Official White House website
http://www.whitehouse.gov
- Includes policies in focus, press briefings, radio addresses, etc. for the current administration
- Hint: Use the search box in the upper right-hand corner for specific information
Weekly Compilation of presidential documents, 1993-Present
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/wcomp/index.html
- Statements, executive orders, meetings with foreign leaders, and other presidential materials released each week
- Coverage includes the Clinton and Bush administrations
Foreign Relations of the United States
http://www.state.gov/www/about_state/history/frusonline.html
- This Department of State series “presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant
diplomatic activity.” Coverage includes the Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, and Johnson administrations, roughly from 1945-1968.
Finding Legislative Information
Thomas, 1973-Present
http://thomas.loc.gov/
GPO Access, 1993-present
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/index.html
- These databases contain bills, the congressional record, committee reports, hearings, public laws, etc.
LexisNexis Congressional
- Find congressional documents in full-text, including unpublished hearings.
- Also includes a ‘hot topics’ link of publications about popular public policy issues at the moment.
Finding Country Background Information
Bureau of Public Affairs Background Notes
http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/
- Department of State's background information on countries around the world. Each entry includes sections on history, economy, government,
geography and the people. Includes foreign relations information focusing on the U.S.
Library of Congress Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
- These online books provide a historical perspective on over 100 countries and include information about the historical setting and the social,
economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of each country.
Finding Articles
From the library's "Databases & Indexes to Articles" page
(http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes),
look up each database
alphabetically. You may access these database from home with your UTEID.
LexisNexis Academic
– (dates of coverage vary) Primarily newspaper and magazine articles, the majority of which are full-text.
- Find news from national and international newspapers using Guided News Search.
- For international newspapers:
- Step one: Choose "World News"
- Step two: Choose "Middle East/Africa Sources"
- For major national and international newspapers,
- Step one: Choose "General News"
- Step two: Choose "Major Papers "
CQ Researcher
– (1991 - present) Full-text of reports written by experienced journalists exploring a
popular issue in-depth. Presents both sides of each issue, and features comments from
experts, lawmakers and citizens. Contains numerous statistics, charts, graphs and sidebar
articles.
PolicyFile
- (1990 - present) Includes public policy research and publication abstracts from
think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are
made available within individual abstracts.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
– (1991 - present) This index includes working papers written by scholars, conference
proceedings, journal abstracts, and books dealing with theory and research in
international affairs.
PAIS International
– (1972 - present) This index has article abstracts from over 120 countries covering
the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
Hint: If the article is not full-text in the database, search the
Library Catalog for the title of the journal, not the title of the article.
Finding Books
Library Catalog
http://utdirect.utexas.edu/lib/utnetcat/
Search the library’s online catalog for encyclopedias, almanacs, and other
sources. Useful general subject searches include ‘united states,’ ‘foreign
relations,’ and ‘middle east.’
General Resources
Tips on evaluating Web sites
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/students/find/eval.html
For Undergraduates
Tips on how to find and cite your research!
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/students