University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us

University of Texas Libraries

University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

Quick Links

Mobile Site

About the Library

Contact & Location


If we are offline email the Engineering Librarians or try Ask a Librarian

Resources for Applying to Graduate Schools

Resources on the Web
Books
Other Resources


Resources on the Web

U.S. News Engineering Schools Rankings
U.S. News conducts surveys of college and university programs to compile annual rankings of the top academic institutions in the United States. The U.S. News puts out rankings for undergraduate institutions and for graduate programs in various subject areas based on self-reported data and peer rankings from colleges and universities. This list provides rankings of graduate programs in Engineering, including tuition statistics and total graduate engineering enrollment for each program listed. The site also enables searching the list of programs by various facets or categories, allowing you to browse programs according to the criteria of your choosing, and provides links to useful resources on related topics, such as advice for paying for graduate school in the field.

U.S. News Tips on Admissions to Graduate Schools
This U.S. News article offers insider tips on selecting graduate programs within the field of Engineering. The article recommends particular areas of study and offers advice on how to effectively apply to and receive admission to graduate schools in the field. This page also includes valuable links to other resources, such as pages with information on top graduate programs in specific engineering fields and other useful information pertaining to graduate school applicants.

IEEE Guide to How to Choose a Graduate School
This article from IEEE explains the need for engineering students to pursue graduate studies in order to build a successful career as an engineer. The article gives useful advice about how to approach the application process and how to get the most out of your graduate education in preparing to enter the field or increase your contributions to the field. The page also provides some links to selected resources that may be helpful for prospective graduate students.

top of page

Books

Books at UT Libraries


Graduate Programs in Engineering and Computer Science

The Ph.D. Process: A Student's Guide to Graduate School in the Sciences

How to Get a PhD: A Handbook for Students and their Supervisors

A Ph.D. Is Not Enough: A Guide To Survival In Science


Books Not at UT

Get Into Graduate School: A Strategic Approach for Master's and Doctoral Candidates

Find/order this book
Buy this book


Get Into Graduate School: A Strategic Approach for Master's and Doctoral Candidates

Find/order this book
Buy this book


How to Survive Your PhD: The Insider's Guide to Avoiding Mistakes, Choosing the Right Program, Working with Professors, and Just How a Person Actually Writes a 200-Page Paper


Find/order this book
Buy this book

top of page

Other Resources

IE Pre-Graduate School Internship
This is an internship and mentorship program that pairs undergraduates interested in attending graduate school in an engineering field with graduate students and faculty members in their area of interest. Students from all departments are invited to participate in the internship program for 1 course credit, and are responsible for contacting potential graduate student and faculty supervisors to arrange the internship. The program introduces students to the graduate school experience by providing the opportunity for undergraduates to observe and participate in actual graduate level activities. Students may assist mentors with preparing and teaching lesson plans, participate in lab research, attend graduate classes and seminars, and engage in other activities with their mentors that will enhance their understanding of graduate level work. This internship program is a great opportunity for undergraduates, particularly juniors and seniors, to explore their interest in attending graduate school in a particular area.

Freshman Research Initiative
This program provides an opportunity for freshmen to become involved in serious academic research under the guidance of faculty researchers. The program combines coursework in research areas with hands-on research experience, while supplementing this experience with weekly lectures from faculty members. This unique program is a great way for freshmen to acquire high level research experience and to prepare themselves early on for the type of research involved at the graduate level.

Undergraduate Research
This site provides a comprehensive overview of undergraduate research at the University of Texas at Austin. Weekly information sessions present information for undergraduate students about becoming involved in research at the University of Texas. These information sessions are a great way to become involved with research, which is a valuable asset in applying for graduate school. The sessions are held frequently and give undergraduates an opportunity to ask questions and discuss research strategies with Undergraduate Research Advisors.

Undergraduate Research Opportunities: Cockrell School of Engineering
This site is a step-by-step guide on how to become involved with undergraduate research at the Cockrell School of Engineering. This guide emphasizes the importance for undergraduates to take initiative in pursuing their research interests, as positions are often available but not always advertised. This page provides many resources to help students get started in this process, while also providing links to useful Web sites and other resources to assist students at each point along the way.


top of page