Children's and Young Adult Resources (Youth Collection)

Locating Youth Books

  1. Go to the Library Catalog.
  2. In the "Keyword" search, specify the subject, title, and/or author keywords of interest to you.
  3. Limit your search to the "Youth Collection" location using the drop down menu.

search example

To search for Foriegn Language Youth Materials, use the Advanced Search and limit by both "Youth Collections"  location and the language you want.

To search for eBooks, type d:"juvenile fiction" in the "Keyword" search line and limit your search to the "Electronic Resources" location using the drop down menu.


Youth Literature Awards

Newbery Medal - The John Newbery Medal is awarded anually to the most distinguished book published the preceeding year, and is given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. 

Caldecott Medal - The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given anually to the artist of the most distiguished picture book published the preceeding year. It is given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a divion of the American Library Association. 

Coretta Scott King Book Award - This award is given annually to both an African American author and an African American illustrator who produced children's or young adult books that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture. It is awarded by the Ethinic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table, a membership group of the American Library Association. 

Other Awards in Youth Literature - This site lists and explains a number of other children's literature awards.

Subject Specialist

Janelle Hedstrom

Janelle Hedstrom 
Education Librarian


Meet: Request a consultation (available in person or via Adobe Connect)

About the Collection

The main collection is housed in the Perry-Castañeda Library on the Sixth Floor Section S, though the Benson Latin American Collection and the Library Storage Facility also collect/house additional materials.

All books that win or are designated as honor books by the Newbery and Caldecott Awards are collected.Winners of other prestigious awards are acquired as possible. A significant portion of the collection has been donated by Dr. Barbara Immroth.

Comments or Suggestions?

We're always working to improve our pages, so please let us know what you thought of this guide. Your feedback will help us help you!

How useful was this page?
Very useful
Somewhat useful
Not at all useful
Not sure

Comments? Questions? Concerns?