University of Texas at Austin
  Libraries Home | My Account | Sitemap | Help

University of Texas Libraries

Engineering Library
Quick Links

About the Library

Contact & Location

Hours

Book Return

Patents & Trademarks

Multimedia
DVDs Equipment

Ask the Engineering Library

Renew Books

Anthropometrics and Ergonomics


Definition of anthropometrics and ergonomics

Anthropometrics is the comparative study of human body measurements and properties. Ergonomics is the science of making the work environment safer and more comfortable for workers using design and anthropometric data.  

Books -- [back to top]

Finding Books and Conference Proceedings:

Data books: Properties and Anatomy of Humans

Selected resources--on-the-web:

Anthropometry and Mass Distribution for Human Analogues.  Report number ADA304353.pdf - full text available by report number.

Bone up on Anatomy published by the Southern California Orthopedic Institute, USA. This site offers anatomical images with commentary of the knee, hip, shoulder, hand, ankle, elbow, and spine.

 Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Human Anatomic Variation. An anatomic text prepared by Dr Ronald Bergman, Dr Adele Afifi and Dr Ryosuke Miyauchi and is hosted by the Virtual Hospital, University of Iowa. Provides information on the muscular and cardiovascular systems. 

Muscular Strength and Anthropometric Characteristics of Male and Female Naval Selected Anthropometric Dimensions of Naval Aviation Personnel.  Report number AD735101.pdf - full text available by report number.

Selective Guide to Literature on Industrial Ergonomics (pdf), compiled by Nester L. Osorio, Northern Illinois University Libraries

Selected Resources--in the Engineering library:

Anthropometric source book. Edited by staff of Anthropology Research Project, Webb Associates. NASA Technical Report. TL 787 U5494 no. 1024. Engineering Library Reference

Anthropometry of infants, children, and youths to age 18 for product safety design. University of Michigan. Highway Safety Research Institute. Washington 1977. GN 63 M62 Engineering Library

Bioastronautics.  Provides data on human waste generation and composition as well as maximum and minimum oxygen uptake. NASA SP 3006 1964. TL 571 A337 no. 3000-3006 Engineering Library.

Bodyspace : anthropometry, ergonomics, and the design of work.  Pheasant, Stephen.2nd ed. London. TA 166 P49 1996 PCL Stacks and Engineering Library 

Engineering physiology : bases of human factors/ergonomics.  Kroemer, K. H. E., 3rd ed.  New York. TA 166 K76 1997 PCL and Life Science Library

Human factors design handbook : information and guidelines for the design of systems, facilities, equipment, and products for human use.  Woodson, Wesley E.  2nd ed.  New York. TA 166 W57 1992 Engineering and Life Science Lib Reference

Handbook of ergonomic and human factors tables.  Weimer, Jon  Englewood Cliffs, N.J. TA 166 W45 1993 Engineering Lib Reference

Human factors reference guide for electronics and computer professionals.  Woodson, Wesley E.  New York . TK 7885 W64 1987 Engineering Lib Reference 

Reference Man.  Report of the task group on reference man. 1st ed. Oxford. 1975. Anatomical data and physiological characteristics of an average individual. RA 1231 R2 I2 NO.23 Engineering Library Reference.   

*Remember Interlibrary Loan Services when a book can not be obtained from the University of Texas Libraries.

 

Journals -- [back to top]

 This is a fast changing area, for specific up-to-date information see the Library Catalog and the Find a Journal pages.

 

Articles   -- [back to top]

Finding articles: 

Thousands of articles are available to valid UT-Austin users.  The following is a list of suggested places to look first.  For access, go to www.lib.utexas.edu, select Databases and Indexes to Articles, under the Research Tools heading and then select one of the following from the Databases Alphabetically by Title list.  

EI Compendex (Engineering Index)

EI is a worldwide index of scholarly and technical articles and conference papers in all areas of engineering.  Good coverage of biomedical engineering and ergonomics.

INSPEC

Primary index for scholarly, technical articles and conference papers in all areas of  electrical engineering, physics and electronics.

MEDLINE

Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical and allied health literature. Includes over 8.7 million records and covers more than 3,600 journals. 

PubMed  with links to participating online journals is also available through our Medline subscription.

SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts + Registry) 

A worldwide index of scholarly articles, conference papers and patents in chemistry and related areas.

SPORTDiscus

Provides citations to periodical and monographic literature in the areas of sport, exercise physiology, sports medicine, and physical fitness. 

Web of Science (Science Citation Index)

Provides coverage of scientific and technical journals in all areas of science.  The best use of this index is to find cited articles by a known author.

 

*Remember InterLibrary Loan Services when an article or conference paper is not available in our libraries.

 

Standards   -- [back to top]

 

Standards, Testing, safety, etc.

Standards are documented agreements containing technical specifications or other precise criteria to be used consistently as rules, guidelines, or definitions of characteristics, to ensure that materials, products, processes and services are fit for their purpose.

In the United States industrial standards are produced by societies, trade groups, or individual companies.  ASTM, ANSI, IEEE, and UL are examples societies who publish voluntary standards.  The American Tile Congress and Wire Rope Manufacturers are examples of trade groups who produce standards and recommended practices.  Ford and GM are examples of individual companies who produce standards.

The following standards are available on the Web to valid UT Austin users.   To access these standards, go to Databases and Indexes to Articles  and select the following under the Databases Alphabetically Title listing:

AASHTO
ANSI
API
ASME
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
ASTM
AWS
Mil specs--selected
IEEE
UL

Standards available only in the Engineering Library

ACI
NFPA
SAE

International Standards (ISO, IEC, ITU, DIN, etc.) are not collected or purchased by the University of Texas Libraries.  For purchase information go to the individual standards organization web site or Global Engineering Documents (http://www.global.ihs.com/ ) to purchase copies of standards from all national or international organizations and many companies.

 

Product Catalogs   -- [back to top]

IC Master

Source for current and discontinued ICS.  Includes device specifications for over 135,000 base part numbers from more than 345 manufacturers.  Also included are pinout and package data.

Grainger Catalog

Its catalog includes 78,000 MRO supplies, including tools, lighting, electrical supplies, distribution and control products, motors, sanitary supplies and equipment, maintenance and safety supplies, and HVAC, storage and material handling equipment.

McMaster-Carr

Well known supplier of over 340,000 items.  They stock everything from aluminum ingots to pipe wrenches.

Sigma-Aldrich Catalog

Searchable product catalog from a major research chemical supplier. Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number. Chemical/physical information, structure image, and MSDS are displayable.

Thomas Register (ThomCat)

Electronic version of a well-known index to manufactures, producers, and sellers of industrial goods and services.

 

Government Agencies and Government Compiled Information -- [back to top]

 U.S. Regulations and Laws

Government agencies, such as the Food and Drug Administration and EPA develop and adopt a detailed set of rules and regulations that govern day-to-day implementation and enforcement of federal laws.  Regulations are detailed rules through which federal law is carried out.  Regulations have the force of law.  Information that is used to determine what something is or is not, how something should or should not be done, and if something is breaking or following the law.

EPA, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to EPA environmental regulations, legislation and compliance assistance.

OSHA, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) 

NIST, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)   Provides an extensive guide as well and a toll free number to locate your local NIST partnership.

Safety Information Resources , contains databases of Manufacturer's Safety Data Sheets (MSDS). Good links to other sites.

CFR,  The Code of Federal Regulations is the official compilation of U.S. Federal Regulations.  It is arranged by subjects categories or "titles". These titles are further subdivided into chapters (one for each agency), then parts (general topic areas), and finally sections (actual text of the regulation).  Citations to the CFR look like this: 49 CFR 571.213 (1998).

 

Professional and Research Organizations -- [back to top]

 Sometimes you need to talk with an expert.  Societies and trade associations often maintain lists of experts who are willing to answer questions.

Associations and Societies. Excellent searchable listing by abbreviations (e.g. ASME) or name of thousands of U.S. and International professional and trade associations.

Community of Science.  Provides information on researchers and their research activity.  Most of the listed researchers are located within universities or government research facilities.

 Encyclopedia of Associations. (available to UT Austin users, follow the link for Gale's Ready Reference Shelf to access this resource) Searchable by name and subject. This is the grandfather of association and society listings. 

 

Technical Reports and Papers   -- [back to top]

 Finding technical reports: 

DTIC, Defense Technical Information Center Scientific and Technical Information Network (STINET) 

DTIC's Technical Report collection includes all unclassified DoD sponsored technical report citations since 1974. Some reports are available full-text online.  DoD's interests are widespread and include a strong interest in ergonomics and anthropometry as well as biological and medical sciences; environmental pollution and control; and the behavioral and social sciences. 

 

Patents   -- [back to top]

 Patent provide two kinds of information.   They provide a technical description of a patented device or composition of matter (drug, alloy, etc.).  Patents also provide the legal description of what was protected.  These are a good source of original, non-obvious technical solutions to problems as seen through an inventor's eyes. 

Patent Information—University of Texas at Austin Engineering Library tutorials
U.S. Patents (USPTO), searchable database of all U.S. patents.  
European Patent Office The free of charge patent search database provided by the European Patent Organisation. Very good source for U.S. as well as international patents; uses PDF images and allows expanded searching of pre-1976 patents.

 

Tutorials   -- [back to top]

 

Ethics [back to top]

 See examples at www.asme.org, www.asce.org.See also regulations and standards.