University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us

University of Texas Libraries

University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

Quick Links

Mobile Site

About the Library

Contact & Location


If we are offline email the Engineering Librarians or try Ask a Librarian

wordle “word clouds”Getting Started with Science Research


Finding Articles

Academic Search Complete- full-text database A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

IEEE Xplore - full-text database Provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings and current IEEE standards, covering electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science and physics.

Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge) - Covers more than 8,400 journals in all subject areas.

PubMed - Provides access to more than 10 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases. Links to the full-text articles are provided when available, subject to UT subscription status.

Search Multiple Databases at Once

Click EBSCOhost Research Databases to search multiple databases. Check the boxes next to the databases you want to search and click Continue when done.

UT has more than 60 databases available via EBSCOhost; here are some of titles useful for science research:

  • Academic Search Complete - full-text database Multi-disciplinary full-text database.
  • Agricola - Contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
  • Business Source Complete - full-text database Scholarly business database.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text - full-text database Source of full text for nursing & allied health journals.
  • Computer Source - full-text database Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.
  • GeoRef - Contains references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
  • Inspec - Contains more than 7 million citations, with abstracts to worldwide literature of physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computing and control and information technology.
  • MEDLINE - Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and much more.
  • Science & Technology Collection - full-text database Contains more than 830 leading full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.

Finding Books

Library Catalog: Search for Books, Journals, DVDs and More

E-books - We have more than 40 databases that provide full-text access to electronic books, including the following:

Additional Resources

Databases and Indexes by subject

Aerospace Engineering
Astronomy
Biology
Business
Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Engineering
Geological Sciences
Marine Science

Materials Science
Mathematics
Medicine
Nursing
Nutrition and Food
Pharmacy
Physics
Reference
Transportation

Library Specialists

Business:

  • April Kessler, akessler@austin.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4271

Chemistry:

Computer Science:

  • William Kopplin, wjkopplin@mail.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4268

Engineering:

  • Susan Ardis, s.ardis@mail.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4505
  • Larayne Dallas, ldallas@austin.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4503
  • Robyn Rosenberg, rrosenberg@austin.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4646

Geology:

  • Dennis Trombatore, drtgeol@mail.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4680

Life Science (includes Biology, Medicine, Nutrition, Pharmacy):

  • Nancy Elder, n.elder@mail.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4635
  • Roxanne Bogucka, roxanne.bogucka@austin.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4256

Marine Science

  • Liz DeHart, liz.dehart@mail.utexas.edu, (361) 749-6723

Physics, Math, Astronomy:

  • Molly White, mwhite@mail.utexas.edu, (512) 495-4610