University of Texas at Austin
Libraries Home | Mobile | My Account | Renew Items | Sitemap | Help |
support us
University of Texas Libraries
Celebrating the Life

The Fine Arts Library presents the first in a series of free concerts at 8 pm on Friday, February 10 in the Fine Arts Library (DFA 3.200). 

The first installment of the “Excessive Noise” series will feature three student composer works – Synchronicity in Purple Minor by Joel Love, commissioned by the Blanton Museum and inspired by a work in their collection; the premiere of Carlos Rios’s Elegía Para Un Hombre Afable; and Russell Podgorsek’s Rondo a Calvino modeled after If on a winter’s night a traveler… by Italo Calvino.  

The concert will also feature a performance by the Aianna String Quartet, the graduate quartet-in-residence at the Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music.

The “Excessive Noise” series features both standard repertoire and contemporary works, as well as a number of premiere performances by students and alumni of the Butler School of Music.

Article published on February 6, 2012 - 9:29am

For more information about this and all University of Texas Libraries news releases, please contact the current Communications Director, Travis Willmann, at or (512) 495-4644.

More University of Texas Libraries news releases