Sheet
SP.51.52 Pump House Power Line, March 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.53 Power Lines, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.54 Power Lines, May 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.55 Storage Facilities, February 18, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.56 Storage Facilities, February 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.57 Storage Facilities, February 12, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.58 Wells, Including Pumps and Pump Houses, October 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.59 Wells, Including Pump, March 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.60 Well, November 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.61 Combination Building, November 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.62 Plot Plan for Combination Building, January 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.63 Combination Building, December 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.64 Combination Building, December 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.65 thru 67 Combination Building, December 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.68 Extension to Combination Building, August 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.69 Terrace and Service Yard, May 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.70 Terrace and Service Yard, May 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.71 Terrace and Service Yard, May 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.72 Door and Window Schedule, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.73 Bath House, January 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.74 Bath House, January 6, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.75 thru 77 Bath House, January 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.78 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing of pencil and colored pencil on paper showing bath house mechanical plan. ]
Sheet
SP.51.79 thru 83 Keeper's House, October 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.84 Stone Walls Adjacent to Keeper's House and Service Building, May 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.85 Picnic Ground Development, January 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.86 Latrines, January 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.87 thru 88 Equipment Supply and Storage, January 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.89 Storage Facilities for Keeper's House and Service Group, June 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.90 thru 91 Equipment and Supply Storage House and Service Group, August 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.92 Stream and Lake Bank Protection, July 1939
Sheet
SP.51.93 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, January 26, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.94 Seeding and Sodding (Bath House and Softball Diamond), February 4, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.95 thru 96 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs (Golf Course), March 2, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.97 Furniture, January 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.98 Furniture for Lockhart State Park, January 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.99 Moving and Planting of Trees and Shrubs, April 15, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.100 thru 101 Walks and Stone Walls, November 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.102 Tree Preservation, December 1938
Sheet
SP.51.103 Moving and Planting of Trees and Shrubs, October 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.104 Recreational Area, July 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.105 Vista and Selective Cutting, April 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.106 Walks and Grading, August 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.107 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, October 19, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.108 Lake or Pond Site Clearing, October 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.109 Tree Surgery, October 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.110 Base Map, December 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.111 Table and Bench Combination, May 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.112 Fireplaces, December 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.113 Fireplaces, November 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.114 Septic Tank and Dosing Chamber, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.115 Signs and Markers, August 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.116 Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.117 Combination Building, September 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.118 Utility Map, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.119 Base Map, June 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.120 Narrative Report to Accompany Master Plans for Lockhart State Park, 1934-1945
[Typewritten paper showing narrative report to accompany master plans for Lockhart State Park, including general information, land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas and public utilities.]
Sheet
SP.51.121 Beach Improvements, December 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.122 Sand Filter Additions, April 6, 1949
Sheet
SP.51.123 Low-Water Crossing, June 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.124 Combination Building, November 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.51.125 Incinerator, August 26, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.126 General Plan, July 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.127 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing a building, including north elevation on end of bedroom no. 1, north elevation of shop wing, and east, west, and south elevations.]
Sheet
SP.51.128 Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.129 Roads and Culverts, August 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.130 Stone Bridge, September 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.51.131 Parking Areas, January 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.51.132 Front Elevation, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.51.133 Furniture, January 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.134 Furniture, January 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.135 Furniture, October 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.136 Furniture, January 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.51.137 Furniture, October 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.51.TSA.1 Beach Improvements, December 17, 1938



 

Longhorn Cavern State Park, 1934-1945,
1.48 cubic ft.

Agency History
Longhorn Cavern State Park is a 639-acre park in Burnet County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD) in cooperation with a contract concessionaire. The park site was purchased by the Texas State Parks Board in 1932 via a promissory note that would be repaid with visitor fees. Then known as "Sherrard's Cave," the cavern was used as a dance hall and concert venue during the 1920s. The park was given its current name in November 1932. In May 1934, the Parks Board brought Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 854 to Longhorn Cavern for further development; the company remained at work until October 1940. The park was opened to the public in 1938. In addition to the excavation of 2.5 tons of debris from the cavern, CCC-built work includes cave lighting, entry portals, drainage structures, a refectory, a water tower, and a shelter. The cavern was designated a U.S. National Natural Landmark in 1971. The contract concessionaire offers a number of cavern tours to visitors. Facilities constructed later include an on-site café.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 211 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Longhorn Cavern State Park, including a cavern entrance, truck trails, roads, bridges, an administration building, and custodian's building. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1945.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Longhorn Cavern State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.35.1 Burnet County Right of Way Map of Parkway From Longhorn Cavern State Park to State Highway No. 66, October 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.1.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.2 Base Map, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.2.1 Plan of Longhorn, December 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.3 Master Plan, July 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.3.1 Cavern Base Map, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.4 Longhorn Cavern, Inks and Buchanan Lake Region, November 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.5 Map of Drainage Areas, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.5.1 Cavern Base Map, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.6 Park Road Base Map, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.6.1 Cavern Entrance Area, September 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.7 Layout Plan, August 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.7.1 Cavern Entrance, December 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.8 Cavern Entrance, December 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.9 Cavern Entrance, January 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.9.1 General Development Plan (Parkway Road Plat), December 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.10 Roads Plan, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.10.1 General Development Plan, November 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.11 Utility Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.11.1 Miscellaneous Cavern Entrance - Flagstone, July 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.11.2 Cavern Trip - Two Miles, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.12 Foot Trails, November 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.13 Foot Trails, July 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.14 Cavern Clean-up, March 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.15 Capping Air Shaft, March 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.16 Capping Air Shaft, November 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.17 Capping Cavern Opening, April 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.18 Dirt Pit Obliteration, April 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.19 Entrance Portals, May 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.20 Suggested Treatments of Main Entrance Portal at Highway 66, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.21 Parkway Fence, February 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.22 Fences, March 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.23 Road Improvement, March 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.24 thru 26 Truck Trails, January 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.27 Trail Obliteration, November 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.28 thru 30 Truck Trails, February 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.31 Truck Trails, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.32 thru 33 Truck Trails, August 9, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.34 Truck Trails, April 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.35 Park Roads, March 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.36 Road Slopes, March 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.37 Road Slope, January 8, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.38 Park Road, March 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.39 Plat of Proposed Parkway, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.40 Cross Sections Showing Over Flow of Drainage Structures, July 11, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.41 Truck Trails to State Highway No. 66, November 9, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.42 Vehicle Bridge, February 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.43 Vehicle Bridge, March 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.44 Stone Walls, September 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.45 Vehicle Bridge, April 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.46 Vehicle Bridge, December 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.47 Parking Overlook, January 25, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.48 Parking Areas, November 7, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.49 Parking Area, December 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.50 Signs and Markers, February 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.51 Guard Rails, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.52 Cattle Guards, February 18, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.53 Electrical Plan, September 8, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.54 Power Line to Custodian's Dwelling, October 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.55 Power Lines, May 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.56 thru 63 Profile and Plan of Record, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.64 Combination Building Alterations - Additions, July 8, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.65 Combination Building Alterations, April 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.66 Stone Walls for Administration Building, May 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.67 Stone Walls, October 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.68 Mill Work for Administration Building, June 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.69 Administration Building, October 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.70 Administration Building, November 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.71 thru 72 Administration Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.73 Fireplaces in Administration Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.74 thru 76 Refectory, April 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.77 Refectory, April 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.78 Refectory, April 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.79 Lamp and Bracket for Water Tower, June 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.80 Custodian's Dwelling, July 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.81 Custodian's Dwelling, July 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.82 Custodian's Dwelling, August 3, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.83 Garage - Custodian's Dwelling, November 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.84 Layout Plan for Technical Service Group, May 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.85 Work Shop, June 25, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.86 Garage, January 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.87 Switchboard House, February 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.88 Seeding (Bluebonnets), April 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.89 Sodding, August 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.90 Landscape Development, August 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.91 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, November 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.92 Stone Walls -- Cavern Entrance, March 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.93 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, January 30, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.94 Selective Cutting, April 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.95 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, January 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.96 Terracing, October 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.97 Planting and Seeding, October 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.98 Fire Zones, September 11, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.99 Fire Hazard Reduction, February 19, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.100 County Road Row - Hoovers Valley Road - From Parkway To Lower Colorado River Authority Property, November 16, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.101 Tree With Road and Rocks, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.102 thru 103 Water Tower, March 28, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.103. Map of The Cavern, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.104 thru 111 Plan and Profile of Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.112 Proposed County Row From Parkway to C.R.A. Property, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.113 Profile and Plan of Culverts, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.114 Topographical Map of Park, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.115 Park Road and Location and Names of Signs Along It, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.116 Caretakers Residence, December 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.117 Lamp and Bracket for Water Tower, May 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.118 Cabin "B," June 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.119 Full Size Details of Wrought Iron Lamps for Longhorn Cavern, May 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.120 Wrought Iron Lamps for Job No. 129, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.121 Double Cabin, June 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.122 Custodian's Cottage, March 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.123 Table and Bench Combination, May 31, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.124 Fireplaces, June 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.125 Detail of Pre-cast Concrete Grill, August 9, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.126 Vehicle Bridge, September 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.127 Vehicle Bridge, December 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.128 Caretakers Dwelling, June 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.129 Power Lines (Cavern Lighting), October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.130 Foot Trails (Cavern), October 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.131 Earth Excavations, October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.132 Plan Showing General Cavern Development and Cavern Trip Features, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.133 Vehicle Bridge, December 6, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.134 Vehicle Bridge, September 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.135 Cavern Foot Trails, September 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.136 Parks Roads, October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.137 Proposed Road to Highway No. 66, June 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.138 Proposed Road to Highway No. 66, September 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.139 thru 140 Profile of Cavern, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.141 Spring Tunnel Profile, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.142 Profile of Lake Tunnel, June 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.143 Profile of Lake Tunnel from Shaft to Drain, December 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.144 Profile of Cavern Near Big Room, June 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.145 Sewer Line Profile - Administration Building, July 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.146 Profile of Levee, April 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.147 Profile of Levee Ditch, April 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.148 Profile of Sam Bass, July 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.149 Treatment of Chimney and End Windows, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.150 Tool House, May 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.151 Public Camp Ground Waste Disposal, December 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.152 Longhorn Cavern, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.153 Cabin "A," June 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.154 Narrative Report to Accompany Master Plans, 1934-1945
[Untitled typewritten report showing narrative to accompany master plans, including general information, land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, and public utilities. ]
Sheet
SP.35.154. A Text to Accompany the Block Diagram of Longhorn Cavern, 1934-1945
[Untitled typewritten report showing a text to accompany the block diagram of Longhorn Cavern.]
Sheet
SP.35.155 R.O.W. Clearing on Park Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.156 Truck Trails, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.157 Table and Bench Combo, October 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.158 Selective Cutting, October 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.159 Longhorn Cavern S.P. 35, July 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.160 Proposed Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.161 Truck Trails, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.162 Water Tower, July 15, 1938
Sheet
SP.35.163 Letter to Camp Superintendents, November 25, 1935
[Mimeographed correspondence with black ink on paper showing letter to camp superintendents. The subject was a park structures book.]
Sheet
SP.35.164 Concrete Box Culvert, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.165 Water Lines (Main Park System), October 30, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.166 Cabin C, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.167 Septic Tank Custodian's Dwelling, November 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.168 Parkway Fence, February 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.169 Administration Building, June 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.170 Base Map, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.171 Proposed Changes Administration Building Loop, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.172 Fireplaces, January 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.173 Truck Trails, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.174 Sewer Line, May 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.175 Table and Bench Combo, January 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.176 Foot Trails, November 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.177 Details Park Entrance Portals at Highway No. 66, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.178 Foot Trails, March 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.179 Open Air Pavilion, November 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.180 Ninth Period Plan, January 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.181 Park Roads, September 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.182 thru 184 Administration Building, February 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.35.185 Layout Plan, November 4, 1940
Sheet
SP.35.186 Master Plan, December 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.35.187 Master Plan, November 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.35.188 Development Plan, August 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.35.189 Plan Showing General Cavern Development and Cavern Trip Features, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.190 Cottages, June 30, 1932
Sheet
SP.35.191 Cottages, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.192 Water Distribution System for Administration Building, December 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.35.193 thru 198 7.2 kilovolt extension to serve Longhorn Cavern, 1934-1945
[Series of electrical engineering blueprints created by Texas Power and Light.]
Sheet
SP.35.198. Cavern Trip, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.35.199 Parking Areas, November 7, 1939



 

Mackenzie State Park, 1935-1957, undated,
1.58 cubic ft.

Agency History
Mackenzie Park (formerly Mackenzie State Park) is a 248-acre park in Lubbock County administered by the City of Lubbock. The Texas State Parks Board received the donation of land in 1935, though left day-to-day operations was assigned to the City via long-term contract. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 3820 (Veterans) encamped at Mackenzie in July 1935, and remained there until the fall of 1941. CCC-built work includes entrance portals on US 87, roads, bridges, a refectory, and a large concrete swimming pool, which is now closed. TPWD leased the park to the City until 1993, when it exchanged Mackenzie with the City of Lubbock for property at Lubbock Lake Landmark State Historical Park. Facilities constructed later include a privately-run amusement park, disc golf course, prairie dog colony, and sculpture garden.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 225 blueprints, maps, charts, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Mackenzie State Park, including roads, channels, parking areas, pipelines, a combination building, bath house, tree and plant landscaping, and a sewage system. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park. Dates covered are 1935-1957, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Mackenzie State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.52.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, undated
Sheet
SP.52.1a General Development Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.2 Base Map, July 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.3 Utilities Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.3a Development Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.4 Master Plan, July 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.4a Base Map, January 11, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.5 Base Map, October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.5a Excavating Channels, October 29, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.6 Excavating Channels, October 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.6a Utilities Plan, October 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.7 thru 8 Excavating Channels, undated
Sheet
SP.52.9 Fine Grading, October 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.10 Obliteration Roads, April 7, 1941
Sheet
SP.52.11 Razing Undesirable Structures, January 18, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.12 Razing Undesirable Structures, November 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.13 Razing Undesirable Structures - Location Plan, August 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.14 Road Obliteration, April 16, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.15 Roads - Plan, February 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.16 Park Roads, January 29, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.17 Park Roads, June 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.18 thru 19 Park Roads, December 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.20 Master, undated
Sheet
SP.52.21 Plot Plan, October 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.22 thru 26 Park Roads, October 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.27 Low Water Crossing, October 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.28 Plot Plan, April 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.29 thru 30 Park Roads, April 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.31 Typical Sections, April 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.32 Low Water Crossing, April 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.33 Park Roads, November 21, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.34 Park Roads, November 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.35 Park Roads, undated
Sheet
SP.52.36 Low Water Crossing, December 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.37 Low Water Crossing, September 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.38 Preliminary Drawing of Main Entrance, April 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.39 thru 40 Main Entrance Portal, May 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.41 Keeper's (Cottage) and Foot Portal, September 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.42 Minor Portal, September 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.43 Preliminary Fencing Project, January 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.52.44 Fencing, April 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.45 Fences, March 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.46 Fences, April 2, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.47 Service Yard Fencing, July 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.48 Foot Bridges, September 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.49 Foot Bridges, August 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.50 Foot Trails, November 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.51 Walks and Curbs, January 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.52 Foot Bridge, September 27, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.53 Foot Bridge, July 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.54 Foot Trails, October 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.55 Foot Bridge, October 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.56 Walks Around Wading Pool, December 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.57 Parking Areas, December 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.58 Parking Areas, November 22, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.59 Parking Areas, May 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.60 Parking Areas, February 17, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.61 Parking Area Profiles, February 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.62 Parking Areas, August 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.63 Parking Area, October 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.64 Parking Area, October 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.65 Guard Rails, September 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.66 Guard Rails, April 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.67 Guard Rail, June 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.68 Layout Plan, November 9, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.69 Playground Area, December 4, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.70 Playground Area, December 11, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.71 Drinking Fountains, August 8, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.72 Power Line, November 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.73 Gas Line, May 21, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.74 Water Supply System, December 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.75 Water Line and Fence to Prairie Dog Town, January 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.52.76 Pipeline, April 19, 1941
Sheet
SP.52.77 Pipelines, August 28, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.78 Pipelines, June 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.79 Pipelines, August 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.80 Pipelines, October 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.80a Pipelines, August 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.81 Pipelines, November 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.82 Pipelines, August 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.83 Pipelines, August 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.84 Pipelines - Location Plan, July 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.85 Pipelines, July 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.86 Pipelines, September 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.87 Well and Tank, September 12, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.88 Stilling Well and Shelter, January 23, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.89 thru 90 Water Project Data Sheet, undated
Sheet
SP.52.91 Fire Control Plan, August 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.92 thru 93 Sewage Disposal, November 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.94 Sewage Disposal, August 27, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.95 Latrine, August 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.96 Sewage Disposal System, April 29, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.97 Septic Tank and Disposal Field, September 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.98 Septic Tank, February 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.99 Disposal Field, February 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.100 Septic Tank and Disposal Field, September 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.101 Latrine, September 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.102 Wading Pool, December 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.103 Combination Building, January 29, 1941
Sheet
SP.52.104 thru 105 Combination Building, October 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.106 Combination Building, September 1, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.107 Combination Building, April 27, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.108 thru 112 Combination Building, April 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.113 Combination Building, April 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.114 thru 116 Combination Building, April 14, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.117 thru 118 Combination Building, August 4, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.119 Service Yard, Combination Building, August 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.120 Terrace, July 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.121 Combination Building Mill Work, January 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.122 Combination Building Mill Work, February 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.123 thru 125 Master, December 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.126 Bath House, January 24, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.127 Bath House, January 25, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.128 Bath House, April 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.129 Bath House, June 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.130 Bath House, November 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.131 Bath House Foundation Plan, October 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.132 thru 133 Bath House, December 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.134 Bath House, November 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.135 Bath House, November 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.136 Roof Plan, Mechanical Plan, Door Details, December 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.137 Bath House - Foundation Plan, June 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.138 thru 143 Bath House, June 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.144 Proposed Bathhouse - Preliminary Plan, March 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.145 Spectators Shelter - Preliminary Drawing, undated
Sheet
SP.52.146 Spectators Shelter - Preliminary Drawing, March 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.147 Shelter, August 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.148 thru 149 Shelter, May 28, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.150 Plot Plan, November 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.151 thru 152 Kitchen Shelter, November 23, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.153 Picnic Shelter, April 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.155 Picnic Shelter, July 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.156 thru 157 Service Building, August 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.158 Pond Development, October 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.159 Tree Preservation, October 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.160 Preliminary Plan Tree Planting, December 19, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.161 Landscaping Undifferentiated, June 29, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.162 Landscaping Undifferentiated, July 12, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.163 Landscaping Undifferentiated - Plot Plan, July 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.164 Seeding and Sodding, February 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.165 Seeding and Sodding - Location Plan, April 28, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.166 Seeding and Sodding - Location Plan, February 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.167 thru 169 Planting, February 5, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.170 thru 171 Planting, July 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.172 Planting Trees and Shrubs, April 12, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.173 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs - Planting Plan, Park Entrance, October 30, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.174 Tree Planting, January 24, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.175 thru 181 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, December 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.182 thru 183 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, January 18, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.184 thru 185 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, December 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.186 Map, August 6, 1947
Sheet
SP.52.187 Plot of Mackenzie State Park, 1947
Sheet
SP.52.188 Master Plan, undated
Sheet
SP.52.189 Master Plan Report, undated
[Typed report.]
Sheet
SP.52.190 Master Plan, October 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.191 Signs - Markers, March 4, 1940
Sheet
SP.52.192 Fireplaces, September 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.193 Table and Bench Combination, July 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.194 Fireplace, July 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.195 Table and Bench Combination, October 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.196 Drinking Fountains, July 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.197 Letters for Portal, April 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.198 Letters for Portal, June 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.199 Proposed Sanitary Sewer Across Mackenzie State Park, September 27, 1957
Sheet
SP.52.200 Parking Area Profiles, March 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.201 Park Roads, undated
Sheet
SP.52.202 Bath House - Floor Plan, October 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.203 Parking Area Profiles, March 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.204 Excavating Channels, undated
Sheet
SP.52.205 Septic Tank, February 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.206 Septic Field, April 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.207 Park Roads, November 21, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.208 Park Roads, August 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.209 thru 210 Concession Shelter, April 1, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.211 Utilities Plan, August 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.52.212 Concession Layout, Parking Areas, August 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.52.213 Layout Plan Report, November 20, 1939
Sheet
SP.52.214 Official Map, City of Lubbock, August 11, 1927
Sheet
SP.52.215 Garbage Pit - Precast Top, July 30, 1949
Sheet
SP.52.216 Key Plan, December 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.52.217 Combination Building - Preliminary Drawing, September 15, 1938
Sheet
SP.52.T Pipeline Calculations, undated
[Typewritten chart with figures and short narrative explanation.]
Sheet
SP.52.T2 Calculations for Pipelines for Golf Course, undated
[Typewritten chart with figures and short narrative explanation.]



 

Meridian State Park, 1933-1947, undated,
0.83 cubic ft.

Agency History
Meridian State Park is a 502-acre park in Bosque County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). A park site along Bee Creek was donated to the Texas State Park Board by the City of Meridian in 1933 to be one of the state's first Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC)-developed parks. CCC Company 1827 (Veterans) arrived in July 1933, remaining until October 1934. The park was opened to the public in 1935. CCC-built work includes day-use facilities, bridges, and a rock and earthen dam that created the on-site, 72-acre Meridian Lake. Facilities constructed later include screened shelters and a group dining hall.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 119 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Meridian State Park, including a dam and spillway system, roads, bridges, a concession building, and a concrete culvert. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, particularly its dam. Dates covered are 1933-1947, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Meridian State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.12.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.2 Master Plan, October 2, 1939
Sheet
SP.12.3
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.12.4 Entrance Gate, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.5 Topography at Park Entrance, March 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.6 Dam - Layout Map, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.7 Dam, December 13, 1939
Sheet
SP.12.8 Dam Plan and Profile, January 4, 1940
Sheet
SP.12.9 Dam Sections, December 21, 1939
Sheet
SP.12.10 Dam Spillway Details, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.11 Topographic Map of Dam Site, December 20, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.12 Topographical Map of Proposed Lake Area and Bee Creek Dam Site, August 9, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.13 Topographic Map of Bee Creek Dam Sites, July 29, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.14 Topographical Map Showing Location of Dam No. 5, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.15 Details of Dam and Core Wall, October 21, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.16 Details of Dam, January 4, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.17 Spillway, February 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.18 thru 19 Plan and Profile of Dam, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.19.1 Soil Content (Corings), 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.20 Dam Location No. 2, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.21 thru 23 Dam Profile, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.24 Profiles of Proposed Bee Creek Dam Locations, August 2, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.25 Dam Details, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.26 Dam Profile and Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.27 Dam Location No. 3, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.28 Progress Chart of Trenching Bee Creek Dam, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.29 thru 30 Dam Profile, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.30.1
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.12.31 Spillway, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.32 Dam Details, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.33 Dam Profile, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.34 Dam Location No. 5, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.35 Bee Creek Dam, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.36 Topography and Transit Line for Proposed Scenic Road, August 16, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.37 Proposed Lodge Site, October 13, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.38 Proposed Plot Plan of Concession Building, July 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.39 Road South of Lake, February 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.40 Road to Lodge Site, October 20, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.41 Part of Proposed Road, November 6, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.42 Profile and Topography at Bridge Site. Ravine West of Camp - Scenic Road, September 19, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.43 Roads Near Proposed Bath House, September 29, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.44 Road to Lodge Site, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.45 Profile Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.46 Park Entrance Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.47 thru 48 Scenic Road on North Side of Proposed Lake, January 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.49 Scenic Road - North of Lake, June 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.50 Scenic Road North of Lake, January 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.51 Road From Old Highway to Lodge Site, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.52 Road South of Lake, February 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.53 Scenic Road South of Lake, June 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.54 thru 63 Road Cross Section, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.64 Northwest Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.65 Cut and Fill Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.66 Low Water Bridge, July 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.67 Bee Creek Bridge, May 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.68 Concrete Slab Bridge, February 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.69 16-Foot Span Bridge, March 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.70 Stone Bridge Design, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.71 Stone Bridge, January 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.72 Concrete Slab and Stone Veneer Bridge, February 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.73 Septic Tank, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.74 Topography at Concession Building, June 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.75 Plot Plan of Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.76 Plot Plan of Concession Building, August 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.77 thru 80 Concession Building, June 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.80.1 Specifications for Bridge Crossing, undated
[List of specifications for bridge crossing Bee Creek before the dam.]
Sheet
SP.12.81 Concession Building, June 1, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.82 Concession Building, June 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.83 Concession Building, January 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.12.84 Concession Building, September 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.85 Concession Building - Wiring Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.86 Caretaker's House Remodeling, January 6, 1944
Sheet
SP.12.87 Cabins, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.88 thru 89 Cottage, November 15, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.90 Bath House, May 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.12.91 Boat Dock, July 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.12.92 Boat Dock - Covered Pier, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.93 Sketch Showing That Portion of T. M. Dillard Property Acquired for State Park Purposes, September 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.94 Sketch Showing Panel of Proposed Fence, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.95 Concrete Box Culvert at Sta. 35+90, May 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.96 Concrete Culvert at Sta. 29+95, May 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.97 Concrete Culvert at Sta. 13+40, May 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.98 Concrete Box Culvert at Sta. 12+75, May 22, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.99 Concrete Culvert at Sta. 10+90, May 22, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.100 Revised Cabin Plan to Be Used for Helpers' Quarters, January 6, 1947
Sheet
SP.12.101 Concrete Curb for Drainage Control, March 30, 1945
Sheet
SP.12.102 Plan for Butane System at Concessions Area, January 2, 1946
Sheet
SP.12.103 Doors for Pavilion at Concession Building, January 15, 1946
Sheet
SP.12.104 Boat Storage House, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.105 Plan of Butane System at Helper's Cottage, April 4, 1947
Sheet
SP.12.106 Sign for Gate Pier, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.107 Secondary Face Corner Stone, June 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.108 Topographical Layout of J. Bartholow Tract, June 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.12.109 Creek Crossing Layout, September 27, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.110 Section BB Building View, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.111 Location of Proposed Park Entrance, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.112 Topographic Map, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.113 Details of Cattle Guard - No Park Identification, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.12.114 Details of Small Septic Tank and Grease Trap for Texas State Parks, February 21, 1934
Sheet
SP.12.115 Cottage No. 2, November 17, 1933
Sheet
SP.12.116 Details of Latrine, August 24, 1933



 

Mother Neff State Park, 1934-1945, 1958,
0.83 cubic ft.

Agency History
Mother Neff State Park is a 259-acre park in Coryell County along the Leon River administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Pat Morris Neff, Texas Governor from 1921-1925 and founder of the Texas State Parks Board, created the intial park in 1921 from a six-acre plot of land donated by his mother upon her demise five years before, making it the first state park in Texas. Additional land was donated to the Board by Governor Neff and others, enabling its development by the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC). CCC Company 817 was stationed at Mother Neff in December 1934, remaining until June 1938. The park was opened to the public in 1937. CCC-built work includes massive earth fill and underground drainage in the flood-prone river bottom, limestone entry portals, tabernacle, refectory, residence, and a road and drainage system. The park was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 119 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Mother Neff State Park, including a recreational pavilion, caretaker's building, concession building, tree and shrub landscaping, and site furniture. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1958.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Mother Neff State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.38.1 Master Plan, May 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.2 Narrative Report, 1934-1945
[Untitled typewritten narrative report, including general information, land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, and public utilities.]
Sheet
SP.38.2.1 Base Map, October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.3 General Plan, October 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.38.3.1 Base Map, October 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.4 Portal, March 7, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.5 Portal, January 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.5.1 Master Plan, September 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.6 Portal, January 14, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.7 Portal, September 23, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.8 Portal and Cattle Guard, January 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.9 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing placement of various trees and legend of trees.]
Sheet
SP.38.10 Entrance, January 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.11 Fences, August 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.12 Truck Trails/Recreational Center, November 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.13 Truck Trails, November 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.14 Fine Grading (Road Slopes), January 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.15 Revised Park Roads, November 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.16 Revised Park Roads, December 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.17 Park Roads, June 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.18 Foot Trails, October 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.19 Sewage Disposal System for Caretaker's Dwelling, January 27, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.20 Disposal Tank/Sewer Lines, April 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.21 Plan of Utilities, January 30, 1939
Sheet
SP.38.22 Pipeline, July 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.23 Pipeline, April 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.24 Pipelines, September 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.25 Pump House, September 14, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.26 Lookout Tower, October 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.27 Water Tank, June 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.28 Organized Camp, March 10, 1939
Sheet
SP.38.29 Construction Details for NYA Camp, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.30 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing overview of park, including topography, recreational pavilion, caretaker's dwelling, park road and road curbing, portals, cattle guard, drinking fountains, pipelines, landscaping undifferentiated, and water line.]
Sheet
SP.38.31 Caretaker's Dwelling - Window Grill, April 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.32 Caretaker's Dwelling Plot Plan, August 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.33 thru 38 Caretaker's Dwelling, August 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.39 Plot Plan Caretaker's Dwelling, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.40 thru 48 Caretaker's Dwelling, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.49 Dwelling, July 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.50 Plot Plan for Recreational Center, October 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.51 Plot Plan of Recreational Pavilion, January 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.52 thru 55 Recreational Pavilion, January 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.56 thru 61 Recreational Pavilion, December 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.62 Concession Building Concrete Floor and Waterproofing Basement, May 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.63 thru 64 Addition to Concession Building, December 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.65 Enclosures for Concession Building, November 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.66 Concession Building, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.67 Concession Layout (Parking Areas), August 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.68 Concession Building, August 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.69 Concession Building, August 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.70 thru 71 Concession Building, August 28, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.72 Concession Building, August 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.73 thru 79 Concession Building, June 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.80 Garage, January 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.81 Office and Material Storage and Tool House, January 2, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.82 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing tree planting around recreational pavilion and tree key.]
Sheet
SP.38.83 Landscaping Undifferentiated, October 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.84 Landscaping Undifferentiated/Fill Around Caretaker's Dwelling, March 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.85 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs (Combination Building), February 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.86 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs (Combination Building), February 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.87 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs (Combination Building), February 10, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.88 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs (Combination Building), February 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.89 Sodding Fill Around Combination Building, January 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.90 Landscaping, January 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.91 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing overview of park, including Leon River.]
Sheet
SP.38.92 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography along Leon River, including high water data.]
Sheet
SP.38.93 Full Size Detail of Stone Entrance Sign, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.94 Furniture for Concession Building, March 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.95 Furniture, January 5, 1939
Sheet
SP.38.96 Furniture, January 6, 1939
Sheet
SP.38.97 thru 98 Furniture, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.99 Furniture, August 10, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.100 Furniture, August 6, 1938
Sheet
SP.38.101 Caretaker's Home, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.38.102 thru 103 Caretaker's Dwelling, July 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.104 Shower House Remodeling, July 26, 1958
Sheet
SP.38.105 Picnic Units, February 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.106 Table and Bench Combination, November 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.107 Drinking Fountains, July 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.38.108 Park Roads Proposed Changes, December 23, 1936
Sheet
SP.38.109 Concession Layout, February 27, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.110 thru 115 Concession Building, March 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.38.116 Concession Building, December 28, 1934



 

Palisades State Park, 1934-1935,
0.04 cubic ft.

Agency History
Palisades State Park derived from a portion of Henry Clay Harding's 100,000-acre ranch located in Randall County. The 320-acre site was purchased by several Amarillo businessmen and promised to the Texas State Parks Board in exchange for Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) development. CCC Company 856 arrived at Palisades in June 1933, remaining until December of that year; subsequently, minor work was done by CCC companies based at nearby Palo Duro Canyon State Park through 1935. Despite these efforts, the businessmen deemed the site development to this point to be insufficient, and in 1939 the board returned the land to its original owners. The area is a private residential area as of 2014.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of five pencil drawings that outline design details of a concession building intended for Palisades State Park. Dates included are 1934-1935.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Palisades State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.P.TSA.1 Concessions Building Details, July 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.P.TSA.2 Concessions Building, December 31, 1934
Sheet
SP.P.TSA.3 Concessions Building, January 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.P.TSA.4 Concession Building Revised, April 22, 1934
Sheet
SP.P.TSA.5 Concession Building, July 27, 1934



 

Palmetto State Park, 1934-1937, undated,
0.54 cubic ft.

Agency History
Palmetto State Park is a 268-acre park in Gonzales County along the San Marcos River administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The site was donated to the Texas State Parks Board by local citizens in 1933 and 1934 for development as a small day-use park. Three Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) companies were stationed at Palmetto at some time: Company 873 was stationed there from May 1934 to October 1935, Company 886 from October 1935 to May 1937, and Company 1823 (Colored Veterans) from May 1937 to October 1937. CCC-built work includes Park Road 11, a stone refectory, river-terrace overlook, entry portals, roads, and picnic units. The park was opened to the public in 1936. Facilities constructed later include a cabin and group pavilion.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 77 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Palmetto State Park, including roads, bridges, a caretaker's house, and equipment supply and storage areas. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1937, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Palmetto State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.29.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, undated
Sheet
SP.29.2 Base Map, July 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.3 Main Entrance, May 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.4 Portal (Main Entrance), May 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.5 Park Roads, June 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.6 Park Roads, June 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.7 Park Roads, April 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.8 Park Roads, November 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.9 Park Roads, December 16, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.10 Ottine Texas Park Road, July 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.11 Fence, June 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.12 Cattle Guard, July 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.13 Guard Rails and Parking Areas, November 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.14 Guard Rails, March 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.15 Cattle Underpass, June 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.16 thru 17 Culvert, January 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.18 Profile on San Marcos River at Proposed Bridge Location, undated
Sheet
SP.29.19 Low Water Bridge, October 10, 1934
Sheet
SP.29.20 thru 22 Low Water Bridge, October 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.29.23 Concrete Bridge, September 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.29.24 Fireplaces and Table/Bench Combinations, Garbage Containers, July 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.25 Roads - Culverts, May 22, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.26 Park Road (1 of 2), May 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.27 Septic Tank, March 30, 1937; April 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.28 Latrines, March 31, 1937; May 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.30 Concession Layout, March 6, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.31 Combination Building (1 of 2), April 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.34 Mechanical Plan, November 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.29.36 Concession Building Front Terrace, July 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.37 Caretaker's Dwelling, November 11, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.38 Caretaker's House, January 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.39 Caretaker's House (2 of 4), December 19, 1936; January 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.41 Caretaker's House (4 of 4), December 19, 1936; January 28, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.42 Equipment Supply and Storage, March 30, 1937; April 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.43 Plot Plan (Equipment Supply and Storage 1 of 3), April 29, 1937; May 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.44 thru 45 Equipment Supply and Storage, April 21, 1937; May 24, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.47 Equipment Supply and Storage, June 19, 1937; June 30, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.48 Narrative Report to Accompany Master Plan on Gonzalez-Palmetto State Park, 1934-1937
[Typewritten report.]
Sheet
SP.29.49 Tool and Equipment Room and Blacksmith Shop, June 9, 1934
Sheet
SP.29.50 thru 52 Lagoon Development, September 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.53 Foot Bridges Lagoon Development, August 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.54 Stone Walls, July 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.55 Stone Walls, March 29, 1937; June 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.56 Wells, October 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.57 thru 60 Pool and Well Development, March 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.29.61 Stream Bank Protection and Eradication of Weeds, November 3, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.62 Steel Tower for Water Tank, January 15, 1946
Sheet
SP.29.63 Under Lockhart 9P-51, May 26, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.64 thru 68
[Drawings are missing.]
Sheet
SP.29.69 Parking Area Plan for Concession Building, February 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.70
[Drawing is missing.]
Sheet
SP.29.71 Caretaker's House, December 19, 1936
Sheet
SP.29.72 Development Plan, August 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.73 Utilities Plan, August 17, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.74 Master Plan, March 10, 1937; April 8, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.75 Base Map, August 17, 1937; August 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.76 9th Period Plan, March 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.29.77 Master Plan (4-A), August 17, 1937



 

Palo Duro Canyon State Park, 1905-1954, undated,
1.3 cubic ft.

Agency History
Palo Duro State Park is a 28,000-acre park in Randall and Armstrong Counties administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Palo Duro Canyon was first promoted as a possible park site in 1906, when Congressman John Hall Stephens of Vernon, Texas introduced a bill to create a national park there. After years of concerted efforts by politicians, journalists, and local residents, in 1933 the Texas State Parks Board made a deal with landowner Fred Emery to purchase 15,000 acres in and around the canyon, to be paid with concession profits. In June 1933, an unprecedented three Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) companies were assigned to the site: Companies 1824 (Veterans), 1828 (Veterans), and 1829 (Veterans). Company 1821 (Veterans) then arrived in December of that year. Companies 1824 (Veterans) and 1829 (Veterans) departed in April 1934. Companies 1828 (Veterans) and 1821 (Veterans) remained until August 1935, when they were replaced by Companies 2875 (Colored) and 2876 (Colored). Company 2876 (Colored) remained until January 1936, and Company 2875 (Colored) until October 1936, when it was replaced by Company 894. The latter company remained until December 1937.
CCC-built work was originally intended to be a more extensive development modeled on Grand Canyon National Park, but the plans were downscaled due to land ownership uncertainties, political division, and the local community's disapproval of African American CCC workers. Work completed by the CCC includes a road to the canyon floor, an unfinished stone lodge, stone entry complex, four cottages, and three residences. Palo Duro Canyon was designated a U.S. National Natural Landmark in 1976. Facilities constructed later include 30 miles of hiking, biking and equestrian trails, a visitor center, and an amphitheater.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 185 blueprints, maps, correspondence, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Palo Duro Canyon State Park, including water and septic systems, latrines, entry portals, a combination building, concession building, and cabins. Also included are several maps showing the topography and general development of the park, a typewritten narrative report showing background information on the park site, and a pencil letter regarding the investigation of the design for a water storage system. Dates covered are 1905-1954, undated.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Palo Duro Canyon State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.14.1 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.2 Palo Duro Base Map, January 12, 1937; June 19, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.2.1a Topography Plan, September 6, 1933; November 10, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.3 Base Map, January 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.3.1a Lake Tract, Location and Contour, October 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.4 Palo Duro Master Plan, November 2, 1937; January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.14.4.1a Map and Cross Section of Palo Duro Creek, September 5, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.5 Master Plan - Vegetative Cover, December 13, 1937; January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.14.5.1a Palo Duro Dam, July 25, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.6 Master Plan - Topography, July 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.6.1 Suggested Treatment for Naturalizing Dam, June 1934
Sheet
SP.14.7 Palo Duro Development Plan, November 2, 1937; January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.14.7.1 Picnic Ground Development, August 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.8 Campground and Picnic Area, August 26, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.8.1 Development Plan: Lodge Area, October 27, 1937; January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.14.9 Utilities Plan, October 28, 1937; January 26, 1938
Sheet
SP.14.9.1 Profile of Road at Timber Creek, January 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.10 Road Location to Goodnight Dugout, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.11 Park Road Surfacing Bank Slopes, January 20, 1937; February 4, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.12 Concrete Bridge, January 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.13 Substructure for Concrete Bridge, January 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.14 Stone Bridge - Elevations and Sections, December 21, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.15 Concrete Arches - for Bridge Over Timber Creek, December 12, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.16 Stone Bridge- Elevations, December 6, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.17 Hill Road, January 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.18 Vehicle Bridges, December 15, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.19 Horse Bridge, November 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.20 Rock Culvert, November 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.21 Road and Parking Lot for Lodge and Cabins, August 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.22 Vehicle Bridge: Low Water Crossing No. 2 - Goodnight Trail, May 25, 1937; June 21, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.23 Guard Wall, July 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.24 Stone Abutments, Timber Creek Bridge, May 4, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.25 Bridge - Stone Veneer at Timber Creek, May 23, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.26 Diversion Ditches, September 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.27 Mezzanine Crossing - Palo Duro Creek, November 8, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.28 Horse Trail, Foot Trail, September 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.29 Foot Bridge, Comanche Trail, November 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.30 Developed Elevations of North Wall, South Wall, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.31 Tent Colony: Foot Trail and Camp Fire Circle, April 22, 1937; April 26, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.32 Electric Plant for Lodge, November 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.33 Pump House, November 3, 1937; November 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.34 Wells, May 15, 1937; May 27, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.35 Spring: Cow Camp and 5th Crossing, May 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.36 Waterline, January 28, 1937; March 2, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.37 thru 39 Palo Duro Pipeline - Profiles, November 12, 1937; November 13, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.40 Pipelines - Plan A and Plan B, December 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.41 Pipelines - Freeze Proof Outlet, December 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.42 Pipeline - Cow Camp, July 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.43 Water Line - Sixth Crossing, July 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.44 Water Line - Tent Colony, May 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.45 Water System - Public Campground, November 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.46 Portal - Revision to Reservoir, July 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.47 Reservoir, May 20, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.48 Storage Tank, February 11, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.49 Letter regarding Water Storage, November 27, 1934
[Pencil letter regarding the investigation of the design for water storage on SP.14.49a.]
Sheet
SP.14.49a Water Storage, November 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.50 Storage Reservoir, November 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.51 Septic Tank at Entrance, December 3, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.52 Septic Tank, Sewer Line, May 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.53 Waste Disposal - Public Campground, November 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.54 Septic Tank and Sewer Lines, January 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.55 Latrine - Tent Camp Colony, April 18, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.56 Latrines - Men and Women, December 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.57 Latrine, July 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.58 Latrines, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.59 Latrines- Mezzanine Crossing, May 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.60 Topography at Entrance, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.61 Entrance, November 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.62 Entrance, December 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.63 Portals: Roof Framing, March 17, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.64 Portal, August 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.65 Portal, August 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.66 Portal, July 31, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.67 Portal, August 5, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.68 Portal, August 9, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.69 Portal - Details, August 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.70 Water Lines at Palisades State Park, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.71 thru 72 Mill Details, December 10, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.73 Portal - Front Test Hole Data Section, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.74 Portal - Revision to Fireplace, March 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.75 Lodge Location Section 101, October 20, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.76 Combination Building Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.77 thru 78 Combination Building Addition, October 7, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.79 Lodge Ceiling Treatment, February 9, 1940
Sheet
SP.14.80 Miscellaneous Details Project 108. Lodge Toilets, January 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.81 Lodge Building - Screening, February 13, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.82 Combination Building - Parapet and Paving, November 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.83 Additions to Lodge, September 16, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.84 Toilets and Septic Tank for Lodge, September 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.85 thru 86 Concession Building, November 9, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.87 For Purchase of Materials on Lodge, December 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.88 Concession Building - Floor Plan of Dining Room and Lodge, October 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.89 Concession Building - Framing Plan Main Lounge Room, July 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.90 Concession Building - Mezzanine Framing Plan, June 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.91 Concession Building - Details of Wall Case in Lounge and Dining Room, September 26, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.92 Museum Building, December 1933
Sheet
SP.14.93 Tent Colony - Plot Plan, April 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.94 Tent Colony - Tent Frame, April 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.95 Plotting and Contours - Cow Camp, October 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.96 Location Plan - Cow Camp, June 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.97 Concession Building - Cow Camp, March 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.98 Campground - Cow Camp, July 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.99 Cabins - Cow Camp, June 18, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.100 Cabin, December 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.101 Cabins, December 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.102 thru 103 Stone Cabin (Residence) Goodnight Cabin, November 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.104 Stone Cabin (Residence) No. 1 Type A - Goodnight Cabin, Alternate Roof, December 15, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.105 Stone Cabin No. One - Type B, June 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.106 Stone Cabin No. One - Type C, June 15, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.107 Rim Cabin No. 4 - Elevations, June 15, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.108 Rim Cabin No. 5 - Floor Plan, Sections and Elevations, June 22, 1937
Sheet
SP.14.109 Camp Garage, August 12, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.110 Camp Garage, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.111 Swimming Pool, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.112 Swimming Pool, August 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.113 Topography Adjacent to Canyon at Lodge Site, 1933-1945
Sheet
SP.14.114 Units for Camp and Picnic Areas, November 7, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.115 Picnic Units, November 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.116 Barbeque Pit, November 15, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.117 Miscellaneous Iron Work, February 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.118 Furniture: Table, Chair, Bench, November 1, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.119 Double Deck Bunk, October 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.120 Stairway to Be Built at Lodge (Landscape), July 30, 1951
Sheet
SP.14.121 Park Entrance, March 5, 1954
Sheet
SP.14.122 Entrance Sign, December 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.123 Signs (Temporary), August 19, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.124 Permit Booth, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.125 Concession Building: Mezzanine Floor Plans, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.126 Narrative Report to Accompany Master Plan, 1934-1945
[Typed report showing general information and information on the land acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, public utilities, and historic and pre-historic interest.]
Sheet
SP.14.126.1 Narrative Report to Accompany Master Plan, 1934-1945
[Mimeograph version of SP.14.126.]
Sheet
SP.14.127 Part of Palo Duro Canyon - Block 6, Randall County Texas (Map), 1905-1934
Sheet
SP.14.128 Filling Station and Concession, April 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.129 Proposed Stables, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.130 Rodeo Corrals and Chutes - Contestants Corral, September 4, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.131 Cabins (Unidentified) - Floor Plans and Elevations, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.132 Pit Toilets, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.133 Picnic Ground Development, August 21, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.134 Cabin, December 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.135 Picnic Units, November 17, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.136 Plan of Front Entrance, June 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.137 Palisades Concession Building Elevations, August 23, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.138 Suggested Rearrangement of Toilet Room Stalls in Lodge Building, January 9, 1936
Sheet
SP.14.139 Palisades Concession Building - Plan and Details, August 24, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.140 Low Water Dam, August 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.141 Cabin "A"=JA at Cow Camp, August 1, 1934
[Cabin designation is verbatim, meaning is unclear.]
Sheet
SP.14.142 Entrance for Palo Duro State Park, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.143 Memorial Marker for Goodnight Trail, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.144 Sketch - Suggestions for Palo Duro Entrance, March 13, 1935
Sheet
SP.14.145 Memorial Marker for Goodnight Trail, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.14.146 Lodge Site Development, November 1933
Sheet
SP.14.147 Road Layout at Lodge Site, November 15, 1933
Sheet
SP.14.148 Concession Building - Composite Floor Plan of Lodge, March 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.149 Sections of Proposed Building on Rim, February 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.150 Concession Building - Foundation and Ceiling Plans of Dining and Lounge Rooms, February 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.151 Roof Plan - Proposed Concession Building on Rim, February 5, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.152 Concession Building - Shop Drawing, Lodge Building, March 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.152.1 Concession Building - Details of Sash and Frame, March 8, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.153 Concession Building - Dining Room Roof Structural Plan, June 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.154 Concession Building - Mezzanine Structural Plan, June 12, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.155 Concession Building - Roof Structural Plan, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.156 Goodnight Trail, April 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.157 Goodnight Trail, April 19, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.158 Elevation: Proposed Concession Building on Rim, February 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.1 Cow Cabin Plan, July 30, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.2 Details of Large Unidentified Building, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.3 Cabins, November 16, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.4 Details of Latrine, August 7, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.5 Low Water Dam, August 6, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.6 Cow Camp T Anchor Dam, April 11, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.7 Filling Station and Concession, April 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.8 Filling Station and Concession Plan and Elevation, October 27, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.9 Test Hole Data and Details - Flying H Cabin, August 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.10 Test Hole Data and Details of T Anchor Cabin, August 14, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.11 Plan of Rim Around Park, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.12 Concession Building Longitude and Cross Section C, October 18, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.13 Proposed Concession Building on Rim, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.14 Concession Building Sections/Lounge and Banquet, July 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.15 Proposed Concession Building Sections/Lounge and Banquet, February 13, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.16 Beams and Stays Presumably for the Concession Building, 1934
Sheet
SP.14.TSA.17 Concession Building Stair Section, October 22, 1934



 

Port Isabel Lighthouse State Historic Site, 1950, undated,
0.01 cubic ft.

Agency History
The Port Isabel Lighthouse State Historic Site is a historic lighthouse in Port Isabel in Cameron County, owned by Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD) and operated by the City of Port Isabel. The original lighthouse was completed in 1853 to ease the navigation of heavy shipping traffic through Brazos Santiago Pass to Point Isabel. During the American Civil War the lighthouse was occupied by soldiers from both sides as a look-out post. After intermittent use following the war, the lighthouse was abandoned in 1905 due to the decline of shipping traffic. In 1927, the U.S. Government sold the lighthouse and surrounding land to private interests. After a local campaign aimed at restoring the local landmark, owners Mr. and Mrs. Lon C. Hill, Jr. donated the lighthouse and land to the Texas State Parks Board in 1950 for development as a state park. The board began restoring the lighthouse in 1951, and it was opened to the public in 1952. Facilities constructed later include a visitors center.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of two drawings that detail designs for the restoration of a lighthouse and immediate grounds intended for the Port Isabel Lighthouse State Historic Site. One of the drawings was made by the Austin Engineering Company, and the authorship of the other is unknown. The date covered is 1950.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Port Isabel Lighthouse State Historic Site, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.PI.TSA.1 Ground of Light House by the Austin Engineering Company, 1950
Sheet
SP.PI.TSA.2 Lighthouse Plans and Elevations, undated



 

Possum Kingdom State Park, 1934-1950,
0.48 cubic ft.

Agency History
Possum Kingdom State Park is a 1,529-acre park in Stephens and Palo Pinto counties administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). The origins of the site lie in the 1941 completion of the Morris Sheppard Dam, which created the 19,800-acre Possum Kingdom Reservoir. That year, the Brazos River Conservation and Reclamation District transferred 6,969 acres of land surrounding the reservoir to the Texas State Parks Board for development. Plans to develop parkland on both shores were halted after the unexpected filling of the lake, leaving only the west shore to be developed. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 2888 was stationed at Possum Kingdom in May 1941, remaining until July 1942, which makes it the last CCC state park camp in Texas. CCC-built work includes a picnic table, stone culvert, and seven miles of Park Road 33. Declining CCC enrollment in the 1940s as well as assigment of CCC companies to wartime military projects interrupted meaningful construction of several facilities, which had to wait until 1945 for completion by the board. The park was opened to the public in 1950.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 68 blueprints, maps, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Possum Kingdom State Park, including roads, fisherman's cabins, caretaker's cabins, and the path of a proposed highway through the park. Dates covered are 1934-1950.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Possum Kingdom State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.65.1 Possum Kingdom State Park and Lake, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.65.2 Master Plan, October 27, 1939
Sheet
SP.65.3 Development Plan East Side, February 16, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.4 Development Plan, July 21, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.5 General Development Plan, October 25, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.6 General Development Plan, July 25, 1940
Sheet
SP.65.7 Park Road (B), January 1942
Sheet
SP.65.8 Park Road, January 1942
Sheet
SP.65.9 Park Road (B), February 5, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.10 Park Roads, January 1942
Sheet
SP.65.11 thru 12 Park Road (B), January 1942
Sheet
SP.65.13 Park Road (B), 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.65.14 thru 15 Park Road (A), September 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.16 thru 17 Park Road (A), July 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.18 thru 19 Park Road (A), August 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.20 Utilities Plan, November 3, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.21 thru 22 Pipeline, Water Main, April 1942
Sheet
SP.65.23 Tile Latrine, June 19, 1950
Sheet
SP.65.24 Latrines, November 1941
Sheet
SP.65.25 Fishermen's Cabin, August 25, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.26 Preliminary Sketch of Caretaker's Dwelling, August 18, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.27 thru 28 Caretaker's House, September 21, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.29 Picnic Shelter, April 23, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.30 Picnic Shelter Addition, May 12, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.31 Picnic Fireplaces, December 1941
Sheet
SP.65.32, 32.1 Table and Bench Combination, September 18, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.33 Lake Site Clearing, May 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.34 Sewage Disposal, January 23, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.35 Sewage Disposal, January 31, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.36 Fire Hazard Reduction, May 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.37 Layout Plan (West Side), January 17, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.38 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography of park and wooded areas and specific trees.]
Sheet
SP.65.39 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing topography of park.]
Sheet
SP.65.40 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing overview of portions of park, including lake, river channel, organized and free camp ground, water storage, pump and pump house, fishermen's cabin, disposal system, boat house and dock, public boat launching ramp, and picnic area, among others.]
Sheet
SP.65.41 Picnic and Camp Ground Preliminary Development Plan, July 16, 1942
Sheet
SP.65.42 Fisherman's Cabin, March 16, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.43 Fisherman's Cabin Type 2, November 14, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.44 Fisherman's Cabin Type 3, November 14, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.45 Fisherman's Cabin, March 16, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.46 Furniture, December 7, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.47 Furniture, December 8, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.48 Barrack Building Conversion, April 30, 1948
Sheet
SP.65.49 Proposed Highway Through State Park from Park Entrance to Johnsons Bend Area (East Side), 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.65.50 Proposed Highway, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.65.51 thru 52 Proposed Highway Through State Park from Park Entrance to Johnsons Bend Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.65.53 Bath Room and Plumbing Layout, October 2, 1946
Sheet
SP.65.54 Caretaker's Cabin East Area, October 4, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.55 Caretaker's Cabin East Area, February 1, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.56 Caretaker's Cabin East Area, October 4, 1944
Sheet
SP.65.57 Field Changes Caretaker's Residence, January 19, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.58 Additions to Caretaker's House, August 30, 1946
Sheet
SP.65.59 Latrines, November 1941
Sheet
SP.65.60 Layout Plan, January 17, 1945
Sheet
SP.65.61 Floating Pier and Johnsons Bend, May 26, 1949
Sheet
SP.65.62 1934-1945
[Untitled drawing showing overview of west area of park with contour lines.]
Sheet
SP.65.63 General Development Plan, July 25, 1940
Sheet
SP.65.64 Park Roads, September 15, 1941
Sheet
SP.65.65, 65.1 Picnic Fireplaces, December 1941
Sheet
SP.65.66 September 19, 1944
[Untitled blueprint showing proposed field change substituting concrete box in place of galvanized pipe.]



 

San Jacinto State Park, about 1935,
0.01 cubic ft.

Agency History
San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site (earlier known as San Jacinto State Park) is a 1,003-acre park in Harris County off the Houston Ship Channel administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Built from public purchases and private donations of land around the battleground area, San Jacinto State Park was founded in 1907 as the first official state park in Texas. San Jacinto was initially operated by a local commission under the supervision of the State Board of Control; the park would be transferred to the TPWD in 1965. Years of gradual improvements followed the founding until a burst of New Deal funding (coinciding with the 1936 centennial of the Battle of San Jacinto) provided for a 567-foot obelisk monument and associated museum, completed in 1939. The momument and museum are managed seperately by a private body, the San Jacinto Museum of History Association. In 1948, the decommissioned New York-class battleship USS Texas was permanently moored at the park. In 1966, the battlefield site was designated a National Historic Landmark. Facilities constructed later include a 1,210-foot long marsh trail and boardwalk.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of one pencil composite map of the San Jacinto State Park and vicinity. Approximate scale is 1"=400'. Date is about 1935.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), San Jacinto State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.SJ.TSA.1 Vicinity Composite Map, about 1935



 

Tyrrell Metropolitan Park, 1935,
0.01 cubic ft.

Agency History
Tyrrell Park (earlier known as the Tyrrell Metropolitan Park) is a park in Jefferson County surrounding the Cattail Marsh Wetlands administered by the City of Beaumont. Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 845 was stationed at Tyrrell in November 1935, remaining until June 1941. CCC-built work includes drainage ditches, roads, nature trails, picnic tables, a horse stable, recreational buildings, and an 18-hole golf course. Facilities constructed later include the Beaumont Botanical Gardens.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of one pencil drawing of facility elements intended for the Tyrrell Metropolitan Park, including plans for the equipment and supply storage house and key map of the vicinity. Date is 1935.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Tyrrell Metropolitan Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.B.TSA.1 Tyrrell Metropolitan Park, November 9, 1935



 

Tyler State Park, 1934-1966,
1.22 cubic ft.

Agency History
Tyler State Park is a 983-acre park in Smith County administered by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Division (TPWD). Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Company 2888 was stationed at Tyler in June 1935, remaining until April 1942. CCC-built work includes extensive reforestation, roads, a concession building, and an earthen dam on a branch of Hills Creek that created the park's 65-acre lake. Heavy rain in 1963 caused the dam to fail, and the TPWD managed to repair it in 1975. Updates to the park were completed that same year. Facilities constructed later include seasonal shelters, a new headquarters building, and an amphitheater.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of 174 blueprints, maps, reports, and drawings that detail a range of facility, equipment, and landscape designs intended for Tyler State Park, including a diversion dam and canal, parking areas, a combination building, bath house, landscaping, and park furniture. Also included are several maps detailing the topography and general development of the park, as well as a typewritten narrative report detailing background information on the park site. Dates covered are 1934-1966.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), Tyler State Park, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.54.1 Proposed State Park Near Tyler, Texas, December 9, 1934
Sheet
SP.54.2 Property Map, January 29, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.3 Contour Map, February 1935
Sheet
SP.54.4 Tentative Master Plan, October 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.5 Spillway, May 22, 1941
Sheet
SP.54.6 Tower Gate, June 28, 1941
Sheet
SP.54.7 Report on Spillway, March 12, 1941
Sheet
SP.54.8 Dam/Borings and Hydraulic Grade Line/Leak Investigation, July 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.9 Conduit Through Dam/Leak Investigation, July 30, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.10 Diversion Dam and Canal, February 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.11 Diversion Dam and Canal, February 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.12 Diversion Dam and Canal, February 3, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.13 Swimming Area Markers and Safety Line, June 1940
Sheet
SP.54.14 thru 17 Topographic Study, December 9, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.18 Contour Map of Lake Basin, April 29, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.19 Earth Dam, June 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.20 thru 26 Earth Dam, March 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.27 Preliminary Plan of Dam, October 24, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.28 Topography Map in Vicinity of Proposed Dam, February 1935
Sheet
SP.54.29 Picnic Ground Development, August 23, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.30 thru 31 Signs and Markers, December 17, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.32 Minnow Vats, July 19, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.33 Incinerator, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.34 Table and Bench Combination, February 5, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.35 Garbage Receptacles, November 20, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.36 Table and Bench Combination, August 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.37 Public Picnic Grounds Development, January 21, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.38 Entrance, December 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.39 Bathing Beach Fence, January 30, 1942
Sheet
SP.54.40 Fence, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.41 Park Road Extension, December 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.42 thru 43 Park Road Study, August 2, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.44 Lake Shore Trail, June 1, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.45 Truck Trails, May 20, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.46 Park Roads, October 30, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.47 Plan and Grade Line of Highway Along East Side of Park, February 1935
Sheet
SP.54.48 thru 50 Vehicular Bridge, December 12, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.51 Parking Area, December 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.52 Parking Overlook, December 11, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.53 thru 54 Beach Parking Extension, February 16, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.55 thru 56 Boat House Parking Area, January 3, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.57 Beach Parking, August 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.58, 58.1 Beach Parking, August 31, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.59 Beach Parking, September 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.60 Sewage and Waste Disposal System, February 21, 1941
Sheet
SP.54.61 thru 62 Septic Tank and Field, March 17, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.63 Developed Area Lighting, December 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.64 Telephone Line, December 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.65 Diversion Pipeline, April 22, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.66 Water Line - Well Pump, March 15, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.67 Reservoir, December 14, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.68, 68.1 Caretaker's Group, September 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.69 Sketch of Suggested Revised Foundation Plan, September 24, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.70 Caretaker's Group, September 14, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.71 Combination Building, February 24, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.72 thru 76 Combination Building, June 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.77 Combination Building, February 27, 1941
Sheet
SP.54.78 Walks and Bath House Terrace, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.79 Walks and Bath House Terrace, October 4, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.80 Walks and Bath House Terrace, October 7, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.81 Lake Bank Protection and Landing Dock, May 6, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.82 Latrines, May 6, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.83 Lake Structure Locations, April 18, 1939
Sheet
SP.54.84 Bath House, September 1938
Sheet
SP.54.85 Bath House, November 1938
Sheet
SP.54.86 thru 89 Bath House, September 1938
Sheet
SP.54.90 Swimming Raft, October 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.91 thru 92, 92.1 Diving Tower, February 11, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.93 thru 94 Boat House, March 25, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.95 thru 96 Boat Pier, February 23, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.97 thru 99 Refectory, Bath, and Boat Houses, December 1937
Sheet
SP.54.100 Camp Ford Development, July 7,1936
Sheet
SP.54.101 thru 104 Assembly Building for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.105 Concession Building for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.106 Lookout Tower for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.107 Caretaker's Cottage for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.108 Alternate A Caretaker's Cottage for Camp Ford Development, August 18, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.109 Alternate B Caretaker's Cottage for Camp Ford Development, August 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.110 Typical Stockade Fence, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.111 Cabin B for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.112 Cabin A for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.113 Bath House for Camp Ford Development, July 7, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.114 Equipment Shelter, September 10, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.115 Material Store Room, June 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.116 Truck Shelter, September 17, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.117 Service Group and Garage, August 14, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.118 Bath House Landscaping, January 6, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.119 Spring Development, May 11, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.120 Moving and Planting Large Trees, March 2, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.121 Beach Improvement, February 28, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.122 Field Planting, Tree, January 3, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.123 Nurseries/Terracing, January 6, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.124 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, December 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.125 Lake Development, November 28, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.126 Fish Guard, November 24, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.127 Field Seeding (Tree), November 20, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.128 Fire Breaks, October 30, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.129 Sheet Erosion Planting, March 4, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.130 Moving and Planting Trees and Shrubs, November 25, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.131 Check Dams, October 22, 1935
Sheet
SP.54.132 Proposed Golf Course, August 24, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.133 Sprinkler System for Proposed Golf Course, September 13, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.134 Golf Course Area, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.135 Master Plan Cover Sheet, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.136 Base Map, April 1, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.137 Period Base Map, January 12, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.138 Layout Plan, October 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.139 General Development Plan, February 20, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.140 Utilities Plan, February 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.141 thru 143 Park Road Extension, July 13, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.144 thru 145 Park Road Extension, July 26, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.146 thru 150 1934-1945
[Series of untitled drawings showing profile and plan of road.]
Sheet
SP.54.151 Camp Fireplaces, February 16, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.152 Master Plan, December 29, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.153 Development Plan, October 5, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.154 Utilities Plan, August 25, 1937
Sheet
SP.54.155 Master Plan, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.156 Contour Map, July 1, 1965
Sheet
SP.54.157 Survey Map, March 17, 1966
Sheet
SP.54.158 thru 162 Earth Dam, March 27, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.163 Earth Dam, June 1, 1936
Sheet
SP.54.164 Preliminary Caretaker's Group, March 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.165 Signs and Markers, March 8, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.166 Revised Preliminary Combination Building, March 29, 1940
Sheet
SP.54.167 Spillway, May 12, 1941
Sheet
SP.54.168 Preliminary Study for Proposed Golf Course, August 11, 1938
Sheet
SP.54.169 Profile of Proposed Park Road, 1934-1945
Sheet
SP.54.170, 170.1 Narrative Report to Accompany the Master Plans, 1934-1945
[Typewritten narrative report to accompany the master plans, including general information, acquisition, forestry, geology, wildlife, circulation system, developed areas, and public utilities.]



 

U.S. Army Recreational Area Houston, 1941,
0.02 cubic ft.

Agency History
In the lead-up to and during the United States' participation in World War II, a series of U.S. Army Recreational Areas were constructed by federal agencies around the county, with the purpose of providing a rest area for soldiers on leave. One Recreational Area was proposed for the outskirts of Houston, Texas, near the Jefferson Davis Municipal Hospital. It is unclear whether or not the camp was ever constructed.
Scope and Contents of the Records
Records consist of three blueprints that detail the facility design intended for a U.S. Army Recreational Area in Houston. Date is 1941.
Arrangement
Materials are arranged by drawing number as assigned by the TPWD.
Preferred Citation
(Identify the item), U.S. Army Recreational Area Houston, Texas State Parks Board Civilian Conservation Corps drawings. Archives and Information Services Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
Sheet
SP.3.33 U.S. Army Recreational Area Development, Houston. Screened Pyramidal Walled Tent Frames, December 13, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.34 U.S. Army Recreational Area Houston. Layout Plan for Walks, December 13, 1941
Sheet
SP.3.35 U.S. Army Recreational Area Houston. Layout Plan, November 5, 1941