Biomaterials Research Guide
Selected Reference Materials
Journal Articles
Product Catalogs
Additional Library Resources
Further Assistance
Related subject guides: Biomedical Engineering Resources, Biomedical Devices, Material Science Subject Guide. See also the Chemistry Library's web site.
Data sources, Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- ASM Materials Handbook 1986-.(20 volumes)
definitive source for data on all commercial alloys and composites.
TA 459 M5 Engineering Library Reserves
and online
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Online - Searchable, full text access to an internationally acclaimed
reference source covering chemical and process engineering, industrial and
applied chemistry, materials science, polymer science, biotechnology, and
more. Includes extensive information on chemical products, processes, and
economics.
- BIOSCIENCEnetBASE: Biology References Online - Provides a collection of over 200 reference works and books on topics such as bioinformatics, biomedical engineering, biotechnology, epidemiology, immunology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and toxicology. A complete title list of all the resources included is available.
- Material ConneXion - Provides full text access to information on over 1,400 different materials representing eight categories: polymers, glass, ceramics, carbon-based materials, cement-based materials, metals, natural materials and natural material derivatives.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - An electronic version of the most recent edition of print handbook. Includes several updated and expanded tables.
- Encyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering
R 857 M3 E63 2004 Engineering Library
- Handbook of biomaterial properties
R 857 M3 H36 1998 Engineering Library
Journal Articles
- BIOSIS - Covers original research reports and reviews from approximately 6,000 journals in biological and biomedical areas.
- SciFinder
Scholar (Chemical Abstracts + Registry) - A worldwide index of scholarly
articles, conference papers and patents in chemistry and related areas.
- Chemical Abstracts Student Edition - Indexes and abstracts over 270 of the most widely held chemistry journals in chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering, and polymer science, as well as over 200,000 dissertations.
- Entrez -
includes PubMed, PubChem, gene and protein resources
- MEDLINE - Provides bibliographic indexing from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and more.
- Engineering Index - The most comprehensive index of engineering research literature. Search
Engineering Index online for the years 1970 - present. Historical
(pre-1970) volumes of Engineering Index are available in the Engineering
Library.
- INSPEC -INSPEC is a worldwide index of scholarly, technical articles and conference
papers in all areas of physics
and electronics
- Web of Science -The Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences.
Contact a librarian for information on using some of the special features of
this database.
Find Journals by Title
- To see if we have a particular journal (i.e. Nature), either in print or electronic format, search the Catalog.
- To see if particular journal is available in electronic format search Find a Journal.
Product Catalogs
- Sigma-Aldrich Catalog - Searchable product catalog from a major research chemical
supplier. Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number. Chemical/physical
information, structure image, and MSDS are displayable.
- Thomas Register (ThomCat) - Electronic version of a well-known index to manufactures,
producers, and sellers of industrial goods and services.
Additional Library Resources
Further Assistance
If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
top of page