STAR is a publication listing citations and abstracts of NASA and worldwide aerospace-related research. Updated biweekly, STAR highlights the most recent additions to the NASA scientific and technical information knowledge base. [The print indexes from 1963-1995 are in library storage]
The Engineering Library has a large collection of NASA reports in print and microfiche; if you don't see the report you need listed in the catalog, you should check the microfiche collection. First check the NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) because some full text is available and while we have many reports we do not have them all.
Online via NTRS In Print MICROFICHETechnical Report (TR) R-1 (1959) R-475 (1977)
TL 521 A335
Library Storage (Engineering Library)No Technical Notes (TN) D-1 (1959) to D-8529 (1977)
TL 521 A333
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
No Technical Memorandum (TM) X-23 (1959) to 108574
TL 521 A331
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
Previous Title:
NASA memorandum (1958-1959)
629.13072 UN3M
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
Cabinet:
NASA TMUSDOC number:
NAS1.15:
Contractor Report (CR) ** No. 2 to No. 182126
TL 521 A33
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
Cabinet:
NASA CRUSDOC number:
NAS1.26:Technical Translation (TT) TL 521 A338
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
[Incomplete see Catalog and **Additional records]Previous Title:
NASA republication.
TL 521 A336
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
Cabinet:
NASA TTUSDOC number:
NAS1.77:Special Publication (SP) SP-1 (1967) to SP-9000
TL 521 A337
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
Cabinet:
NASA SPUSDOC number:
NAS1.21:Conference Publication (CP) Various call numbers
Search the Catalog by Title and type nasa conference publication [report number]
Cabinet:
NASA CPUSDOC number:
NAS1.55:
Reference Publication (RP) 1001 (1979) to 1372
TL 787 U5494
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
Cabinet:
NASA RPUSDOC number:
NAS1.61:Technical Paper (TP) ** 1001 (1977) to 3347 (1993)
TL 787 N3839
Library Storage (Engineering Library)Cabinet:
NASA TPUSDOC number:
NAS1.60:
NASA - CASE (check NTRS patent search) NA Cabinet:
NASA-CASEUSDOC number:
NAS 1.71:Tech Briefs T 1 N3855 v. 1 to v.26
Library Storage (Engineering Library)Previous Title:
NASA Tech Brief
TL 521 A334 no. 63 to no. 78
Library Storage (Engineering Library)No Aeronautics and Space Report of the President Online 1995-2007
TL 789.8 U5 A58 1971-2001
Library Storage (Engineering Library)
No
**Some NASA reports are held at other UT libraries and may be cataloged by title.
Technical Memorandum (TM) - Scientific and technical findings that are preliminary or of specialized interest, e.g., quick release reports, working papers and bibliographies that contain minimal annotation. Does not contain extensive analysis.
Contractor Report (CR) - Scientific and technical findings by NASA-sponsored contractors and grantees.
Conference Publications (CP) - Collected papers from scientific and technical conferences, symposia, seminars or other meetings sponsored or co-sponsored by NASA.
Special Publication (SP) - Scientific, technical or historical information from NASA programs, projects and missions, often concerned with subjects having substantial public interest.
Technical Translation (TT) - English-language translations of foreign scientific and technical material pertinent to NASA's mission.
The National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics (NACA) was created in 1915 and was renamed the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in 1958.
MAGiC NACA Archive - This is the UK archive of digitised NACA Reports maintained by the AERADE team.
NACA collection - NASA's technical report server
- Aircraft Circulars (AC) - Reprints of articles giving specifications of individual aircraft, often from other countries.
- Annual Reports (AR) - Contain NACA’s Annual Report to Congress as well as Technical Reports produced in that year.
- Control Reports (CR)
- Technical Memorandum (TM) - Reprinted reports from other laboratories, often translations from foreign languages.
- Technical Notes (TN) - Report partial results or material of narrower interest. Selected information from these reports was often analyzed and refined for later publication in the more formal Technical Report series.
- Reports (TR) - Also called NACA Technical Reports (TR). Usually the final report on a project, summarizing earlier interim reports.
- Research Memorandum (RM) - Less formal reports issued to meet the need for rapid dissemination of aeronautical information.
- Wartime Reports (WR) - Published after World War II to make more widely available wartime research that had been previously issued in restricted series.
The library has a incomplete run of the following:
Aircraft Circulars
Annual Reports
Technical Memorandum
Technical Notes
Research Memorandum
Wartime Reports: Series A; Series E; Series L; Series W
Index of NACA technical publications - 1915-1960