INTRODUCTION TO GREEK AND LATIN LITERATURE
This guide was developed for University of Texas undergraduate students beginning studies in Greek and Latin Literature, and was designed to help you get started with your research. Standard abbreviations are used for the Perry-Castaneda Library (PCL) and the Classics Library (CLA). If you need additional assistance please consult a librarian.
GETTING STARTED – Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews |
From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu ![]()
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ ![]()
select Gale Virtual Reference
search for author, title subject
select Oxford Reference Online
search for author, title subject
select Literature Resource Center
search for author, title subject
GETTING STARTED – Paper Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews |
Oxford Classical Dictionary - DE 5 O9 Ref (PCL, CLA), or online through the Library catalog
Cambridge history of classical literature 1 – Greek - PA 3052 G73 1985 (CLA Ref)
Cambridge history of classical literature 2 – Latin - PA 3052 G73 1985 (CLA Ref)
The Classical world bibliography of Roman drama and poetry and ancient fiction - PA 6003 C528 (CLA Ref)
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism - PN 610 C537 V.1 - 76 (PCL Ref)
Ancient writers: Greece and Rome - PA 3002 A5 1982 V.1 & 2 (CLA Ref)
Additional encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks may be found through the Library Catalog http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu/ using subject or mixed keyword searches, for example:
Roman Literature Dictionaries Literature Greek Encyclopedia
Latin, Literature Dictionaries Classical literature Biography
Ancient Drama Classical Poetry
FINDING LITERATURE SOURCES |
Two Internet sites, which have full-text English translations of selected works, are:
Tufts University’s Perseus Project http://www.perseus.tufts.edu
MIT’s The Tech Classics Archive http://the-tech.mit.edu/classics
Printed translations of both Greek and Latin works are available in a set of volumes called the Loeb Classical Library. You will find these volumes in PCL and CLA by using a mixed-keyword search (mk) on the Library Catalog. Enter mixed keywords: (name of author) Loeb. For example:
mk ovid loeb or mk homer loeb
FINDING ARTICLES ON LITERATURE |
From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu ![]()
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ ![]()
select Academic OneFile
search for title, author, subject
select Academic Search Premier
search for title, author, subject
select L’Annee Philologique
search keyword for title, author, subject in “full text”; you can limit to English language articles under “Other Criteria”.
select Web of Science
general, advanced and cited searches
Designed by G. Giovannone (10-2005) updated (05-2007)