Getting Started


The Walter Geology Library, including the Tobin Map Collection, is the place to find United States Geological Survey (USGS) publications at University of Texas at Austin, with the exception of certain items such as topographic maps outside of Texas.

The goal of this USGS Collection Guide is to help patrons find a citation of a USGS publication, search the library catalog, and then locate the item on the library shelves. The guide is geared towards print materials, although many current USGS documents are available online.

USGS publications are cataloged by either series or title. Many, but not all, USGS documents in the Geology Library are shelved in chronological and numerical order within a series.


The USGS has revised its series a few times. See Revised USGS and Historical Series for more information on new, discontinued, and revised titles.

Finding USGS Publications

Use the following databases and bibliographies to find a citation that includes series, title, author, publication date, and volume. Once you have a citation, you can search the library catalog. Our online resources, such as GeoRef, do not always interact directly with our Library Catalog.

Restricted to UT faculty, students, and staff.

Restricted to UT faculty, students, and staff.

National Geologic Map Database
Geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.

USGS Publications Warehouse
The Advanced search allows you to limit search by publication series. Older, print editions are available in the Geology Library.

Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
Geological Society of America.

Bibliography and Index of Texas Geology, 1981-1985

Guide to USGS Geologic and Hydrologic Maps

Subject Specialist

Dennis Trombatore
Dennis Trombatore
Head Geology Librarian

Geology Library Information

Phone: (512) 495-4680

Location: Jackson Geological Sciences Building (JGB) 4.202

Map of JGB on Campus

Library Layout Map

Comments or Suggestions?

Contact Information
Both fields are optional. Indicate your name and email so we can contact you, if needed.