Free Science and Technology sources on the Web
Articles and Technical Reports
Government Sites
Encyclopedias
Multimedia
Articles and Technical Reports
- PLoS - Public Library of Science - A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
- arXiv.org - Open access to 467,937 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology and Statistics
- CiteSeerX - A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals - Covers free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
- ThermoDex - Contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook - Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.
- MSDS and Chemical Information -
Material Safety Data Sheets are extremely important in the safe handling of hazardous substances.
- PubMed - A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.
- WorldWideScience.org - A global science gateway, accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.
- OAIster - OAIster is a union catalog of digital resources. We provide access to these digital resources by "harvesting" their descriptive metadata (records) using OAI-PMH (the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting).
- INIS Database - Established in 1970, INIS represents the world's largest database of scientific and technical literature on a wide range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health and industry.
- Virtual Journals in Science and Technology - The Virtual Journals in the Physical Sciences series has been jointly developed by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) and the American Physical Society (APS). Each Virtual Journal presents an online collection of relevant papers from a broad range of source journals in the physical sciences.
- SPIE Letters Virtual Journal - SPIE Letters presents a virtual table of contents with links to abstracts and free, full-text downloads of all letters in their parent journals.
- QUAKELINE® - A bibliographic database developed and maintained by the MCEER Information Service. It covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazard and disaster mitigation and related topics. Varied publications are featured, including books, journal articles, conference papers, proceedings, technical reports, CDs, slides and videos.
top of page
Selected Government Sites
- Science Accelerator - Searches science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy.
- science.gov - A gateway to more than 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
- Science and Engineering Statistics (National Science Foundation) - Publications, data, and analyses about the nation's science and engineering resources.
- Data.gov
- FedStats - "Celebrating 10 years of making statistics from more than 100 agencies available to citizens everywhere."
- NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) - The NTRS collects scientific and technical information from NASA's technical report servers and non-NASA sites. Some full text is available.
- Department of Energy (DOE) Information Bridge - Provides access to full-text DOE research and development reports produced by the DOE and the DOE contractor research and development community in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy and other topics.
top of page
Encyclopedias
- The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) - Organizes and makes available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites — one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species — that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge.
- Encyclopedia of Earth - an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
- Medical Encyclopedia - The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
top of page
Multimedia
Images
- Science & Society Picture Library - Represents the collections of the Science Museum, the National Railway Museum and the National Museum of Photography, Film & Television, as well as a variety of related collections.
- iLumina - A digital library of shareable undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics and computer science.
- NASA Images - A service of Internet Archive, a nonprofit library, that offers public access to NASA's images, videos and audio collections.
- flickr commons - the goal is to increase access to publicly-held photography collections.
Podcasts
Videos
- TED: Ideas worth spreading - Devoted to giving millions of knowledge-seekers around the globe direct access to the world's greatest thinkers and teachers.
- Science in the Pub - Bringing you the best science in Austin, live from the Cactus Cafe since 2010.
- iTunesU - More than 800 universities have active iTunes U sites.
- MIT OpenCourseWare - free lecture notes, exams, and videos from MIT
- Open Yale Courses - provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University
top of page