University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

Choosing the Right Database

UT Libraries subscribes to many databases that can help you with your research. Some databases cover a broad set of sources, while others are more specialized. Databases that cover a broad range of education topics such as ERIC and Education Source are a great place to start your search. Use the lists below to find further database suggestions for more specialized research areas. 

Bilingual, ESL, and Foreign Language Education Databases

Academic Search Complete A large interdisciplinary database.  A quick way to see if researchers from other disciplines are conducting related research.

Chicano Database Indexes literature about Latinos in the United States from many disciplines

CMMC (Communication & Mass Media Complete) Covers many core communiation and language-related journals.  Also good for topics related to social media and media literacy.

Dissertations & Thesis Full Text Dissertations from universities across the U.S. and some international institutions

Education Source Our largest education database! Indexes over 1,750 education-related publications

ERIC Covers most core education journals

Gender Studies Database Indexes literature related to gender and sexuality from many disciplines

Google Scholar Use Google's interface to search for scholarly publications.  

LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) Good for topics related to bilingual education, language acquisition, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, language policy, etc.

PsycINFO Huge database of psychology-related journals.  Especially good for topics like motivation, indentity, self-efficacy, etc.

Rethinking Schools Current and archival issues of the publication which is aimed at educational reofrm and balancing classroom practice with educational theory

Sociological Abstracts Index of international literature from sociology and related disciplines

Education Policy Research Databases

Academic Search Complete - A large interdisciplinary database.  A quick way to see if researchers from other disciplines are conducting research related to your topic of interest.

Access World News -  A large news database to find newspaper, radio and television coverage/reaction to policy and legislation.

American Factfinder - A Census Bureau site that allows users to find data/stats based on geography, including school district. 

Education Source - Our largest education database!  Indexes over 1,750 publications!

ERIC - Includes many government documents related to education and journal articles related to education policy.

Index to Current Urban Documents - Contains reports from many cities across the united states.  Browsable by geography or by subject (including education).

PAIS- A policy database that covers many issues, including education.

ProQuest Congressional Publications - Congressional hearings, Congressional committee prints, the Congressional record, Congressional Research service reports, and unpublished hearings.  Searchable by keyword.

ProQuest Legislative Insight - Legislative histories of federal laws.  The "Legislative Process" search is especially helpful.  It allows the user to search by law number and see any documents related to a law, in chronological order, with a description of what each document is.  Try it with No Child Left Behind (PL107-110) to get an idea of how it works.

Sociological Abstracts - Some coverage of social policy.

Social Explorer - Useful for finding data/statistics from a specific place and time.  Based on historic census data. 

Educational Psychology Databases

Academic Search Complete - A large interdisciplinary database.  A quick way to see if researchers from other disciplines are conducting research related to your topic of interest.

Counseling and Therapy in Video - This collection of video covers counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling, and includes footage of therapy sessions, consulations, and interviews with mental health professionals. 

DSM Library: online access to the DSM-V, the DSM-IV-TR, Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and Cases from the DSM-IV-TR

Education Source - Our largest education database!  Indexes over 1,750 publications!

Education in Video - Contains videos intended for training and developing teachers, including primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. This collection can be searched by grade level, subject, topic, educational theory, and more. 

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center; This database covers journal articles, technical reports, curricular materials, research documents, etc.

Google Scholar - Google's search for academic literature. To access the full text of journals we subscribe to, always start at the library site and log in with your EID!  In Google Scholar settings, create a library link to University of Texas at Austin for additional access and easy ILL requests.

PsycINFO - Our biggest psychology database!  Covers professional and academic literature in psychology including a wide range of articles related to education psychology.

PubMed - Huge medical database with good coverage of psychiatry, cognitive science, etc.

Web of Science - Includes access to multiple citation indexes including the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded. Allows for searching by topic, keyword, or even institution. This database also allows you to search fo articles that cite a particular author or work. 

Educational Technology Databases

Academic Search Complete - A large interdisciplinary database, useful for finding fulltext articles from a wide range of periodicals and journals.

CMMC (Communication & Mass Media Complete) - Contains comprehensive coverage of core communication and mass media journals, including many articles discussing technology in education. 

EdITLib - Features international journal articles and proceeding papers related to educational technology and e-learning.

Education Source - Formerly Education Full Text; Includes full text articles from over 350 journals related to education.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center; covers journal articles, technical reports, curricular materials, research documents, etc. 

Google Scholar - Google powered search tool that searches for scholarly material like books, peer-reviewed papers, abstracts, articles, theses and technical reports. Some full text articles require a paid subscription. Be sure to access Google Scholar through the UT Libraries to access subscriptions already paid by the library. 

INSPEC - A database covering a wide range of resources related to computer science, physics, engineering, and information technology. May be useful for browsing discussions of educational technology from a computer science or information technology perspective. 

LLBA (Linguistics & Langauge Behavior Abstracts) - Includes citations and abstracts related to the teaching of language. 

PsycINFO - Covers professional and academic literature in psychology, including a wide range of articles related to education psychology. 

Higher Education Databases

Academic Search Complete Large interdisciplinary database

Business Source Complete Business database with good coverage of management, organization and leadership literature.

Cabell's Directories: Education Set Information about education journals, including: acceptance rate, review process details, style guidelines, etc.

Chicano Database Indexes literature about Latinos in the United States from many disciplines

Chronicle of Higher Education Current and archival access to CHE articles

Education Source Huge education database indexing over 1,700 publications

ERIC Education databases that indexes most major education journals and many other types of publications: conference papers, research reports, government documents and more

Dissertations and Theses Full Text Dissertations from universities across the U.S. and some international institutions

Gender Studies Database Indexes literature related to gender and sexuality from many disciplines

Google Scholar Use Google's interface to search for scholaly publications  

International Index to Black Periodicals Indexes literature about African Americans from many disciplines

LexisNexis Academic Newspapers, including university papers.  News transcripts.  Legal cases and news.

PsycINFO Huge index of literature from psychology and related disciplines

SportDiscus Sports database with good coverage of higher education athletics

Literacy and English Language Arts Education Databases

Academic Search Complete - A large interdisciplinary database useful for finding full text articles from a wide range of periodicals and journals. 

CMMC (Communication & Mass Media Complete) - Contains comprehensice coverage of core communication and mass media journals. 

Education Source - Formerly Education Full Text This database includes full text articles from almost 375 journals related to education. 

Education in Video - This database includes vidoes intended for traing and developing teachers, and can be searched by grade level, subject, topic, educational theory, and more. 

ERIC - A great place to start your research. The Education Resources Information Center database covers journal articles, technical reports, curricular materials, research documents, and more. 

Google Scholar - A Google powered search engine that searches for scholarly materials like books, peer-reviewed papers, abstracts, articles, theses, and technical reports. Some full text articles require a paid subscription, so be sure to access this database through the UT Libraries so that you can get access to subscriptions that have already been paid for by the library. 

MLA International - This database from the Modern Language Association indexes materials related to literature, cristicism, drama, languages, libguistics, and folklore, and provides access to citations for journal articles, essays, books, dissertations, proceedions, and more. 

Literature Resource Center - Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors, and covers more than 90,000 authors, poets, essayists, journalists, etc. 

LLBA (Linguistics & Langauge Behavior Abstracts) - Includes citations and abstracts related to the teaching of language and linguistics. 

PsycINFO - Covers professional and academic literature in psychology, including a wide range of articles related to literacy. 

TeachingBooks.net - This database contains multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors and illustrators. Includes book trailers, interviews, lesson plans, and much more. 

Rehabilitation Counseling Databases

Cinahl: Covers over 3,000 journals related to nursing and allied health, including rehabiliation.  

Cochrane Library: This database consists of a collection of evidence-based medicince databases, and provides information related to health care decisions.

Education Sources: Includes full text articles from a wide range of journals related to education. 

ERIC: Education Resources Information Center; this database is a good place to start your research. It covers a broad range of journal articles, technical reports, curricular materials, research documents, etc. 

Medline: This database provides bibliographic indexing provided by the National Library of Medicine.

PsycINFO: Covers professional and academic literature in psychology.

Social Services Abstracts: This database covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related topics. 

Special Education Databases

Academic Search Complete - A large interdisciplinary database useful for finding full text articles from a wide range of periodicals and journals. 

CINAHL - Covers over 3,000 journals related to healthcare and nursing. Includes standards, conference proceedings, and educational software. 

CMMC (Communication & Mass Media Complete) - Contains conprehensive coverage of core communication and mass media journals, including many articles discussing technology in education. 

Cochrane Library - This database consists of a collection of evidence-based medicince databases, and provides information related to health care decisions.

DSM Library - Online access to the DSM-V, the DSM-IV-TR, Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and Cases from the DSM-IV-TRnline access to the DSM-V, the DSM-IV-TR, Handbook of Differential Diagnosis and Cases from the DSM-IV-TR

Education Source - Formerly Education Full Text; Includes full text articles from a wide range of journals related to education. 

Education in Video - Contains videos intended for training and developing teachers, including primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. This collection can be searched by grade level, subject, topic, educational theory, and more. 

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center; this database is a good place to start your research. It covers a broad range of journal articles, technical reports, curricular materials, research documents, etc. 

Google Scholar - Google powered search tool that searches for scholarly materials like books, peer-reviewed papers, abstracts, articles, theses, and technical reports. Some full text articles require a paid subscription, so be sure to access this database through the UT Libraries so that you can access the subscriptions already paid for by the library. 

LLBA (Linguistics & Langauge Behavior Abstracts) - Includes citations and abstracts related to the teaching of language. 

Medline - This database provides bibliographic indexing provided by the National Library of Medicine.

PsycINFO - Covers professional and academic literature in psychology.

Social Services Abstracts - This database covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related topics. 

Subject Librarians

 Janelle Hedstrom
 
Education Librarian

 

Laura White
Education Graduate Research Assistant

Email: EdLibrarian@lib.utexas.edu

Meet: Request a consultation (available in person or via Adobe Connect)