- Building construction handbook
TH 151 C52 2006
- Architectural graphic standards
TH 2031 R35 2000
Engineering Library Reference
- Building design and construction handbook.
TH 151 B825 1982
- The civil engineering handbook.
TA 151 C57 2003
Engineering Library Reference
- Construction materials : types, uses, and applications.
TA 403 H59 1991
- Construction planning for engineers.
TA 194 G75 2000
- Contracts and the legal environment for engineers and architects
KF 902 D8 2000
- Encyclopedia of architecture : design, engineering & construction.
NA 31 E59 1988
Engineering Library Reference
- International building code.
KF 5701 A329 I524 most recent edition
Engineering Library Reference
R.S. Means® Publications (some examples in our collections):
- Assemblies cost data
TH 435 B848 2003
Engineering Library Reference
- Building construction cost data.
TH 435 B84 most recent edition
Engineering Library Reference
- Heavy construction cost data.
TH 435 M429 19TH 2005
Engineering Library Reference
- Square foot costs.
TH 435 M44 2007
Engineering Lib Reserves
- Means facilities maintenance & repair cost data.
TH 3301 M35 2005
Engineering Library Reference
- Mechanical cost data
TH 435 R583 most recent edition
Engineering Library Reference
- RS Means electrical cost data
TK 435 M42 most recent edition
Engineering Library Reference
- Environmental remediation cost data : assemblies cost book
TD 1052 E58 2000
Engineering Library Reference
Additional cost data books include:
- National Construction Estimator
TH 435 N37 2003
Engineering Library Reference
- National building cost manual
TH 435 N38 1998
Engineering Library Reference
Journals may be available in print and/or in an electronic format. Search journal titles in the library catalog to determine if we subscribe to a journal, to find which library holds the journal in a print format, and to find if there is an electronic version of the journal available.
Selected journals of interest from our collections:
- ENR
TA 1 E6 Engineering Library
(online access provided through several indexes; years of coverage vary)
- Civil Engineering
620.5 C499 Engineering Library
(online access provided through several indexes; years of coverage vary)
- Journal of Construction Engineering and Management (ASCE)
TA 630 A447 Engineering Library
(online access available through our subscription to the ASCE Journals; coverage from 1995-present)
- Construction management and economics
HD 9715 A1 C667 Engineering Library
(online access; coverage from 1996-present)
- Automation in Construction
(only available online through Science Direct)Some things to keep in mind when using electronic journals:
- Electronic journal coverage is usually limited to the most recent years of publication.
- It is often possible to search journal collection sites for articles on a specific topic. Keep in mind that this type of search is very limited. It is also a good idea to search some of the indexes listed below for broader coverage of a topic over a longer time period.
- Don't limit your search just to articles that are available online.
- In addition to electronic journal collections, full-text articles are available online through a number of indexes. Resources such as ABI Inform and Lexis Nexis may include the full-text of an article right in the index.
- If the journal your article is in is not available online, search the journal title in Catalog to see if the journal the article is in is available in the UT Austin libraries.
The following indexes will help you find journal articles, dissertations and conference papers. Links to indexes are available through the UT Library Online Databases and Indexes to Articles Web page.
- Compendex/Engineering Index: The most comprehensive index of engineering research literature. Historical (pre-1970) volumes of Engineering Index are available in the Engineering Library.
- TRANSPORT: Provides bibliographic coverage of transportation research and economic information. Contains the TRIS file of the Transportation Research Board and well as the OECD's International Road Research Documentation database and the TRANSDOC file of the European Conference of Ministers of Transport. TRIS Online is also available.
- IEEE Explore: provides full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, conference proceedings, and standards covering electrical and computer engineering, electronics, computer science, and physics.
- PAIS: Covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues including issues relating to construction.
- EconLit: Covers journals, books, and working papers on economics and includes issues relating to construction.
- Dissertation Abstracts International: Contains more than 2 million entries representing the work of authors from over 1,000 North American and European universities. All subject areas are covered.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic: Provides both full-text and abstracts for a wide range of general-interest wire services, newspapers and magazines from around the world. A legal database is included in Lexis-Nexis Academic.
- Factiva: A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers, newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites.
- Web of Science: The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. Contact a librarian for information on using some of the special features of this database.
- Business Source Complete: A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
*Remember Interlibrary Service (Interlibrary Loan) when an article or conference paper can not be obtained at UT-Austin
- ASHRAE - Provides electronic full-text access of current ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers) standards. Select "IHS Standards Expert" to begin the process of searching for the appropriate standards and then accessing the text.
- ASTM - Provides electronic full-text of current ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Standards. ASTM standards include test methods, specifications, accepted practice, and accepted terminology. Select "IHS Standards Expert" to begin the process of searching for the appropriate standards and then accessing the text
- NFPA - Provides electronic full-text access of current NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) standards. Included in the NFPA Standards is NFPA 70 - National Electrical Code. Select "IHS Standards Expert" to begin the process of searching for the appropriate standards and then accessing the text
In Print at the Library (not available online)
ACI (American Concrete Institute) Manual of Concrete Practice
TA 439 A252
Most recent edition is available in Engineering Library Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
Check the catalog for older volumesInternational Building Codes
KF 5701 A329 I524 2006 Engineering Library Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
KF 5701 A329 I524 2003 Engineering Library Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
KF 5701 A329 I524 2000 Engineering Library Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLY
NACE (National Association of Corrosion Engineers ) International book of standards
TA 462 N334 2001 V.1 - V.2 Engineering Library Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLYFor more information go to the Standards and Specifications web page.
- Environmental Protection Agency
- NTIS, the National Technical Information Service
- Occupational Outlook Handbook - Construction Trades and Related Workers (U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics)
- OSHA, the Occupational Health and Safety Administration
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Section 20 Construction and Housing)
- Transportation Research Board
- U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Building Technology
- U.S. Department of Energy Information Bridge includes full-text research reports related to energy studies.
- American Society of Civil Engineers
- Associated Builders and Contractors - ABC
- Associated General Contractors - AGC
- American Subcontractors Association - ASA
- Building Research Establishment (UK)
- Building Owners and Managers Association
- Center for Construction Industry Studies
- The Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers
- Construction Specifications Institute
- Construction Industry Institute
- Construction Innovation Forum
- Construction Management Association of America
- Construction Users Roundtable
- Design Build Institute of America
- International Association for Automation and Robotics in Construction
- International Council for Research and Innovation in Building and Construction Site
- Mechanical Contractors Association
- National Association of Women in Construction
- Project Management Institute
- Blue Book of Building and Construction - source of regional, classified and continuously updated construction information
- B4UBUILD - Building Codes, Construction Standards, Building Permit Information & Links
- McGraw-Hill Construction - market analysis and forecasting to industry trends and insights
If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
Get Help (Common questions and answers about library services)
- InterLibrary Services Borrowing will obtain books, article photocopies, and other material not owned by the University of Texas libraries. It is available to UT faculty, staff and students.