Self Help Tutorials -- [back to top]
The Engineering Library has created a number of specific tutorials, guides and subject pages and are available at this page. Here are a few selections:
Ergonomics -- [back to top]
Properties of the human body are important for product design, very specific information can be found; for example, length of arms by age, sex and ethnicity can all be found. For more information visit: Anthropometrics and Ergonomics
Finding Information in Articles, Books, & Papers -- [back to top]
Articles:
It is important to select the right index to find articles for your research. Generally the title of the index tells you which kind of journals are covered. SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) covers very few titles from the ASME or Prestressed Concrete Institute while EI Compendex (Engineering Index) covers both in depth. Allow yourself time to check multiple indexes, especially if the topic is interdisciplinary. The Engineering Library staff can provide assistance selecting indexes for engineering. A complete list of electronic indexes currently available to UT Austin users is available online. Many of these resources can be accessed from off campus locations.
Books:
*Remember InterLibrary Loan Services when an article or conference paper is not available in the University of Texas Libraries.
Standards (Voluntary and Required) -- [back to top]
In the United States industrial standards are produced by societies, trade groups, or individual companies. For more information on standards as a topic, see: Standards and Specifications at the Engineering Library
The following standards are available on the Web to valid UT Austin users. To access these standards, go to Databases and Indexes to Articles and select the following under the Databases Alphabetically by Title listing:
Standards available only in the Engineering Library
International Standards (ISO, IEC, ITU, DIN, etc.) are not collected or purchased by the University of Texas Libraries. For purchase information go to the individual standards organization web site or Global Engineering Documents Global Engineering Documents to purchase copies of standards from all national or international organizations and many companies.
Product Information -- [back to top]
Use a search engine such as www.google.com to find manufacturing, supplier, and other company webpages.
Directory of engineering supply catalogs; site has a useful guided "how-to" tour. Search for products with certain specifications (e.g. electrical output, size) and more.
Its catalog includes 78,000 MRO supplies, including tools, lighting, electrical supplies, distribution and control products, motors, sanitary supplies and equipment, maintenance and safety supplies, and HVAC, storage and material handling equipment.
Well known supplier of over 340,000 items. They stock everything from aluminum ingots to pipe wrenches.
Searchable product catalog from a major research chemical supplier. Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number. Chemical/physical information, structure image, and MSDS are displayable.
Contains directories, phone books, and product catalogs of a number of high tech companies.
Electronic version of a well-known index to manufactures, producers, and sellers of industrial goods and services.
Material Properties -- [back to top]
Every material has physical, electrical, mechanical, optical, and chemical properties. Data on specific materials can be found in
Go to: our Materials Science and Engineering subject guide for a list of selected handbooks, encyclopedias, and websites on materials science and engineering .
Also: Remember the Engineering Library's Reference Shelf! This shelf in the library is loaded with handbooks and other sources for material properties information.
Proprietary Information -- [back to top]
Every individual, government agency, and company has information that they keep secret. Proprietary information is the name given to company information that is closely held--kept secret. For more information on this topic go to: our proprietary information and competitive intellengence subject guide
Patents -- [back to top]
U.S. patents describe new, original, descriptions of actual solutions to perceived problems. Patent searching can be frustrating, labor intensive and important. For a tutorial on how to effectively search full text US patents (with images) go to the Engineering Library's Patent Searching: Tutorial and Guide to Online Resources and Information .
Searching patents online can be done at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office website.Expertise Databases -- [back to top] Sometimes you need a technical expert. Good places to look include: Provides information on researchers and their research activity. Most of the listed researchers are located within universities or government research facilities. UT College of Engineering people are listed here.
Weather and Climate [back to top] Current weather data is available from NOAA.
Historical weather data including storm, precipitation can be purchased from NOAA's publications department.
Historical data for Texas and several other states is available in the Engineering Library. Contact the Engineering Library before you buy any data.
Safety and Codes of Ethics [back to top]
Codes of Ethics can be found on Engineering Society web sites, for example ASME and ASCE
A good source of safety information are the MSDS sheets ( Materials Safety Data Sheets)U.S. Federal Regulations: