Materials Science and Engineering Subject Guide
Finding Articles
Selected Reference Materials
Materials Properties Data
Product Catalogs
UT Departments and Institutes
Additional Library Resources
Further Assistance
Materials
Science and engineering is an interdisciplinary area of study that investigates
the composition and structure of materials. It combines
aspects of metallurgy, physics and chemistry, as well as electrical and mechanical
engineering. Materials studied and applied are generally divided into
categories: metals, polymers, semiconductors, ceramics, composite
materials and more recently biomaterials and nanomaterials. Properties of materials determine the selection or design of a material for an enormous variety of applications, ranging from
structural steels to computer microchips based on its properties.
Finding Articles
Links to these indexes are available
through the Find Articles using Databases web page.
- Compendex - The most comprehensive index of engineering research literature.
- SciFinder
Scholar - A worldwide index of scholarly
articles, conference papers and patents in chemistry and related areas.
- INSPEC - A worldwide index of scholarly, technical articles and conference
papers in all areas of physics
and electronics.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online - Internationally acclaimed
reference source covering chemical and process engineering, industrial and
applied chemistry, materials science, polymer science, biotechnology and
more.
- Web of Science - A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences.
- Aerospace Database
Full-Text Papers and Proceedings
- MRS (Materials Research Society) Proceedings Library - Features more than 50,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings [to locate papers prior to 1998 search the library's catalog.] Searching in this database also provides access to articles available through UT-Austin's subscriptions to journals from the MRS, the MRS Bulletin and Journal of Materials Research.
- IEEE Xplore - Provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings and current IEEE standards, covering electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science and physics.
- ASME Digital Library - Provides online access to the technical journals of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and to ASME conference papers, starting with 2008.
Journals
- To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature), either in print or electronic format, search the Catalog.
- To see if a particular journal is available in electronic format, search Find a Journal. You can also browse journal titles by category (i.e. Material Science and Metallurgy)
top of page
Selected Reference Materials:
Online:
- ASM Handbooks Online - Definitive source for data on all commercial alloys and composites. Includes the complete content of all 25 volumes of the ASM Handbook, plus two ASM Desk Editions. We also have the handbooks in print in the reference area: TA 459 M5
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online - Searchable, full-text access to an internationally acclaimed
reference source covering chemical and process engineering, industrial and
applied chemistry, materials science, polymer science, biotechnology and
more. Includes extensive information on chemical products, processes and
economics. We also have the print volumes in the reference area: TP 9 K54 2004
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - An electronic version of the 81st edition of print handbook. Includes several updated and expanded tables.
Print Reference:
- Dekker Encyclopedia of nanoscience and nanotechnology, 2004 (5 volumes)
T 174.7 D455 2004 Engineering Library
- Encyclopedia of materials science and engineering. 1986. (8 volumes)
TA 402 E53 Engineering Library
- Encyclopedia of polymer science and engineering. 1985-.
(17 volumes).
TP 1087 E46 Chemistry Library
top of page
Materials Properties Data
UT Databases
- ASM Alloy Center Online - Includes ASM property data, performance charts, and processing guidelines for specific metals and alloys.
- ASM Phase Diagrams - more than 28,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 6,200 systems. For more information on Phase Diagrams see Phase Diagram information
- CINDAS, LLC - Focuses on the properties and behavior of materials. Includes the following three databases:
- Polymers: A Property Database - Searchable electronic reference book on properties and applications of important polymers.
- Material ConneXion - Provides full-text access to information on more than 1,400 different materials representing eight categories: polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives.
Web sites
- ChemFinder - Basic chemical data and structures are displayed, along with links to
further information found in supplier catalogs, MSDS, regulatory databases,
etc. Searchable by name/fragment, formula, MP, BP, CAS registry number,
molecular weight and encoded (ChemDraw) structure.
- Materials Safety Data Sheets on
the Internet
- MatWeb - Online Materials Information
Resource. Provides free materials property data for more than 13,000 generic and commercial
engineering materials. Searchable by common and trade name, name fragment
and composition.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook - The NIST Chemistry WebBook contains thermochemical data for more than 5,000
organic and small inorganic compounds, reaction thermochemistry data
for more than 8,000 reactions, IR spectra for more than 5,000 compounds, mass spectra
for more than 10,000 compounds, electronic / vibrational spectra for more than
3,000 compounds, constants of diatomic molecules (spectroscopic data)
for more than 600 compounds, ion energetics data for more than 14,000 compounds
and thermophysical property data for 16 fluids.Structures are given
for most species, as well as common and commercial names.
- NIST Materials Science Portal
- NIST Physical
Reference Data - This site compiles and organizes many kinds of critically evaluated
and up-to-date physical data, with searchable bibliographic sources. Physical
constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopic data, ionization data,
x-ray and gamma-ray data, nuclear physics data and condensed matter
data, etc.
- PhysProp Database - The Physical Properties Database contains names and physical properties
for more than 25,250 chemicals. Physical properties are collected from a
wide variety of sources and include experimental, extrapolated and
estimated values for melting point, boiling point, water solubility,
octanol-water partition coefficient, vapor pressure, pKa, Henry's law
constant and OH rate constant in the atmosphere. The web demo version
is searchable only by CAS registry number and does not show chemical
structures or full literature references.
- ThermoDex - Produced by the University of Texas Chemistry Library, this tool identifies printed handbooks
that contain thermodynamic data on substances of interest.
- Thermodynamic
Data and Property Calculation Sites on the Web - Meta data site maintained by the Thermodynamics Research Laboratory
at the University of Illinois-Chicago.
top of page
Product Catalogs
- Sigma-Aldrich Catalog - Searchable product catalog from a major research chemical
supplier. Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number. Chemical/physical
information, structure image and MSDS are displayable.
- Thomas Register (ThomCat) - Electronic version of a well-known index to manufacturers,
producers and sellers of industrial goods and services.
top of page
UT Departments and Institutes
top of page
Additional Library Resources
top of page
Further Assistance
If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
top of page