University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

The Courting of Marcus Dupree

[Longhorn Review] The Courting of Marcus Dupree

Material Type: All, books — Tags: athletics, biography, civil rights, football, Mississippi — Posted on November 17, 2008, 11:04 am

By: Morris, Willie

One of many fine books by this quasi-native son, The Courting of Marcus Dupree
chronicles the feverish college recruitment of a promising high school football
player in the early ‘80s. Willie Morris, an editor of the Daily Texan in the 50’s,
after a stint in The Big Apple returned home to Mississippi and found this story
there. It’s more than the story of a high school football star and his family
working their way through the tangle of possibilities and promises offered in the
recruitment process. It’s a look into the soul of this town where twenty years
before three young civil rights workers had been murdered.

Reviewer: Janice Duff

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

The Saga of Billy the Kid

[Longhorn Review] The Saga of Billy the Kid

Material Type: All, books — Tags: Billy the Kid, biography, history — Posted on November 17, 2008, 11:02 am

By: Burns, Walter Noble

Billy the Kid is the subject of many books and movies. Bob Dylan, called by one
of our English faculty “the American Homer,” wrote the music for one of movies.
Michael Ondaatje, author of The English Patient, wrote a book of poems and vignettes
in Billy’s stead. I doubt our interest in Billy would have thrived so if not for
Burns’ book, published in 1926 and based on accounts of people living then who had
known Billy. Burns creates such a sympathetic character and tells the story so well,
not wanting to go to sleep with Billy’s end on my mind, I had to stop reading just
before the death scene.

Reviewer: Janice Duff

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

The Extra Mile: One Woman’s Personal Journey to Ultra-running Greatness

[Longhorn Review] The Extra Mile: One Woman’s Personal Journey to Ultra-running Greatness

Material Type: All, books — Tags: athletes, athletics, marathons, memoir, running — Posted on November 17, 2008, 10:54 am

By: Reed, Pam

Those who’d rather go for a run before breakfast, or who want to know why anyone
would, can find some insight here. Pam Reed is an ultra-runner, one of those who run
races of 100+ miles. After such a run, in the dessert, she will eat, sleep, wake up
and – yes, you guessed it – go for a little run, a short one with a friend, maybe 4
or 5 miles. Whether you’re a marathoner or a couch potato, you will be amazed by
this woman’s drive.

Reviewer: Janice Duff

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Life Is Meals: A Food Lover’s Book of Days

[Longhorn Review] Life Is Meals: A Food Lover’s Book of Days

Material Type: All, books — Tags: cooking, food, gastronomy — Posted on November 17, 2008, 10:52 am

By: Salter, James

If you’re looking for a gift for the cook, or a good little read with your
morning tea, you can’t do better than this collection of offerings from a couple’s
lifetime of reading and cooking. A portrait of big eater Diamond Jim Brady, the
development of the microwave, pitting an olive, a homily on gleaning – one for every
day of the year, and each entry gives pleasure.

Reviewer: Janice Duff

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Los comerciantes de Huajuapan de León, Oaxaca, 1920-1980

[Longhorn Review] Los comerciantes de Huajuapan de León, Oaxaca, 1920-1980

Material Type: All, books — Tags: history, Mexico — Posted on November 16, 2008, 11:55 am

By: Steffen, Cristina

Interesting book with lots of information about the time period and interpersonal
relationships/dynamics between influential families in a typical Mexican
town.

Reviewer: Longhorn Reviewer

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

The Fosse style

[Longhorn Review] The Fosse style

Material Type: All, books — Tags: falstaffpicks, jazz dance — Posted on November 14, 2008, 12:22 pm

By: Debra McWaters

Choreographer for musicals "The Pajama Game," "Damn Yankees!," "Sweet Charity,"
"Cabaret," "Pippin," and "Chicago," among others

Reviewer: Beth

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Nature and its symbols

[Longhorn Review] Nature and its symbols

Material Type: All, Books — Tags: animals, falstaffpicks, iconography, imagery, plants, symbolism in art — Posted on November 14, 2008, 12:19 pm

By: Lucia Impelluso

These volumes in the 

(Guide to Imagery series) continue to be of use to students
studying iconography.  Over and over again, the answers to meanings of subjects
within artworks are found in these volumes.

Reviewer: Laura

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Trisha Brown : so that the audience does not know whether I have stopped dancing

[Longhorn Review] Trisha Brown : so that the audience does not know whether I have stopped dancing

Material Type: All, Books — Tags: dance in art, exhibitions, falstaffpicks — Posted on November 14, 2008, 12:14 pm

By: Peter Eleey

The Walker Art Center presents the exhibition Trisha Brown: So That the Audience
Does Not Know Whether I Have Stopped Dancing, the centerpiece of a spectrum of
programs honoring the 40-year career of this contemporary dance icon at a moment of
increasing interest in the broad sweep of her work and its influence. Providing an
in-depth look at Brown’s visual arts practice, the exhibition features a survey of
the artist’s drawings going back thirty-five years, a live early performance work in
the gallery, and videos of seminal early performances.”

from e-flux: (http://www.e-flux.com/shows/view/5332)

Reviewer: Beth

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Buried Child

[Longhorn Review] Buried Child

Material Type: All, books — Tags: family, Midwest, play, pulitzer prize — Posted on November 10, 2008, 3:02 pm

By: Shepard, Sam

Last Fall, Sam Shepard made a visit to the Fine Arts Library. The evening before
he arrived, I thought I should read his Pulitzer Prize winning play, Buried Child.
In addition, Beth Kerr, Theatre/Dance Librarian told me if you can only read one
thing before Shepard arrives, read Buried Child. This play is about a dysfunctional
family, set on a farm in the Midwest. Shepard does an excellent job describing the
strained relations amongst the three generations of family members. The family
secret, the mystery of the “Buried Child” is revealed in the third act of the play.
Now I recommend it to patrons who look at the Shepard materials on display and want
to read something by him.

Reviewer: Laura Schwartz

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Shakey: Neil Young’s Biography

[Longhorn Review] Shakey: Neil Young’s Biography

Material Type: All, books — Tags: biography, Music, Neil Young, rock — Posted on November 10, 2008, 3:00 pm

By: McDonough, Jimmy

I’m a huge Neil Young fan. I grew up in the 1970s and remember listening to so
many of his songs on the radio. A few years ago, my favorite cousin Joey was
visiting for SXSW and brought Shakey with him. During the day, he sat on the porch
and could not put it down (at night he was downtown rockin’ out). He said the book
was really interesting, especially if you like Neil Young and music from the 60s and
70s. We had a copy at the Fine Arts Library and I checked it out. What an excellent
biography. Young is very private and this is the first in depth account of his life.
I highly recommend this account of Young’s life.

Reviewer: Laura Schwartz

View this item in the Library Catalog

Submit your own review of this item

Syndicate content