INTRODUCTION TO GREEK AND ROMAN ARCHAEOLOGY

This guide was developed for University of Texas undergraduate students beginning studies in Greek and Roman Archaeology, and was designed to help you get started with your research. Standard abbreviations are used for the Perry-Castaneda Library (PCL), the Architecture Library (ARC) and the Classics Library (CLA). If you need additional assistance please consult a librarian.
GETTING STARTED – Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews |
From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu ![]()
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ ![]()
select Britannica Online
search by keyword, subject etc, basic and advanced
select DASE (Digital Archive SErvices) Collection
search for images of artifacts
select Companion encyclopedia of archaeology
this is an EBook so you will need to login from the library catalog http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu
select Gale Virtual Reference
search by keyword, subject etc, basic and advanced
select Oxford Reference Online
search by keyword, subject etc, basic and advanced
Here are two free authoritative websites. Don't rely on any sites you just happen to have found on a search engine. When researching your subject always use reliable scholarly sources, don't dismiss books for anything you find on the web.
Fasti - http://www.fastionline.org/index.php
FastOnline is a searchable database of archaeological excavations since the year 2000. It also includes FOLD&R (Fasti On Line Documents & Research) which is an on-line peer-reviewed journal containing reports, both preliminary and final, on excavations from 2000 onwards (Italy and Bulgaria only).
Perseus Art and Archaeology - http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/art&arch.html
The library's catalogs document 523 coins, 1548 vases, over 1400 sculptures, 179 sites and 381 buildings. Each catalog entry has a description of the object and its context; most have images. This web site currently publishes over 33,000 pictures!
GETTING STARTED – Paper Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and other overviews |
Collins dictionary of archaeology - CC 70 C55 1992 (PCL)
An encyclopedia of the history of classical archaeology - DE 5 E5 1996 V.1 & 2 Ref (CLA)
The Oxford companion to archaeology - CC 70 O96 1996 Ref (PCL, CLA, ARC), or online through the Library catalog
The Penguin archaeology guide - CC 70 P46 2001 (PCL)
The Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites - DE 59 P7 (PCL, CLA)
FINDING ARTICLES ON ARCHAEOLOGY |
From the Library homepage, http://www.lib.utexas.edu ![]()
select Research Tools, Databases, http://www.lib.utexas.edu/indexes/ ![]()
select Anthropology Plus
search by keyword, subject etc
select Academic OneFile
search for title, author, subject
select Academic Search Premier
search for title, author, subject
select L’Annee Philologique
search keyword for title, author, subject in “full text”; you can limit to English language articles under “Other Criteria”
select FastOnline FOLD&R
browse, basic or advanced search (Italy and Bulgaria only)
select TOCS-IN
search by keyword, subject etc, basic only
Additional encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks may be found through the Library Catalog http://catalog.lib.utexas.edu using subject or keyword searches, for example:
Roman Archaeology Dictionary Archaeology Greek Encyclopedia
Athenian Archeology Handbook Classical Archeology Encyclopedia
Ancient Archaeology Dictionary Hellenistic Archaeology Handbook
Compiled and designed by G. Giovannone (11-2007)