myth 1

INTRODUCTION TO GREEK AND ROMAN MYTHOLOGY

This guide was developed for University of Texas undergraduate students beginning studies in Greek and Roman Mythology, and was designed to help you get started with your research. Standard abbreviations are used for the Perry-Castaneda Library (PCL), the Fine Arts Library (FAL) and the Classics Library (CLA).  If you need additional assistance please consult a librarian. 

GETTING STARTED – Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews

From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu arrow
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ arrow

select Gale Virtual Reference arrow search for myth, person or place
select Oxford Reference Online arrow search for myth, person or place

GETTING STARTED – Paper Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and other overviews

From the Library catalog http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu/, type in title search or visit following locations:

Oxford Classical Dictionary - DE 5 O9 Ref (PCL, CLA), or online through the Library catalog

Cassell’s Dictionary of Classical Mythology - BL 715 M37 1998 Ref (PCL, CLA)
includes ancient sources of myths

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology - DE 5 S68 Ref (PCL, CLA)

Place Names in Classical Mythology: Greece - DF 16 B45 1989 Ref (PCL, CLA)

Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes & Associations - BL 715 B44 Ref (PCL, CLA), BL 715 B44 Stacks (FAL)

Women of Classical Mythology: a Biographical Dictionary - BL 715 B445 1991 Ref (PCL), this item is also available full text online as an E book - see library catalog

Classical Mythology, Morford M.P.O. & Lenardon, R.J. - BL 722 M67 Ref (CLA), BL 722 M67 Stacks (PCL).

Additional encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks may be found through the Library Catalog http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu/ using subject or mixed keyword searches, for example:

Mythology, Classical – Dictionaries              Mythology, Greek – Dictionaries
Mythology, Classical – Encyclopedias          Mythology, Classical – Biography
Animals, Mythology                                      Women, Mythology

FINDING MYTHOLOGY SOURCES

Some of the dictionaries noted above will cite the source of the myths. In some cases you may need to look up authors’ names or titles from a list of abbreviations found in the first few pages of the dictionary. English translations of the cited works may be found online and in print.

Two Internet sites, which have full-text English translations of selected works, are:
Tufts University’s Perseus Project http://www.perseus.tufts.edu
MIT’s The Tech Classics Archive http://the-tech.mit.edu/classics

Printed translations of both Greek and Roman works are available in a set of volumes called the Loeb Classical Library. You will find these volumes in PCL, UGL and CLA by using a mixed-keyword search (mk) on the Library Catalog. Enter mixed keywords:  (name of author) Loeb. For example:
mk ovid loeb               or                     mk homer loeb

FINDING ARTICLES ON MYTHOLOGY

From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu arrow
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ arrow

select Academic OneFile arrow search for myth, person or place
select Academic Search Premier arrow search for myth, person or place
select L’Annee Philologique arrow search keyword myth, person or place in “full text”; then can limit to English language articles under “Other Criteria
select ATLA Religion Database arrow search by subject, keyword etc
Select Religion & Philosophy Collection arrow search by subject, keyword etc

           

    myth 3

Prepared by S. L. Shanafelt (6-1996)
Redesigned by G. Giovannone (01-2005) updated (10-2005) (05-2007)