Print Books
Library Catalog - Locate any of eight million items, including books, journals, and other materials in the University of Texas Libraries collections.
Example searches
Reference Books
Biomedical technology and devices handbook, 2004
R 856.15 B565 2004 Engineering LibraryEncyclopedia of biomaterials and biomedical engineering. 2004
R 857 M3 E63 2004 V.1-2 Engineering LibraryEncyclopedia of medical devices and instrumentation. 2006 Table of contents
R 856 A3 E53 2006 V.1 Engineering Lib Reference USE IN LIBRARY ONLYThe 2000-2005 world outlook for medical equipment. 2002
Electronic access limited to users with UT Austin EIDDesign controls for the medical device industry. 2003
R 856 A2 T45 2003 Engineering Library
Electronic access limited to users with UT Austin EIDElectronic Books
- netLibrary.com - provides access to full-text scholarly, reference and professional eBooks (electronic books) from leading university, academic and professional publishers.
- STAT!Ref Medical Reference Books - Provides full text access to key medical reference sources and textbooks.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files. A list of sources included in our subscription is available.
- ebrary Computers, Engineering and Applied Sciences Collection - This database is in test. This collection includes more than 2,000 full text books covering all areas in computing, engineering and applied sciences.
- ASM (American Society for Metals) Handbooks Online - Includes the complete content of all twenty volumes of the ASM Handbook plus two ASM Desk Editions. Part of ASM Materials Information which includes the ASM Alloy Center Online
- More online handbooks
Can't find what you're looking for? Try searching WorldCat
- OCLC WorldCat - WorldCat is a comprehensive database of library holdings around the U.S. and from a number of libraries around the world. It may be used to search for materials not available at UT Austin.
Once you find a book you want, you may be able to obtain materials NOT owned by UT Austin Libraries by going to InterLibrary Loan Services Borrowing. InterLibrary Services Borrowing will obtain books, article photocopies, and other material not owned by the University of Texas libraries. It is available to UT faculty, staff and students.
Databases
- Business Source Complete -A scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business. Additional content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- Biomedical Engineering databases
e-Journals
- Journal of validation technology
- Medical Device Business Week
- Medical Device Law Weekly
- Medical device technology
- Medical devices litigation reporter
Company and Industry Information
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Provides a comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies.
- Mergent Online - Provides immediate access to data on more than 10,000 NYSE, AMEX, Nasdaq and other select regional exchange companies.
- Business & Company Resource Center - Provides access to company profiles, company brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals. Also includes news, industry overviews, rankings, and more.
- Hoovers.com - Provides qualitative company profiles which contain company overviews and histories. D&B in-depth records are also not available.
- CorpTech - Contains detailed profiles on 50,000+ public and private manufacturers and developers of technology products. Seventeen high-tech industries are covered, including telecommunications, factory automation, computer hardware and software, defense, and biotech.
- ReferenceUSA - Contains basic directory information for more than 12 million businesses in all zip code areas of the United States.Also includes some federal, state, and municipal offices.
- Value Line Research Center - Provides online access to Value Line's leading publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks. User Limits: 6
Sample SIC codes:
3841-Surgical & Medical Instruments
3842 - Surgical Appliances And Supplies
3845 - Electromedical ApparatusSample NAICS codes:
334510 - Electromedical and Electrotherapeutic Apparatus Manufacturing
339112-Surgical and Medical Instrument Manufacturing
339113 - Surgical Appliance and Supplies ManufacturingInternational Business/Global Economics
- Business Monitor Online - Provides macroeconomic, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets.
- International Financial Statistics - Provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance.
News articles
- LexisNexis Academic - Provides both full-text and abstracts for a wide range of general-interest wire services, newspapers and magazines from around the world, including full text of the New York Times. Also provides access to company profiles and financial reports, government transcripts, trade journals and academic and legal databases.
- Factiva - (Dow Jones) A global information resource, providing full-text access to top national and international newspapers (including full text of the Wall Street Journal), newswires, business journals, market research reports, analysts reports and web sites. [Please select the logout option before you leave your session. When the limit is reached, a username and password prompt will probably be displayed. If this happens, simply wait 15 minutes and then try the link again.]
Market Research
- Mintel - Includes market research reports for Europe, the UK, and the US.
- Simmons Market Research Bureau's Choices 3 - Available only in the University of Texas Libraries on library work stations. Provides a collection of consumer data about product and brand usage.
Webs Sites
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration - Center for Devices and Radiological Health
- Office of Health and Consumer Goods (OHCG) Health Products & Technologies Industries
- Medical Device Manufactures Association
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
- U.S. Census Bureau
- MDSR - Medical Device Safety Reports
If you need further assistance don't hesitate to ask a librarian!