Library Features Exhibit Celebrating Tower's 80th Anniversary
The Architecture & Planning Library and the Alexander Architectural Archives recognize the 80th anniversary of the University of Texas Tower’s dedication with an exhibit featuring the most iconic structure on the Forty Acres.
The Tower is the subject of the fifth installment of the “To Better Know a Building” exhibit series where this iconic building is investigated through the distinctive collections found in the collections of the Alexander Archives and the Architecture & Planning Library.
Designed by French-born architect Paul Cret, the Tower was completed in 1937, with its dedication taking place February 27 of that year. Constructed to hold the university’s ever-expanding library collections, the 27-story Indiana limestone building still occupies a position of prominence in the Austin skyline along with the State Capitol, located blocks away.
The Alexander Archives features a wealth of documentation for the design and building of the Tower, including construction drawings, shop drawings, construction photographs and project files from the University of Texas Buildings collection. Correspondence between the architects and the University can be found in the Faculty Building Committee records kept by Robert Leon White, supervising architect.
“To Better Know A Building” seeks to explore buildings through the drawings and other visual items found in the archive and library, promoting the records of a single building. Plans, elevations and sections visually communicate design intent and can also be used as a vehicle in teaching through example. Past subjects of the series include the Kimbell Art Museum and the Charles Moore House in Orinda, California.
The exhibit opens in the Reading Room of the Architecture & Planning Library in historic Battle Hall on February 27, with a reception and talk by noted university history authority Jim Nicar beginning at 5:30 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.
“To Better Know a Building: The University of Texas Tower” runs through August 7, 2017.
For more information, contact: Travis Willmann, University of Texas Libraries, 512-495-4644.