University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us

University of Texas Libraries

University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

Quick Links

Mobile Site

About the Library

Contact & Location


If we are offline email the Engineering Librarians or try Ask a Librarian

Style Guides - Citing Your Sources


Citing the sources you used when writing a paper or other assignment helps to avoid plagiarism and allows others to quickly identify and locate your sources.

Web sites

Books

Please check the catalog for availability

CSE (Council of Science Editors) Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, 7th Ed., 2006.
T 11 S386 2006 Life Science Library Reference; PCL Reference; PCL Stacks

The ACS (American Chemical Society) style guide: effective communication of scientific information, 3rd Ed., 2006.
Electronic Resource - Chapter 14 - PDF
QD 8.5 A25 2006 Chemistry Library Reserves; Chemistry Library Reference

Books on Communication in Engineering

Please check the catalog for availability

Integrating information into the engineering design process
T 10.7 I58 2014

Engineering communication
TA 158.5 K65 2015

Engineering skills for career success
TA 157 A385 2013

Engineering writing by design : creating formal documents of lasting value
T 11 R67 2014

Engineering Communication: from Principles to Practice
TA 158.5 I75 2013

What Every Engineer Should Know About Business Communication, 2008
[electronic resource]

Introduction to engineering communication
TA 158.5 H37 2005

Essential communication strategies for scientists, engineers, and technology professionals, 2nd Ed. 2003
Online [Access limited to users with UT Austin EID]

The MIT guide to science and engineering communication, 2nd ed.2002
Online [Access limited to users with UT Austin EID]

Strategies for engineering communication
TA 158.5 S74 2002

Books on Technical Writing

Please check the catalog for availability

Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words. 2011
Online [Access limited to users with UT Austin EID]

How to write and publish a scientific paper / Robert A. Day, Barbara Gastel.
T 11 D39 2012 Physics-Math-Astronomy Library [most chapters available on Amazon]

Writing Scientific Research Articles [electronic resource] : Strategy and Steps
Online [Access limited to users with UT Austin EID]

Scientific papers and presentations, 2005
T 11 D324 2005 Engineering Collection, PCL Stacks

Technical writing A-Z : a commonsense guide to engineering reports and theses, 2005
T 11 Y69 2005B Engineering Collection, PCL Stacks

A guide to writing as an engineer, 2005
T 11 B396 2005 Engineering Collection, PCL Stacks

Writing and speaking in the technology professions : a practical guide, 2nd Ed. 2003
T 11 W75 2003 Engineering Collection, PCL Stacks

Scientific writing easy when you know how, 2002
T 11 S34 2002 Engineering Collection, PCL Stacks
Online [Access limited to users with UT Austin EID]

Websites:

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
http://www.writing.engr.psu.edu/

 

Further Help

  • Undergraduate Writing Center -The Undergraduate Writing Center provides individual, professional advice on all aspects of writing to UT undergraduates on a drop-in basis or by appointment.

  • Writer's handbook - University of Wisconson-Madison Writing Center. Includes, Stages of the Writing Process, Common Types of Writing Assignments, Grammar and Punctuation, Improving Your Writing Style, and Citing References in Your Paper.

  • NoodleBib for MLA and APA - Generate, edit, and publish an MLA Works Cited list or APA References list that complies with the rules of the current MLA Handbook and APA Publication Manual. NoodleBib takes care of punctuation, alphabetization and formatting, producing a polished source list for import into Word.

  • Plagiarism - information from The University of Texas at Austin's Office of the Dean of Students