Energy Resources
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete - a good source for undergraduates; many full-text articles; interdisciplinary, with good coverage of the applied sciences.
- CQ Researcher - Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - topics include bioethics, cloning, genetic engineering, water pollution, stem cells, renewable energy, and more.
- Lexis/Nexis - Provides both full-text and abstracts for a wide range of general-interest wire services, newspapers and magazines from around the world, including full text of the New York Times.
- Web of Science - a subject/author index but unique in its cited-reference search - which scientific works have been cited and by whom.
Energy Journals
- To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature, Biomechanics), either in print or electronic format, search the Catalog.
- To see a list of electronic journals related to:
Engineering & Technology
- Engineering Index (EI) - contains Compendex, EI WEB - indexes scholarly journals and conferences in all areas of engineering.
- Aerospace & High Technology Database - Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, and space sciences. Also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics.
- more Engineering databases
Agriculture and Environmental
- AGRICOLA - Contains bibliographic citations with some abstracts covering agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics and rural sociology.
- Environmental Issues & Policy Index - Provides abstracting and indexing information for over 1000 titles in the area of environmental policy and studies
- Environment and Planning - Provides indexing to four journals devoted to urban planning, research and design
- GEOBASE - An interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, geology, ecology, environmental studies, international development and planning, oceanography, and related disciplines. Indexes and abstracts journals, books, monographs, reports, and theses.
- more Geology databases
Energy Business & Markets
- Business & Company Resource Center - Provides access to company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals.
- Business Source Complete - A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- more Business databases
Energy Policy
- PAIS International - Bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues.
- PolicyFile - research and publication abstracts in the field of public policy research and analysis. Includes public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers.
News & Newswires
- Lexis/Nexis - Provides both full-text and abstracts for a wide range of general-interest wire services, newspapers and magazines from around the world, including full text of the New York Times. Also provides access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases.
- Factiva - A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites
- Newspaper Source - Provides full text for 20 U.S. & international newspapers; also contains selected full text for more than 230 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
- InfoTrac Newspapers - Provides full-text access to over 100 newspapers, including titles of local interest like the Austin-American Statesman and the Houston Chronicle.
Government Agencies and Labs
Search
- USA.gov - Official information and services from the U.S. government
- Google Government - offers a single location for searching across U.S. government information, and for keeping up to date on government news
Internet Search Engines
Industry Associations
UT Sites
Interdisciplinary Research Centers
Academic Departments and Schools
Libraries
Advocacy and Grassroots Groups
University Research Centers