University of Texas Libraries

Top 20 Indexes and Databases with Engineering Information


Indexes

Academic Search Complete - A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Aerospace & High Technology Database - Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, and space sciences. Also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics.

Business Source Complete - A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Compendex - Contains more than 1 million citations with abstracts from more than 4,500 journals, reports and conference proceedings covering fields of engineering and technology.

IEEE Xplore - IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

INSPEC - Contains more than 7 million citations with abstracts to worldwide literature of physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computing and control, and information technology.

SciFinder - Provides integrated access to Chemical Abstracts (over 26 million records covering the worldwide chemical literature, including patents), Registry (over 30 million substance records, with chemical structures, names, synonyms, and property data), CASREACT (organic reactions).

TRANSPORT- Provides bibliographic coverage of transportation research and economic information. Coverage is international.

Web of Science - Covers more than 8,400 journals in all subject area.

Publisher Based Databases

AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) Electronic Library - Provides a searchable interface to the Institute's publications, covering all aspects of aerospace. Full-text access from 2002 to present is available to the journals and meeting papers.

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) Online Research Library - Provide full text access to all publications of the ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers), including all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.

SAE (Society of Automotive Engineers) Digital Library - Includes full text SAE technical papers (only those published by the SAE) and citations for SAE publications from 1906 to the present. [Additional backfiles of SAE technical papers are available on microfiche from 1984-2004 and selected papers are available in print from 1927 at the Engineering Library.]

SPIE Digital Library - SPIE journals and proceedings are core information resources for the subject areas of optics, photonics and imaging.

Specialized Databases

ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbooks Online - Includes the complete content of all twenty volumes of the ASM Handbook plus two ASM Desk Editions.

ASM (American Society for Metals) Phase Diagrams - Includes more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems.

DOE Information Bridge - Provides bibliographic and full text access to the Department of Energy (DOE) research and development reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Online - Searchable, full text access to an internationally acclaimed reference source covering chemical and process engineering, industrial and applied chemistry, materials science, polymer science, biotechnology, and more.

NASA Technical Reports Server - See our Finding NASA and NACE Reports for helpful information.

Standards and Specifications


Years of coverage vary from database to database. If you have a question or would like assistance, please speak with a reference librarian at 495-4511 or come by ECJ 1.300.