Transportation Subject Guide
Books
Indexes & Journals
Standards
Technical Reports
Government Information
Professional
and Research Organizations
We are all interested in transportation, whether the
particular interest is in pedestrian safety, providing supersonic jet service,
scheduling mass transit service, building the transportation infrastructure, or
designing a lightweight automobile. An investigation of a transportation
topic should include consideration of the Big Picture, whether or not the
researcher intends to cover every angle. Civil, mechanical, aerospace
engineering; public policy; and economics are some of the most obvious
disciplines - but not the only ones.
|
Books
The Library Catalog. Check here to see which books (and also which
journals) are available through UT Austin libraries. Materials in print
(books, journals, conference proceedings, etc.) are listed in the Library Catalog and links
to electronic resources (e-books, e-journals, online dissertations) are being
added. The University of Texas at Austin Law Library
has a separate catalog.
WorldCat (Select the first of the two "WorldCat" entries from the
list of "W" indexes).
This is a huge database of library holdings records. It may be used to
search for book and serials materials (though not individual book chapters,
journal articles or conference papers) not available at UT Austin. A
special function of WorldCat is indexing master's theses.
Selected books of interest:
Trip generation: trip generation rates, plots and equations. 6th ed., Washington DC : Institute of Transportation Engineers, 1997.
HE 371 A2 I5 1997 v.1-3 Engineering Library Reference
Standard specifications for construction and maintenance of highways,
streets, and bridges: adopted by the Texas Department of Transportation, March 1, 1995.
TE 180 T49 1995 Engineering Library Reference
Highway design and traffic safety engineering handbook. New York
: McGraw-Hill, 1999.
TE 175 L36 1999 Engineering Library Reference
National transportation statistics / prepared by Research and Special
Programs Administration, Transportation Systems Center, Transportation
Information Division, Statistical Information Reporting Branch.
PCL Stacks HE 203 T76A 1977 through 1997
Microforms PCL Level 1 DOCS TD9.10: MCFICHE USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
Microforms PCL Level 1 DOCS TD12.1/2: 1997 MCFICHE USE IN LIBRARY
ONLY
Public Affairs Library - U.S. Documents DOCS TD12.1/2: 995 MCFICHE
through 999 MCFICHE
Transportation Statistics Annual Report
The Transportation Statistics Annual Report (TSAR) provides the most comprehensive
overview of U.S. transportation that is done on an annual basis. TSAR examines
the extent of the system, how it is used, how well it works, how it affects
people and the economy, and how it relates to energy use and environmental
impacts. It also outlines the state of transportation statistics and new
developments in data collection and analysis
*Remember Interlibrary Service (Interlibrary loan) when a book can not be obtained at UT Austin.
Indexes
The following indexes will help you find journal articles,
dissertations and conference papers. Links to these indexes are available
through the UT Library Online Databases and Indexes to Articles Web page.
- TRANSPORT
Divided into 2 files: newer and older. Contains the TRIS file of the
Transportation Research Board as well as the OECD's International Road Research
Documentation Database and the TRANSDOC file of European Conference of Ministers
of Transport.
- TRIS Online
The Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database is
the world's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on
transportation information. TRIS is produced and maintained by the Transportation Research Board at the National Academy of
Sciences. TRIS contains over a half million records of published and ongoing
research on all modes and disciplines in the field of transportation.
- SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) Digital Library Includes full text SAE technical papers (only those published by the SAE) and citations for SAE publications from 1906 to the present, as well as bibliographic references from ANSI, ASTM, International Organization for Standardization, National Protection Agency, and the Environmental Protection Agency. Cites mobility information used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on land or sea, in air or space; also includes accident reconstruction and occupant protection and safety. Additional backfiles of SAE technical papers are available on microfiche from 1984-2004 and selected papers are available in print from 1927.
- Academic Search Premier - a good source for undergraduates; many full-text articles; interdisciplinary, with good coverage of the applied sciences.
- Engineering Index
The most comprehensive index of engineering research literature. Search
Engineering Index online for the years 1970 - present. Historical
(pre-1970) volumes of Engineering Index are available in the Engineering
Library.
- IEEE Electronic Library
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards covering
electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, and physics.
- PAIS
Covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues
including issues relating to transportation.
- Aerospace & High Technology Database
Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, and space sciences.
- EconLit
Covers journals, books, and working papers on economics and includes issues
relating to transportation.
- Dissertation Abstracts
Contains more than 1.5 million entries representing the work of authors from over 1,000 North American and European universities. All
subject areas are covered.
- Lexis-Nexis
Provides both full-text and abstracts for a wide range of general-interest wire services, newspapers and magazines from around the
world.
- Factiva
A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, market
research reports, analysts reports and web sites.
- Web of Science
The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences.
Contact a librarian for information on using some of the special features of
this database.
Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching WorldCat
- OCLC WorldCat - WorldCat is a comprehensive database of library holdings around the U.S. and from a number of libraries around the world. It may be used to search for materials not available at UT Austin.
Once you find a book you want, you may be able to obtain materials NOT owned by UT Austin Libraries by going to InterLibrary Loan Services Borrowing. It is available to UT faculty, staff and students.
Journals
A number of transportation journals and journal articles are available full-text
online. A list of electronic journal collections available to UT Austin
users is available on the Find A Journal Web page. Electronic journal collections that include
transportation-related journals and journal articles include:
- SourceOECD can be used to gain online access to the SourceOECD/Studies/Transport titles from 2000 to the present.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier) Journals: Access to Transportation Research Parts A
- F and Transport Policy is provided through ScienceDirect.
- IEEE Electronic Library Online includes IEEE journals, conference
proceedings and standards.
- SpringerLink includes publications of the Springer
publishing group.
- Wiley Interscience provides online access to Wiley journals.
Linda Hall Library Digital Collections, full-text of the following indexes:
Engineering News (1874-1917),
Transactions of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (1884-1910)
Transactions of the American Society of Civil Engineers (1867-1920)
Transactions of the American Institute of Mining Engineers (1871-1904)
Standards
- AASHTO Provides electronic full-text of current AASHTO (American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials)
standards. Select "IHS Standards Expert" to begin the process of searching for the appropriate standards and then accessing the text.
- ASTM Provides electronic full-text of current ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Standards. Select "IHS Standards Expert" to
begin the process of searching for the appropriate standards and then accessing the text. ASTM standards include test methods, specifications, accepted practice, and accepted terminology.
- SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers)
- standards can be bought from the SAE website. The library no longer purchases SAE standards.
Technical Reports and Papers
- SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) Digital Library Includes full text SAE technical papers (only those published by the SAE) and citations for SAE publications from 1906 to the present, as well as bibliographic references from ANSI, ASTM, International Organization for Standardization, National Protection Agency, and the Environmental Protection Agency. Additional back files of SAE technical papers are available on microfiche from 1984-2004 and selected papers are available in print from 1927. SAE papers are indexed
in Engineering Index and partial indexing is available in the papers
section of the SAE Web site. SAE papers are available in
the Engineering Library on microfiche and older papers appear in the
SAE Transactions.
Please ask a for assistance if you need help locating an SAE Paper.
- AIAA Papers: The AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) publishes
approximately 4000 papers, presented at 20 conferences, each year.
The online version of the meeting papers allows access to full-text
scanned images; browsing by author, title, and conference. The database
covers 1996 to the present and will be updated regularly.
Government
Agencies and Government Compiled Information
Professional
and Research Organizations
Further Assistance
If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!