INTRODUCTION TO GREEK AND ROMAN ART
This guide was developed for University of Texas undergraduate students beginning studies in Greek and Roman Art, and was designed to help you get started with your research. Standard abbreviations are used for the Perry-Castaneda Library (PCL), the Fine Arts Library (FAL) and the Classics Library (CLA). If you need additional assistance please consult a librarian.
GETTING STARTED – Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews |
From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu ![]()
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ ![]()
select Art Images for College Teaching
select ancient and browse (images)
select ARTstor
launch, basic search or register for advanced search (images)
select DASE
login, select Classics Collection or art and art history visual resources collection, keyword or object search (images)
select WorldImages
quick search (images)
select Gale Virtual Reference
search by keyword etc (articles)
select Grove Art Online
various search strategies (articles)
There are also numerous databases on the web, such as:
The Beazley Archive - http://www.cvaonline.org/BeazleyAdmin/Script2/default.htm
The Archive also hosts a Greek/Roman Sculpture section, and a Greek Pottery text and image database with over 59,000 items. Note that, however, the database is password-protected and "use is restricted to universities, museums and other cultural institutions." Would-be users must first apply to the Database Director.
Perseus Art and Archaeology - http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/art&arch.html
The library's catalogs document 523 coins, 1548 vases, over 1400 sculptures, 179 sites and 381 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. This web site currently publishes over 33,000 pictures!
Electronic Resources for Classicists: The 2nd Generation - http://www.tlg.uci.edu/index/resources.html Numerous links to online resources, including image databases.
GETTING STARTED – Paper Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews |
A Handbook of Greek Art - N 5630 R49 (PCL, CLA, FAL)
A Handbook of Roman Art - a comprehensive survey of all the arts of the Roman world
N 5610 H35 1983 (FAL) N 5760 H36 1983B (CLA)
A History of Greek Art - N 5630 R63 (CLA, FAL)
Oxford Classical Dictionary - DE 5 O9 Ref (PCL, CLA), or online through the Library catalog
The Oxford History of Classical Art - N 5610 O84 1993 Ref & stacks (CLA, FAL)
FINDING ARTICLES ON ART |
From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu ![]()
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ ![]()
select Academic OneFile
search for title, author, subject
select Academic Search Premier
search for title, author, subject
select L’Annee Philologique
search keyword for title, author, subject in “full text”; you can limit to English language articles under “Other Criteria”
select Art Abstracts
basic or advanced search
select Web of Science
general, advanced and cited searches
Additional encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks may be found through the Library Catalog http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu/ using subject or mixed keyword searches, for example:
Roman Art Dictionary Art Greek Encyclopedia
Athenian Art Handbook Classical Art Encyclopedia
Ancient Art Dictionary Hellenistic Art Handbook
Designed by G. Giovannone (05-2007)