University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | My Account | Sitemap | Help

University of Texas Libraries


About Us
News
Contest
New Books

Virtual Tour
Library Hours
Library Map
Parking

Contact Us

Part Two: Using Search Results

IPA / International Pharmaceutical Abstracts

EBSCO WEB ACCESS Help Sheet

Part Three: Sample Search


VIEWING RESULTS

  • The Results List shows how many results were retrieved by the search. The first 10 results displayed on the screen; you can toggle through the results by clicking on the arrows.

  • Once a search has been performed, the first 10 results (or however many are in the set if less than 10) will be displayed.
PRINT / SAVE / EMAIL
  • Notice the folder icon near the upper-right portion of the screen.folder is empty icon
  • Select the records you wish to retain by clicking on the "add-to-folder" icon next to the records.Add Button
  • The "add-to-folder" icon will change once your record has been added to the folder. Added to Folder
  • Once you have made your selections, click on the Folder to access the "View Folder" screen.
    folder has items icon
  • Folder contents can be printed, emailed, exported to a bibliographic program (like RefWorks or EndNote) or tool (like BibTex) or saved to disk.
  • If you choose to Save to Disk, the Save Manager provides the option to save citations in a bibliographic format such as AMA or APA. If you choose the standard field format option, you will save general citation information along with an abstract.

    save manager screen

FINDING THE FULL-TEXT OF ARTICLES


The IPA database, unlike some other EBSCO products, is not a full-text database. To find the full-text of articles that you are interested in, you must first determine whether the journals containing these articles are available on campus. You can use the link included in the database, but due to the way it "searches" UT Library Catalog, it may "miss" something that UT does have. We recommend opening an additional browser window and searching the catalog directly, to ensure accurate results.

  • Search the title of the journal in UT Library Catalog to determine if UT subscribes to the journal you need.
  • If the title (and the volume you need) is available on campus, determine which library holds it and its accompanying call number.
  • If the journal is not listed in UT Library Catalog, check the Online Journals list to see if UT subscribes to an electronic version of the journal.
  • Special Note: The ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting abstracts that appear in IPA are complete abstracts - no articles or "transcriptions" of the meetings are available.

EXITING THE PROGRAM

  • To exit the IPA program, click on  the exit link link located in the upper-right corner of the screen.

Part Three: Sample Search




Return to Life Science Library Home Page
URL : http://www.lib.utexas.edu/lsl/ipa/ipa_ebsco.html
Created 8/02, last updated 10/02/02
Send comments or suggestions to life-science-reference@utlists.utexas.edu
Life Science Library, The University of Texas at Austin.